Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2009
After having enjoyed this charming series and waiting (often in vain) for re-runs on main line television I decided that owning 'me own' was the way to go to watch at will; PROBLEM - After guess work as to which one truly had ALL of the series included I settled on THE COMPLETE collection, sure that in English, complete meant 'northing more to be added' or 'everything televised is in this colletion'. Sadly this was not so. Fortunately my daughter had bought THE ULTIMATE collection and we swapped. Now I have the complete series, i.e ALL of the episodes. So it you want everything televised in the series Vicar of Dibley, 'THE ULTIMATE' is the one you want and not 'THE COMPLETE'. It would be helpful if Amazon could include on their information on the 'to buy' list the episode titles of the DVD's that are actually in the boxed sets. That way one would not be disappoointed AND would actually get what one wanted.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2007
The Vicar of Dibley is one of the funniest ever british sitcoms, and this truly amazing collection includes most of (not all) the series.

The five discs include the first, second and third series, the christmas lunch incident, the easter bunny, merry christmas, happy new year, and a comic relief special. The only downside is, that two other comic relief specials are missed off, as well as the final three episodes (but you can't blame them as they were created after the dvd was released.

It is thoroughly enjoyable, and I was so amazed, I ended up watching all eighteen episodes in a week. I was quoting bits for months!

A perfect sitcom, with an amazing cast, and VERY special guests.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
It was region one BBC America so I can't play it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
I've just bought this DVD set and am really pleased with it, its just a shame its taken so long to be released in the UK. I have one complaint though...I have looked at the 5th disk under 'special features', and I cannot locate the 'Ballykissdibley' special there, which is where one previous reviewer stated they had found it. This is a shame because it has some of the other comic relief specials on it. However that doesn't spoil my overall enjoyment of the set, perfect for wet sunday afternoons.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
timeless comedy.Good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This box set is a hoot. This is comedy at its best. The box set contains 5 individually boxed DVDs which are also sold separately. If you already own the individual DVDS, you may not need to purchase this again. The contents are as follows

DVD1 -Blue coloured case containing the - The Complete First Series

DVD 2 - Purple coloured case containing - The Specials -The Christmas lunch and the Easter Bunny

DVD 3 - The red coloured case containing - The Complete 2nd series - Love and Marriage

DVD4 -The white coloured case containing - The Seasonal Specials - Autumn. Winter. Spring. Summer.

DVD 5 -Gold and red coloured case containing - A very Dibley Christmas -Merry Christmas and a Happy New year.

You will enjoy this box set over and over, the comedy is timeless.
11 Comment| 125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2005
An excellent box set, well worth buying, the characters are all great and even the fact that it focuses around a small church parish doesnt put off an agnostic like me.
Some advice, the above reviewer says this set doesnt contain the "comic relief" and "ballykissangel" special, well i dont know which box set they bought because mine does, on the 5th disc under special features =)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
I have also awaited this collection with baited breath. This is one of the funniest series produced in a long while. Dawn French is utterly convincing as Geraldine Grainger and the manner in which she deals with Alice's thumpingly stupid comments is a joy. A perfect mixture of sympathy and viciousness!!
Please be aware that this collection already contains ALL THE CHRISTMAS SPECIALS.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2008
I start by saying I rate this as 5 stars just because the comedy genius deserves it.

I am disapointed, I bought this as a "complete" series. Don't be under the illusion that this set contains every episode that was aired, for starters the crucial episodes where the Vicar finds her man are missing. Amazon, most unhappy, especially being an ex-pat who misses the best of British comedy.

Bad shout Amazon, you should put an N.B. at least for the money you charge.....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
Thoroughly entertaining, and you can keep watching it over and over again and it still produces many laughs! Definitely worth the money, however I was surprised at how small the whole series actually is; 11 hours worth of Vicar of Dibley on it. Nevertheless, a great present - and great for getting the family to sit down and watch something light hearted.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)