Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2005
This song seriously makes me want to cry it's so damned good, so ok It may not be 100% original, with the riff being stolen from Led Zeppelin, but is it really worthy of 1 star because of this? the rather obtuse reviewer from sunderland thought so, which is entirely ridiculous because they state that 'It's not a bad song'. With all the covers and samples from old songs about, and music getting increasingly retro these days, it's original enough for me, and one of those songs that you play repeatedly until you get sick of it (which I haven't yet).
Essentially their best song, Take me out is anthemic to say the least and I mean that with all sincerity; I haven't been hooked on a song like this since Call on me by Eric Prydz. Personally I would buy the album if I were you, but I guess that's a no brainer (unless you want the B-sides).
Rock on Franz Ferdinand
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2004
Well they would be no.1 but, as they don't believe in "no.1" they will have to be no.2. But they are no.1 and the best thing is, you have 11 months of the year left to enjoy them!
Having fell in love with and bought Darts of Pleasure, i thought there is no way they could surpass it with their second single. However, this catchy, guitar-driven, disco-pop extravaganza does in every way.
As far as the b-sides go they are good, although they come nowhere near Van Tango and Shopping For Blood, from Darts of Pleasure, but All For You, Sofia is a great fabulous song and Words So Leisured is a great alternative version of Darts of Pleasure.
I just cant wait for the album, if the songs they have put out there so far are anything to go by, its going to be fantastic!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
This song is just so catchy I was singing it for days before I knew what it was called and who the artist was and they're British YAHOO! This has got to be one of the most fun and catchy tunes around for a while and they sound like they're having so much fun. Really refreshing - not sure I can see the White Stripes comparisons, but this has got some great guitar on it and a freshness about it. In fact I'm going to rush out and buy the album!! Like the song says 'take me out', give me a play you won't be disappointed - Britpop at it's best!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
On the grounds of this Franz Ferdinand are going to be HUGE. Catchier than seven nation army this tune is going to ring around venues, festivals and clubs all year. The B sides aint bad too. Track 2 is like Depeche Mode on acid and the acoustic like Leonard Cohen on valium. Cant wait to get the album, who gives a toss if its original its fun :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
Buy this and you will not regret. I have to admit to start with it may make you think that somebody slipped a strokes single into the box when you werent looking but just keep listenning and the song will surprise you with an ultimately brilliant riff that you will anoyingly not be able to get out of your head for days but its worth it because its one of those songs you just want to show akll your friends in the car!
I hope to hear more from these people as I believe that already this could be the no1 band of 2004, Darkness R.I.P! Franz Ferdinand are taking charge!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2004
This follow up to "Darts Of Pleasure" is more of the same smart infectious guitar driven disco-rock. Since seeing them on Jools Holland last year, I've been waiting for the album to come out, this single is sure sign of the genius that will be unveiled on that album! Anyway very little needs to be said about the single, it'll get into your head, your body, your feet before you know. Another classic from the New Scottish Gentry!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2004
So good it feels like three singles rolled into one. The first minute or so jaunts along like an improved Strokes, before bursting into the main hook. You'll soon be humming it walking down the street like me. The break increases the drama.
If you only buy one single this year, make it this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
I've gotta hand it to Franz Ferdinand; THEY'RE GREAT! I think Take Me Out is the best of the the three singles they have released to date. Simple as.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2004
Extract from my album review:
"I mean, lets just look at quite frankly the most popular track; 'Take Me Out' kicks off with a minute or so of guitar and vocals that could so easily be The Strokes, it then takes a change of direction and lunges into a guitar led pounding beat with a damn catchy vocal to boot, which at times is reminiscent of Bowie.
It took a couple of listens for me to get into it, but now I can't get the rift and vocals out of my mind - guitars to dance to!!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2004
I am blown away by this band, and the brilliant diversity of textures and rhythms in the single 'Take Me Out" -- not to mention a fabulously fractured music video -- has led me to just one conclusion: Franz Ferdinand is the new Talking Heads. He even looks and sounds like David Byrne, which is both creepy and fortunate. I didn't think that sounds and ideas like these -- 'kooky' as it were, and incredibly English -- would swim rather rather sink in the current pop cilmate. Well done to the CD-buying public, I say, for giving credit where credit's due. Fabulous band, fabulous song. I hope they make a mint!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)