Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
19
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2012
Always liked Paul Gross on Due South, especially the few episodes where he teamed up with Leslie Nielson, so thought this worth a shot. I gather it's even a TV series in Canada now. However, we found it only mildly entertaining, with a not very robust storyline and not nearly as much humour as expected. Probably an "only watch once" kind of movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
As a big fan of Paul gross and Due South, I picked this video up on the offchance that it would keep me occupied until that excellent series comes out on UK DVD.
The story is of a disbanded Curling team who are brought back together by the death of their mentor for one last run at a highly coveted trophy.
The tale features the usual problems you'd expect of a film like this, problems with the team being out of practice, personal issues getting in the way and old frictions, notably from romantic partners or old acquantances.
The film has numerous deft comic touches, as well as some solid laugh-out-loud moments and stands up well alongside other 'fringe sport comedies' like 'Dodgeball' (MWB is less coarse, and less laugh out loud, but the characters and setting are more engaging).
Well worth a look, Gross directs this well and whilst it can lull a little in places, it's all good stuff.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
Popular spectator sports bore me. Why would I want to sit around, watching a bunch of obscenely overpaid muscular guys (often in shorts or very tight trousers) run around after a ball? Ick. MOVIES about popular spectator sports are even worse: self-indulgent, two-hour gooey moments of the writers and directors and actors professing their love for watching a bunch of obscenely overpaid muscular guys (often in shorts or very tight trousers) run around after a ball. Double Ick.

No, it's the less-well-publicised niche sports that I find more interesting, and MOVIES about these niche sports are even better, because you get all the rules and most of the subtleties explained to you as they happen in the movie, so you know exactly what's going on and what's at stake. Which is great, especially if you've never actually watched the sport before. You simply can't do the same thing with baseball's Designated Hitter Rule or football's Offside Rule in a film. It's impossible. And boring.

I've seen "A League of Their Own," "BASEketball," "Dodgeball," and "Blackball," and I've enjoyed them all. When Amazon recommended "Men with Brooms" after I made several "Due South"-oriented purchases, I went for it. And I love this film. It's got Paul Gross and Leslie Nielsen in it, which is enough for most people. But it's also about a cozy sport passionately enjoyed by real enthusiasts rather than cynical business-sportsmen who would transfer to another team at the drop of an extra million. And the rest of the cast are just as great, many of whom you will have seen in other venues as well. For example, fans of the X-Men (both the Marvel film and the 1990s cartoon) should recognise George "Beast" Buza and his gravelly voice, playing a vicious criminal.

It's not roll-around-breathless-on-the floor, guts-leaking-out-of-the-splits-in-your-sides funny, but it IS very amusing, with engaging characters and many feel-good moments. It's almost-believable, yet slightly surreal and a bit corny in places. And the soundtrack is infinitely better than listening to several hundred drunks tunelessly mangling a team song. So given the choice, I'd watch this instead of anything on TV with "World Series" or "World Cup" in the title. And if you're no big fan of sports, either, I think it safe to say that you'd probably enjoy "Men with Brooms," too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2003
Being a big curling fan, I had to see this movie the day it came out, and I was not disappointed. I thought the swearing was a bit crude on the first viewing, but when I watched it a second time it didn't bother me. You don't have to be very knowledgable about curling to enjoy the movie, and I don't think you have to be Canadian to understand the humour, but a few of the little in-jokes might be lost... like the "Hinterland Who's Who" segment playing on the TV in the bar. ;)
Best moments:
Peter Outerbridge shines as James Lennox. The humour is great and quirky, and the friendship between the characters is nice. This is one of the best Leslie Nielson roles I've seen in a long time, where he got the chance to be funny, but wasn't slapstick to the point of being utterly stupid. Besides, you have to love a movie with a cameo by The Tragically Hip.
Downfalls:
It's a bit rough around the edges at times, and I still don't see the point of Michelle Nolden's character (Julie Foley, the astronaut) at all.
Overall, it's worth watching, and the soundtrack is great.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
As an admirer of several of the actors and off the wall comedy, I can only say this is really disappointing. It was slow and laughs of any kind were thinly spread - the makers should have made their minds up whether to create a comedy with really black humour and or slapstick - this falls down the hole somewhere. It's a shame,as the cast and the story had the potential - but there you go, you can't win them all!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
I wasn't sure if this would be any good but I was quite surprised that it was. There are some really funny moments in it and it manages to hold your attention from the start to the end with ease. The story follows a group of friends who reunite and enter the local curling tournament to try and win the Golden Broom as it was the last wish of their deceased coach (whose ashes are placed in one of the curling weights). After a humiliating defeat they realise that they are out of shape and seek the help of a retired curling champion (Leslie Nielsen) to whip them back into shape. All the characters go on their own little emotional journeys throughout the film from love and family to cheating and alcoholism. It arrived within the estimated delivery date. All in all 4/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
Bought this as it was the only curling movie I'd ever seen. Leslie Nielsen and Paul Gross are the the only actors well known in the UK, perhaps the others are known in Canada? The story is fairly run-of-the-mill but the whole is actually enjoyable. An amusing feel-good movie for the off-season.
eke
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
As a Paddy, I came to this not knowing the first thing about Curling as a sport. But Gross' great performance and witty script - with a great supporting cast - and Nielson as his whacked-out-on-magic-mushrooms father equals lots of laughs and more than a few touching moments. Great comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I loved Due South, the first series of Tales from the City and all of the wonderful Slings and Arrows. So it stands to reason that a movie written by starring and directed by the lead in all those great shows would be a real treat. Not so. This is rubbish and a waste of 98 pence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
I enjoyed this movie but as I am not a Canadian and do not much about curling it was not as enjoying as other sports related comedies. Still I liked the most part of it and would recommend it for all Paul Gross fans. He is as handsome as when he was Benton in Due South.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse