Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
40
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2013
Saw the highlights of it on another CD and thought how good it looked, however when I watched it after purchasing from Amazon I was a little let down. It moves from one scene to another without making sense, and was hard to know exactly what was going on. Hard to follow or understand, acting also not at its best, although I am a big fan of Mark Addy. Having said that it only cost a couple of quid so I can't complain..... Beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2008
I don't know why i bought this. Maybe because I was having an emotional Heath Ledger tribute which involved purchasing a load of his films. I'm sorry to say this was a really dire film. The plot although i'd originally thought of it as looking fantastic, was really bad!! Really bad. Sorry Heath, but everyone makes a couple of dud films, even you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2004
This is the worst film I have ever seen. It was total nonsense, the storyline was absolutely terrible and I found parts of it offensive. I would strongly advise that you do not watch this film as I can guarantee that you will not like it. If it were psossible I would give it much less than 1 star.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I enjoyed this movie with Heath Ledger starring as a young priest. One has to see it to enjoy and appreciate it
I would call it a light drama. Received it very promptly from Seller . Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This DVD arrived safely and in perfect condition but I had to return it as I thought it would be a film showing the way the Sin Eater (possibly a druid) was involved in the burials of the villagers and instead it was a horror film.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Heath is always good. Cannot blame him for the missing intensity and thrill. The bad guy does surprice though. Still like the film, and I'm glad to own it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Just ok
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Heath Ledger can do no weong in my eyes. What a pity that he's no longer with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
OK,this film is by no means a classic but is actually better viewed 2nd time around. It is what it is, a thriller (of sorts) but the eerie location settings and great soundtrack give the film a real sense of pensiveness. Ledger does well in the lead role as does Robocop himself, Peter Weller as support.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
No lengthy customer's review of "The Sin Eater" (or, as it also has been titled, "The Order") is needed here, on Amazon-U.K.'s WWW site; there are lots of quite good ones here with the multiple entries for the film and on Amazon-U.S. However, for quick and ready convenience of users who prefer to avoid longer comments about "The Sin Eater", I'll make some relatively brief remarks here. The film is of the occult Inner-Workings-of-the-Church (i.e. the Romish Catholic Church) genre, with lots of creepy motifs and bizarre, cinematically induced happenings. A young and very handsome priest, Fr. Alex (Heath Ledger's role), a wonderfully Latin-celebrating traditionalist (hooray!), is drawn, entranced, to the more hidden and occult byways of his Church.

Alas, this fascination sucks Fr. Alex and his older, experienced Satan-fighting priestly cohort, Fr. Thomas (Mark Addy) deeply into realms, at the highest ecclesiastical level, of evil and superstition-brought-to-life. Fr. Alex ends up pursuing a "sin eater", one William Eden (played by Benno Fürmann, looking surprisingly comely and seductively dapper for this role, as the movie studio has costumed and cosmetically enhanced him), who is an aeons-old (but prime-life looking) occultist, who draws sin and condemnation to himself from excommunicated sinners about to face the end of their mortal lives, gaining for them forgiveness without God's ordained means of grace and sacraments. This is not exactly orthodox Christianity, namely Roman (and Eastern Rite) Catholic, Anglo-Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, or Lutheran, in case one does not know that already.

Fr. Alex succumbs to the temptations of the flesh, permitting Ledger to shed some clothes to studly effect, although surely Ledger's fans would prefer to see much more of the beauteous surface, revealed to the camera to greater (and more intimate) extent, of that Australian star's buck-naked, appealingly svelte Anglo-Celtic body; Ledger undoubtedly had been one of the most undeniably sexy male actors of his generation. The ensuing lovemaking is (even if more suggestively than explicitly) pretty "hot", if all too brief.

Alas, Alex loses his gal, Mara (played by Shannyn Sossamon), anyway, to the treacherous misdoings of the sin-catcher. In forfeiting his priestly vows, the young priest has acceded to William Eden's blandishments of "being a man rather than a priest". His predicament leads Alex also to gain occult power, too, however unwillingly he at first has been seeking it on a conscious level; Alex seizes it in a moment of panic, thus being doomed to many centuries of bondage to the very potency which Eden gladly relinquishes to Alex for the peace of the grave for which Eden has come to yearn.

Thus, things have gotten a bit complicated, needless to say; the sin-chewing Eden has slain Mara, the priest's beloved, and he has tricked Fr. Alex into accepting Eden's offer to exchange his own occult function with Alex, for the release from life that Eden so much desires. The interaction of Fr. Alex with William Eden, as well as the gradually intensifying relationship of Alex with Mara, are fascinating to watch, as these three masterly actors play this out with consummate dramatic skill, sensitivity, and nuance. As the movie ends, a new sin-eater, Alex himself, now sets out upon his centuries-to-come of work and, in doing so, thankfully, he foils the wicked schemes of an ambitiously scheming and mega-wicked, papacy-seeking cardinal.

The film is visually gorgeous, with lots of Catholic artwork and ecclesiastical bling-bling, fine Roman architecture (pagan and, especially, Roman Catholic), and so forth to view. It makes for an enjoyable albeit eerie way to pass some time at the video-player and screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.19

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)