Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2004
This is a tremendous film, and a beautiful DVD. My son wanted to watch nothing else for the last four weeks, his enthusiasm for it was immense.
This movie is nothing like your standard cartoon offering - the story is simple and pure, the animation is crisp, the music is enchanting, there is no attempt to dress-up the story, and the representation of West African culture is pretty fair.
If you can (or your kids can) understand any French then try to watch the movie in its original language, the songs and the dialogue work much better, plus the accentation of the English dubbing is questionable (while all the accents are African they span the whole continent so it sounds very "dubbed").
The DVD pack comes with a bonus disk which is interesting and fun, but only in French.
All in all I cannot recommend this more highly. This is a great movie that kids will watch over and over again.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2007
The sweet-natured Kirikou and the Sorceress, is a French animated movie drawing on a West African tale that has an authenticity The Lion King lacks. The diminutive, preternaturally wise hero talks in his mother's womb, cuts his own umbilical cord and proceeds to save the village from an oppressive sorceress. The two-dimensional drawings with the characters usually in profile look like folk art and have the feel of a children's book. The attractive score is by the Senegalese musician Youssou N'Dour.
By the way, watch the original French version which adapts itselt to Westren African based accents as opposed to the dubbed English version which incorporates a broader range of African accents.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2006
Beautiful animation about a baby saving his village from an evil sorceress. In the same sort of vein as Spirited Away - animation that highlights the magic and wonder in the world it depicts, and a central character who wins the day by having courage in his convictions, and seeing the world through unjaded eyes. For me, this is even better than SA - it features a much more likeable hero and characters are voiced and animated with greater verve.

The movie opens with pregant mother stroking her belly. A small voice proclaims "Mother, I am ready to be born." Brilliant.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2006
The story, the animation and the music is lovely . It is refreshing to find an african children's story which is truely reflective of African life in all respects. This would be a great gift for children of african descent in any country but also for all children because it is not only immensely enjoyable but gives a very positive view of african culture.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
Firstly I have to say I have not watched this in its entirety, but watched over half of it on holiday with our 2 young boys who were captivated. It is so different to anything else and is quite enthralling. I have just ordered 4 more copies as I know no one else will have it! Go on - try it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I bought this movie because it was in my to-buy list for years. It's a nice piece, although I would recommend it to see it on French with English subtitles, because I like the melodious French dialogues. For kids, it is nice one way or another. I have heard that there are several complaints because of the nudity shown in the movie, with the town women topless, and the kids completely naked, but nothing in the behaviour of the characters leaves any politically incorrect interpretation. Visually beautiful and also very educative. I am considering getting in time the two extra movies that were published afterwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Gambled on this and enjoyed it enough to watch it a second time straight after. A fun story. I bought it as extra research on African art and was well rewarded. Beautiful animation. Jolly songs.
Yes that's right. I said jolly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2004
This Senegalese cartoon film is one of the most appealing animated films of the last 10 years for both adults and children. The images are beautiful and slow-moving, a far cry from the Japanese action-loaded Pokemon stories. The music by Youssou N-Dour is beautiful but very discreet. Yet, the story has all the suspense, love, drama, humour and action you can wish for. Children will ask to watch it again and again (and so will you). If the world had more films like these for children, it might be a better place to grow up in.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
lovely, cultural film, but Head Teacher at primary school where I teach French, said it's not suitable to show to the 7 - 11 yr old pupils because of the bare breasts (albeit cartoon ones!) - oh how prudish/English! I'm sure the French don't have a problem with it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
Before seeing that movie, I was hesitant because I was afraid that I would see another motion picture that would reuse the same formulas Disney used in its animation in the late 1990's. And by that I mean an illogical and politically correct happy ending, along with too many songs that would slow down and hurt the rhythm of the movie's plot.

But to my surprise, I discovered in Mcihel Ocleot's movie a masterpiece. Through its story, we witness the showdown between the wisdom of a courageous and wise infant against an impressive and terrifying witch.

Technically, the animation, the colors and the backgrounds, a specialty in Michel Ocelot's movies, are magical. And even though certain animation experts would spend their whole time trying to to identify animation mistakes in the movie, which is what some of them keep doing instead of watching a story, they could not be unmoved by this story, along with its great ending,

As for the soundtrack and title song, Youssou N'Dour enriches the film with a musical culture that will introduce many people to West African music and to this composer's career.

Finally, it is thanks to this movie that Michel Ocelot got the international success he deserved, after making for many years short features and TV series in France, and started to release many features films featuring his Kirikou, his Cinesi characters, the excellent Azur and Asmar, and a videoclip for Bjork's single "Earth Intruders".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.