Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£32.75+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2005
After Vegas and Tweekend I had high expectations for the third album. I was initially disappointed by it. It didn't feel as solid and aggressive as Tweekend. But as with these sort of albums it now sits in my Car CD changer and rarely comes out. The production does so much to lift tracks that aren't immediately effective. Awesome.
I recommend this to anyone who is a Prodigy or Timo Maas fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
If you like crystal method you gotta get this. If you got the CD of CM - Legion of Boom, throw it out and get this. The DVD-Audio is soooo much better than the CD. The 5.1 mix is one of the best I've heard, and I'm a DVD audio collector.

Even the tracks that I didn't like from the CD sound so amazing now. And if its only Born to slow that you like, the bassline sounds really amazing. I have both the CD and DVD-a, and when played alongside on the same speakers, the bassline is totally different (though the same technically).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2007
I've not heard of the Crystal Method before, but being a fan of surround mixes and finding far too few being released I stumbled upon this one. The music is quite brilliant, It's dark, driving, threatening, urgent and quite sublime. Very reminiscent of the music played in clubs such as Melt, Warriors, and FF and albums such as the Flying Rhino Record compilations, Travelling compilations, Sacha and Digweed compilations and DJ Jon The Dentist. This is not dinner party music, this is very definitely post club mood music, it'll take you on a journey though it might not be a pleasant one it'll certainly be scary and thoroughly exhilarating .

The surround sonics of this album are beautifully mixed with all the various speakers delivering just the correct amount of detail to ensure that throughout the whole album, you're immersed in an ocean of sounds whilst being attacked by sharks from every direction. This is no feeding frenzy however, it's all so brilliantly choreographed and there's nothing gratuitous here.

If you do buy this disc and love it the same as I do I'd recommend you also checking out Bts' DVD "This Binary Universe", Thomillas' SACD "Freeze" and the DVD-a of Tippers' "Surrounded".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2005
Another cracking album from the Crystal Method, play it loud and immerse yourself in headonistic rock. Great in the car although it tends to make you drive too fast. Makes a change from many of the limp wristed offerings churned out by many electronica/rock/garage outfits. Might force you to buy a new stereo......
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
I only got into the Crystal Method after hearing Born Too Slow being played on the specialist UK dance music radio shows and didnt know what to expect but I have been blown away by this album.
It is an awesome full-on mixture of electronic rock, acid breaks and big beats. Weapons of Mass Distortion is my favourite track on there and sounds like the Prodigy.
Dark, mysterious, pulsing, funky and powerful is how I sum it up. My favourite album of 2004 so far.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2004
This is the third full length outing from the electronic/break beat duo known as The Crystal Method. Although it doesn't quite live up to the expectations that they have created for themselves by creating some fantastic dance/rock/hiphop cross over tune in the past, the 'Legion of Boom' is still an above average release in this genre that is plagued by albums with only one or two worthwhile tracks on them. Where this album fails is in the fact it rarely challenges the listener; while the music is all perfectly easy to listen to, it only occasionally reaches out and grabs your attention. Featuring guest appearances from Wes Borland (ex-Limp Bizkit) and Lisa Vennum-Kekaula (The BellRays) among others livens up the effort a little, but ultimately not enough. So The Crystal Method still stand head and shoulders above their contemporaries, they don't succeed in living up to their own genesis.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2004
tasty initially but you find yourself feeling hungry half an hour later - the same as all their albums.
Crystal Method are an incredibly frustrating outfit. there are flashes of brilliance in some of their music, but they just don't seem able to sustain it. and they have a habit of making their tracks last about 2 or 3 minutes longer than they ought to meaning that altho you might appreciate a particular bit of a track by the end you are just bored.
off this album the tracks that initially impressed me were True Grit (a couple of excellent keyboard bits in this), the American Way, Realizer and Born Too Slow is half decent. but having listened to all of them a few times now my interest is already flagging - same as with the last two albums.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
This is an excellent CD that makes great usage of 5.1 speaker channels. The style of music is especially suited for surround sound and has some cool tracks on it. I only wish there was more DVD audio taking advantage of the higher sound quality and surround sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2006
Crystal method produce an industrial sound which is crisp powerful and chillout, they are masters of their genre and defy good music in all senses. This is one of my best albums because the music flows like a mountain stream from a rocky plateau down to a raging river. Its enormous its fantastic - I wouldnt dare expect anything better from these guys- i could listen til this album every mintue until i die- incredible!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Punchy and sits well next to the Chemical Brothers and Orbital, but sounds a few years old now -will it stand the test of time? Good gym music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.82
£16.25

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)