Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2016
Olivier is great. I think this is where the original Blackadder was taken from. Hard to not laugh but a great film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2008
Don't touch this edition (Wienerworld/Archbuild 2004) with a bargepole. It looks as if it's been mastered from a VHS recorded-off-air video cassette.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I bought this because of the fascinating discovery of Richard 3rd's body , because I had enjoyed most of the BBC's production of The White Queen, and I remembered seeing the film when I was 15 or so. I hadn't remembered much of it. It is amazingly old fashioned in that it is mostly filmed on a stage. The end of course is the totally memorable part.
Margaret
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Of course Olivier's depiction is definitive and this is the best rendition. What is not mentioned in the product details is that there is a bonus included: 225 minutes of it in the 1984 TV broadcast of the 'Trial' of this king. Whatever your views on the last Plantagenate and his Ricardian groupies, this is an interesting curio not available elsewhere. Worth buying this disc just for that.

Richard III is finally put on trial at the Old Bailey for murder. The not guilty verdict was perverse as there is precious little doubt that he did in his own nephews as contemporary chroniclers and the French Court all thought (Shakespeare did not invent this but adopted the universal and international view). The verdict is probably explained by one thing: the extraordinary performance of the then young David Starkey. What a rude and arrogant firebrand he was then. His latter self is a mere marmoset in comparison with this snarling tiger. He did himself and his contentions no good however, as his argument was vitiated by his odious demeanour. A shame ashe let a killer off the hook. Richard III's crimes should not be air-brushed by the Ricardians. They are almost as absurd historically as holocaust deniers or those who think that anyone other than the Bard wrote his plays.But they seem to be in the ascendancy. Along with Creationism in science classes we can now expect revisionism in history classes. It has even got to the point when we have the Archbishop of Canterbury presiding over the almost state funeral of a child murderer. When are we going to get the creation of the Good King John Society?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Excellent and it brings back good memories when this came out in the 1950s. The killing of the Princes in the Tower will always be controversial but as Shakespeare wrote it after reading the chronicles, he decided to go traditionally for the fault being with Richard iii. Enjoyable to watch once more Geoffrey. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
expected a stellar performance from Olivier, but for today, his acting seems studied, and rather petulant. as for the play it presents R3 as a nasty total villain - a piece of Shakespearean propaganda. According to other histories he was nothing like as evil as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
After reading a lot of contradictory reviews of the available DVDs I bought this version. I now believe that a good-quality print of this film no longer exists, which is a great shame, because I think it's Olivier's best.There are some hiccups, but what's most annoying is a persistent background hum.
It's no better than the VCR tape that I bought ages ago, indeed the diction on the tape is clearer,and the colour quality is marginally better! My advice is therefore to hunt for a good VCR tape.

Update June 2015
There is now an excellent Blu-Ray version available(5 Stars) - First-rate colour and sound. It takes a bit of detective work to pick it out from all the duds - It's a Studio Network restoration with a DVD release date of 1 Sept 2014, and which includes the feature 'The Trial of Richard 111'.The latter was made in 1984, and features,as a witness,a 'young' Dr David Starkey who is unbelievably arrogant and rude to the defence!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
following the discovery of Richards remains this is a powerful version of the events leading to his downfall. Pity they are not closer to the current version of these matters. Olivier is superb. The added trial DVD was most interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
First saw this with my high school ... now seen again a [redacted] number of years later - but sorry, Lord Olivier, this is just TOO stagy. Nice to see people like Ralph Richardson and John Gielgud in their relative youth though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Again,my late Dad took me to this in 1959,when i was Five...
I hadn't seen it again,till i saw it on Amazon...Was so pleased
when I saw it advertised here on here...Just had to buy it...Great
Film....Chris Weeks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)