Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
P.O.W. [DVD][2003]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 March 2017
Having first seen this on ITV it was really good but I didn't quite enjoy this as much I thought. It is based on british prisoners of war in a camp trying to build a tunnel to break free. The Nazis are as gullible as ever but the commandant of the camp is very good, he has appeared in Monsignore Renards and an episode of Band of Brothers at the final episode. I think it is interesting to see how young the actors are like Patrick Baladi as the captain of the british soliders, James Darcy, and Joe Obsolom who does pretty well. There was even a familiar face of actor Tom Burke in one episode as a victim of sexual assualt who believe or not is Athos in The Musketeers - minus his long hair!
If you enjoy war dramas it is good although the episodes are under an hour long but I just couldn't get into it as much as the first time round.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2011
Got this for £1 from a charity shop on a whim, turned out to a lucky find and an absolute gem.

Not quite BAFTA winning but filled to the brim with excellent storylines, acting, setting and drama. The series was obviously based on some of the classic P.O.W films of the 60's and 70's and follows their example nicely.
There are several gritty subjects which are covered at various points during the series and make for surprising plot twists (I won't risk spoiling things by going into detail). The acting is often very good, even if it isn't quite up to BAFTA award standard, and certainly adds nicely to the drama.

The only minor complaint I have is that there are a few moments which drag a little, not a big deal but did give me the urge to reach for the FFWD button.

This is one TV series I am very happy to recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2004
P.O.W is one of the best drama series' to be shown on British television in 2003 in my opinion. The storyline for the series was brilliant and it kept you on the edge of your seat through the whole episode. If you like POW films this is the series for you. The cast are great with actors such as Joe Absolum (Eastenders) and James D'Arcy (Master & Commander). This truly is a masterpiece and the DVD gives you lots more extras than what was on TV. A Great Series!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2006
I by accident found out about this WW II P.O.W. drama while looking for another movie online, so I purchased it (from the UK).
Great acting and a good story makes this series one of my favourites (although am german).
It shows how soldiers of different rank, character and background can pull together and work as a team try to achieve their ultimate goal: to make a run for it and get out of the camp...
Anybody who likes WW II/P.O.W. related movies should purchase this one, you won't regret it !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2003
Great WW2 action drama about a group of British soldiers and their officer, who are being held in a prison camp by the Germans. Hardship and the will to escape introduces a bond between the men emerges as the yearn for freedom grows.
Top notch!
Well worth the buy!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2009
I enjoyed this mini series very much. the actors, acting and stories were really good....was quite surprised!
There was suspense, laughter, joy, sadness, love and relief all in this.
I reccommend this to all war film fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2005
If for no other reason, buy it because you get to see a close-up of James D'Arcy's bum! If you are a history student, it has to be said that P.O.W. doesn't stick to historical fact, but few TV series do,and who says they have to? Saw it on TV, and was enthralled...so bought the DVD. Buy it, and you won't be sorry!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
Excservice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)