Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,593
4.4 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Star 61|Change
Price:£17.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2005
I just wanted to buy a simple tripod to experiment so went with this one as it looked a good deal. I wasn't expecting much but when I started experimenting with it, I was very impressed.
There are loads of twist and turn features, bubble levels, different heights, quick release legs, it's really light. You can even make it like a sturdy tripod as it has a hook for weights to be put on. The case is great too.
I really love using this tripod and recommend it to anyone in the market for their first tripod.
0Comment| 329 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
Just recieved this tripod and for the price paid its great, okay its not for people who want to go take pictures in the eye of a storm or a war zone but for an everyday light carry round all day tripod its perfect. The pan tilt head although plastic works well and is very smooth the tripod extents via three section legs with fast clamps on them so it is fast to set up and further extends via the cranked centre shaft to well over my eye level and im six feet tall. Has two levels on it one on base one on head unit both work fine also the quick release head works well to plus carry handle built in to tripod, so easy to move whole setup with ease add the hook for hanging weights or a heavy bag to give even more stabilty and the carry case with shoulder strap and for less than £14 i have a dam good tripod for out and about. Buy one simple
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2006
I was a bit unsure whether to buy this tripod at first, as £10 seemed too cheap, how glad am i that i chose to purchase this item!! the legs have 4 different heights in total (compact, fully extended and two more) and the stability is suprisingly good!

I'm not a proffessional photographer, merely an amatuer point and click user who has just invested in a better camera requiring a tripod to get better pictures.

For a first time tripod there is nothing i could possibly say that is bad about this product, its nice and small, comes in a bag, and was only a tenner!!! WINNER!
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2006
This tripod is incredibly cheap but it's very useable.

The legs are a bit flimsy but there's plenty of adjustment available. The camera mounting is easy to control and has adjustment available for horizontal and vertical movement and also for setting the camera in portrait orientation.

Feels sturdy enough when set up and certainly doesn't seem like it will fall over!

Also comes with a carrying pouch!

Excellent value.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2006
Given the price, this little bit of kit has easily surpassed my low expectations.

Whilst I wouldnt describe the build as rugged it is well constructed (albeit plastic componentry with aluminium legs) and peforms superbly with my Canon 350D.

I'd highly recommend this for any enthusiastic amateur on a budget.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
I enjoy night and low light photography outdoors so I thought it was time I invested in a tripod. Being on a budget, I decided to try this.

BUILD & DESIGN

Opening the big white box it comes in, you'll find a free bag and the tripod itself. There's no instructions as other reviewers have mentioned but it's not too hard to work the tripod.

The tripod itself has nice bronze painted aluminium legs but everything else such as the quick release catches are made of plastic - Cheap plastic that make cracking sounds as soon as you apply a bit of pressure. If you look closely enough underneath the head, you can actually see the glue used to put the joints together!

The head has a detachable platform so you can remove the camera quickly if you needed to such as for sudden action shots before clipping it back onto the tripod.

Quick release catches are used to extend the legs and hold them into place. There are also two plastic bolts on the central column - One at the bottom near the hook that you can tighten to prevent the tripod closing up and, one at the top where you can crank a small handle to extend the height further.

All these joints makes setting up and putting away the tripod quick and easy.

Extra features, there is a hook at the bottom where you can add extra weight. There are two spirit level - A spot one near the handle and a line one on the head itself.

Personally I've never found a use for any of the extra features really.

As for the free bag itself, it has a single pocket with a small zip that forces you to put the tripod in legs first. This means you'll probably want to clean the plastic feet if you're using it outdoors.

STEADINESS

Attaching a DSLR with an 18-55mm standard zoom kit lens, the tripod seems to be steady enough even at full height. Shots come out sharp even with long exposure times of 30 seconds outdoors.

However, the problem arises when using heavier zoom lenses. At the telephoto end of 300mm shots come out blurred. The tripod itself remains steady enough but even with everything tightened, I noticed the head isn't firm enough to stay still as soon as the shutter goes off to take the picture.

Turning up the ISO setting so that you can lower the exposure time fixes the problem but, this defeats the point of using a tripod in the first place of course!

This also means it is not ideal for bulb mode or when you have to press the shutter button yourself.

Furthermore, if you're using a DSLR the head is strong enough to hold the camera at 90 degrees angle for portraits but, it will fall flat if the angle is anything less than that.

CONCLUSION

The Hama Star 62 appears to be a bargain packed full of features that make it both quick to setup and put away - It even comes with a fairly good quality free bag!

However, you have to wonder how long it will last with all the important, frequently used parts of the tripod made of cheap plastic such as the catches on the legs, the head itself and other joints.

It's a tripod that is suited to most cameras but not for anyone into zoom photography with DSLRs.
1515 comments| 359 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
I am just beginning with photography, more of a new hobby.

I have taken a few night time shots and knew I needed a tripod to get better results.

However, being a beginner I dont see the point in buying something expensive. So I decided to buy this Hama Star 61 Tripod.

The camera sits on it very well. it has a very easy quick release.
The tripod can give you landscape or portrait angles and anything in between.
The tripod is not the heaviest but it is sturdy enough to hold your camera still.
This also extends from what I thought was a small tripod to something I can stand up and use without bending over.
Its cheap.....

but the minus points would be that although you can pan across quite easily if you release the lock nut slightly (for camcorders), but to move the camera to face down or up is a bit more stiff.
At first I was a bit annoyed at this, then realised that as long as its a bit stiffer my camera wont move.

If your a beginner or on a very tight budget, then I think this would be a good place to start to improve shots, and so you can save for a better tripod in the future if needed.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 August 2013
I bought this direct from Amazon (22 months ago) and got a good deal on the price.

At slightly over 64 cm long and 1526 grams when packed up in its case, this is quite a package to carry around.

When set to its minimum height, the head plate is about 61 cm off the ground. When everything has been fully extended, the height of the head plate is about 158 cm off the ground.

What I like about it:
+ Spirit level built into upper leg brace
+ Spirit level built into the head platform
+ Side carry handle (handy if you have small hands)
+ Crank handle to elevate central column
+ Central brace hook (to hang a stabilization bag on)

What I don't like about it:
- Cheap and fragile feel of product
- Head plate uses a flip over key style of screw to attach the camera (see my picture)
- Bottom feet use a ball and socket type of adjustment (see my picture)

On paper this Hama should be good, it offers a lot of handy features only found on more expensive tripods. However in use the item feels cheap and fragile. The head plate uses a flip over key style of screw to attach the camera which I find fiddly (a thumb wheel would have been so much better). The use of a ball and socket type of adjustment for the bottom feet doesn't work all that well and the tripod seems to be upset easily, so I think the use of the central brace hook to hang a stabilization bag is required in most situations.
review image review image
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2004
I got this tripod to go with a new digital camera that I got at christmas. I bought it with the intention that it was cheap enough that if I found it useful I would buy a better one, but having used it, why bother with a more expensive one? The only problem I had with it was that there wasn't any instructions with it (yes, I know you're saying it's just a tripod, how complicated can it be?) but it does have quite a few features that aren't immediately obvious to the new photographer. The camera mount can be removed with a lever to aid screwing it to the camera body. It has a couple of spirit levels built in and the camera can be rotated and locked in every direction (it even has the option of locking the camera in the portrait position rather than the usual landscape format). It also comes with its own black canvas carrying case(bag). A fantastic piece of kit for the money, especially for those starting out.
22 comments| 236 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 February 2008
Lightweight yet relatively sturdy tripod for cameras and camcorders, it's fully adjustable/lockable with quick-release catches on the legs. The product is aluminium and has a satin finish (in an off-silver colour).

I'm 5'10" and my camcorder sits comfortably at eye-level when this tripod is fully extended (no bending required). The legs are in 3 sections and are fully adjustable from 45 - 120cm with a locking collar on the central column to keep them firmly in place. (The remaining height adjustment comes from the hand-crank central column).

The unit stands upon self-levelling rubber feet which create a triangular footprint of 84cm per side when opened to maximum.

The tripod comes complete with a black nylon medium density carry bag with shoulder strap only, though there is a separate carry handle on the tripod itself (on central column).

There are 2 spirit levels; a 'spot' level at the top of the legs and a 'line' level on the camera base plate, and each of the movable 3-way aspects; pan/tilt/angle moves smoothly for the most part (the vertical crank seems the least smooth). Also, each of these can be locked independently in position as desired. [Another reviewer stated the panning action was not smooth but I've not found that problem on the unit I got].

Finally, there's a hook at the bottom to hang weights from for additional stability, the tripod will hold up to 3.5Kg.

All in all, very pleased, this tripod's a bit of a bargain really.
11 comment| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 202 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)