Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
12
2.9 out of 5 stars
All The Real Girls [DVD] [2004]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 August 2017
Great acting, great cast, beautiful setting, believable interactions, only problem is it's really slow and boring. A girl starts a relationship with guy who has a lot of history with other women...and that's it, that's the plot. Not much going on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 April 2010
While not by any means an easy film to watch, it will certainly leave its mark on you if you persevere to the end. And while it is advertised as a love story, it is more a story about love and the intertwining relationships in small town America. The acting is strong from all characters and along with the story and cinematography you are pulled into this moving story.

It very much has the feel of a small budget independent film, so if you like those you will certainly enjoy (for want of a better word as I'm not sure you can really enjoy this film) this. If however, you are looking for a standard Hollywood style romance then avoid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2005
I had been meaning to see this movie in London because of the praiseworthy and intriguingly personal reviews I had read in the paper press. I missed it of course, seeing as it was ever only playing at 1PM showings at one or zero inordinately expensive Central London cinemas.
This is a shame because it is one of the most effecting movies I have seen in roughly a week (Lost in Translation and Girl With A pearl Earring are both excellent also) and more people deserve to see it.
A beautiful story of a boy and a girl in love. That's it. It's amazingly rare to find special relationships such as love when young as accurately portrayed in modern cinema as this film achieves.
The female role played by Zooey Deschanel is tender and subtle while the male role played by Paul Schraider is strong yet emotional. You couldn't ask for a better on-screen chemistry between the two leads; it was all about looks, what is not said, the silences.
The heartache and longing is all there also, as well as the comic relief (it ain't all weepy and heavy sighs).
Go buy this film, it is well worth it, you'll be talking about it with friends afterwards.
The extras are good also, the writer and director David Gordon Green is a revelation, full of insight and intellectual depth about what he wanted to achieve, it makes you feel contented that there is a guy out there who is prepared to challenge film-making assumptions. Watch this guy for the future.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2004
This is a beautiful second film from David Gordon Green. Lush cinematography and stunning performances. The main actors are so natural around each other, capturing the nerves and nuances of young love. An amazing piece of cinema that draws you into the microcosm of rural love story. If you liked the subltlety of emotion in "Lost in Translation", then definitely see this understated and overlooked masterpiece.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
Always nice to be pleasantly surprised by a film and this was the case when I saw this one.

Plot here is a well worn one, however the performances, photography and direction make this a definite cut-above.

The real difference with this piece is the courseness with which the narrative and scenes are played out; they make the story believable and real. This aspect is often missed or deliberately omitted to make a film more enjoyable or at least easy to the mind. Not so in this case the film works very well because the emotional / dramatic scenes are played with a real-life feel - so congratulations to the actors and the director for this.

The cut-away from scenes to different places / contexts can be a little off-putting and gives the film an arty aspect - this is supported by the occasional excessive cinema effects - however this element is not excessive and in its way does add to the viewing pleasure.

I enjoyed it - recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
The acting and direction in this film are superb. So good that it made me think how much like everyone's youth the whole thing was.The key point of the plot is about betrayal of someone so used to doing it to others that they are extremely shocked when it happens to them. This is a great point and I'm sure will be familiar to anyone who has had a relationship.

The only real problem with the film is that not a lot happens, it is a slice of small town American life, which turns out to be as unexciting as just about anywhere else really.

Give it a go, you won't be disappointed if you like realism, don't expect breakneck excitement and action though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
I didnt click at first who Zooey was until after I'd bought the film, so I was looking forward to seeing her as a lead in what other reviewers had rated as an excellent and very real love story. And very real it is, in a way.

The location of small town southern-state America is great, but I think the film would have benefitted greatly by using some of the breathtaking scenery more as a character...and maybe a little less of the squalour of the town, although I appreciate this is necesary and true to life.

My main dissapointment though, is that the love story itself turns into a failure, of betrayal and heart-ache. Im not really moved by any feeling of young love in this film: when we suddenly learn that she cheats on him at the first drunken moment away from him... true love dosnt do that, and therefore the whole premise folds right there, as did my empathy. The girl is built as a sensitive and intellectual type and then reduced to dating the town drongo (Possible, maybe, but not the story I felt I was sold and definately not one I'd want to spend my time discovering) - after ruining the male leads mind and heart she quickly allows herself to fall into the clutches of one of his slimey "friends", I found this undermined the integrity of the girls character the film had spent so long creating.

All said, though I think the actors performances are all excellent,
but their characters are not allowed to develop in the disjointed script.

Hmmm. Feel let down by this film, mainly because it did not do "what it said on the tin", and because it had the chance to be something much more uplifting but failed and chose the tragic bleak approach instead.

Like the other negative review here, I'd avoid this film. It gets 2 stars only because Zooey is adooorable!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
I watched this film with absolutely no expectations, only renting it on the basis that I had seen a review of Undertow on BBC Talking Movies and while waiting for Undertow to get a British release, was intrigued to see a film made by the same director. I was totally overwhelmed by what a fantastic and moving film this is.
Writer and director David Gordon Green has managed to do something rarely seen in American cinema, in All The Real Girls, he has created a film which totally reflects real life; the way real people talk, the way real people think, and the way real people relate to one another. This is a film which will be instantly familiar to anyone who has ever fallen in love, but at the same time is so completely void of the usually Hollywood style clichés.
The look and feel of the film has a certain dream like quality, set in a dead end working class industrial town nestled within the shadow of the mountains of North Carolina, you get a sense that director David Gordon Green is a man in total command of his film and not one to sacrifice the force of his story or characters to satisfy current fashions in editing or audience expectations. Don't be fooled, there is a plot and story to be told. However, as the viewer you are so totally engrossed by the characters within the film, that the plot is something to think about long after the film ends.
The whole film encapsulates the feelings of both falling in and out of love; you're so consumed by a person while it's happening that it's not until long after it's over that you look back and piece together the story of how you fell in love. Peppered with a great soundtrack, stunning cinematography and superb acting from Zooey Deschanel and Paul Schneider, All the Real Girls is quite honestly one of the best indie films I have ever seen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
I am a big fan of Zooey Deschanel and decided to start watching some of her lesser-known films starting with this one. The write-up was good, the plot sounded interesting and as far as I was concerned, Ms. Deschanel could do no wrong.... Oh deary me, how wrong I was...
The dialouge is inane and uninspired and is made even more unbearable by the fact that it is recounted in slowwwwwwwwwww southern drawl. I never thought it was possible to make first love seem so dull until I watched this. Frankly, it would have been more interesting to spend the afternoon watching paint dry. I constantly found myself nodding off only to wake up 10 minutes later to find that only 5 more words had been uttered in my "absence" and that nothing had changed... Then nothing would happen again for another 20 minutes, then 20 more... until...the credits were rolling and it was the end of the movie. About 3/4 of the way through, once I'd caught up on my sleep, I found myself counting the ceiling tiles praying for the plot to get going. Well, I'm here to tell you that it never does, so best avoid this one altogether.
I would only recommend this to you if you suffer from chronic insomnia and you've tried everything under the sun to help you sleep but to no avail... I guarantee this movie would do the trick.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
This 2 hour movie is laden with heavy confessional monologues, spliced with cinematic shots of the beautiful hills that remind me of the hills of Pensylvannia in The Deer Hunter. There is also ambling idiotic conversations in diners, bars, and cars that lead nowhere.

There is the famous actress Patricia Clarkson as a semi-incestuous mother who works as a clown at children's party. The one thing "All The Real Girls" lacks is emotional truth and yet it won an award for that at Sundance Film Festival.

In conclusion it is a stunning debut from a first time director and it is good, hence the Sundance prize.
7/10.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Joe [DVD]
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)