Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
60
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2013
I only gave this 3 stars as it's not very good, certainly not by the first 2 films standards. Maybe it's because John Carpenter and Debra Hill were not involved with the latter Halloween movies. Sadly this film did not do the late great Donald Pleasence any justice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
THE REVENGE OF MICHAEL MYERS 1989

Indeed he's back for revenge on anyone who gets in his way so what's new! once again this is for die hard fans only as the average horror buff wouldn't get much from this, the Halloween series takes a few turns over the years but I think 4 and 5 are rather great movies, its just your classic slasher story with the killer coming back once again after his supposed death, back to Haddonfield to continue his search for his niece who now is in a hospital being treated after her last ordeal, the cast is good, your usual fodder for the kill, There's a few good kill scenes nothing that's major gory though, Danielle Harris again is great and is one of few child stars that can carry a horror movie, if your a fan make sure you pick this up on Blu-ray.

Blu-ray picture is pretty good, lots of great features including a commentary and several short behind the scenes and interviews etc.
If your a massive die hard fan of this movie you can get a cool German import media book which is 3-discs including the Blu-ray, DVD and CD soundtrack, English, Region B. has all the features and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
After the Brilliant Part 4 it was decided to Rush out A Part 5,but without the slightest hint of Quality or talent that came with 4. The Direction is Terrible and Strangely enough (with the exception of Donald Pleasence) All those who return from Part 4 have forgotten how to Act. The script is rushed and there is even Whacky! Music playing in the background when the Two Dumb Deputies make their appearance. What I do have to say Positive about it though is the ending. The Ending is Brilliant. It promises so much which is suddenly pushed to the side line by the equally Terrible Part 6.Avoid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Halloween 5 was rushed into production with the success of Halloween 4. And boy, does it show. The script, direction, and cinematography is so poor in this film, compared with the previous effort. There is barely a single likeable character in the entire movie. For the first time in the series, I found myself actually rooting for Michael. Halloween 5 is one of the very worst in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2008
Has of the title you can feel that it is a very dull movie, but it has some good stuff in it like the connection between Jamie and Michael and of course this film has to be the darkest yet of all the Halloween movies, michael is again after Jamie and after the shootout at the end of H4 he is once again in a coma for 1 year until Halloween when he reawakens and goes after jamie who after the events of H4 she is in a childrens hospital where she gets images of michael
well thats enough of the plot now, the 5th halloween and things are going a little dull the usual formuler isnt working and again this series feels like it needs a reboot a reworking it needs Jamie lee curtis back!
This film again is worthy of adding to your Halloween collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This is an average entry into the Halloween series. The plot feels weird and the atmosphere that was present in the earlier movies has been lost. The character of Doctor Loomis is something which I didn't like in Halloween 5 as he has turned very angry and hostile for some reason, indicating bad writing. Some kill scenes were good and I did get some enjoyment out of watching certain scenes, but overall I found it very average and a little far-fetched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
THE MOVIE

The best thing about HALLOWEEN 5 is the beginning credits scene. Besides that this sequel has very little to offer.
It is the first really bloody Halloween movie - after the relatively tame HALLOWEEN 1 through 4 the violence is bumped up considerably and several scenes were trimmed by the MPAA. An uncut unrated version does not exist.
It is very hard to believe that 3 people actually worked on the "script", including Swiss director Dominique Othenin-Girard - the script is just so bad and pretty much non-existing. The end introduces the "cult" which ultimately kills the franchise that should not have lived past the first sequel in the first place.
The acting is downright horrible: Donald Pleasence tries his best but the script won't allow for much, he seemed to have gotten a bit bored with his role, too.
I generally like Danielle Harris (as an adult!) but in this she is just annoying - the constant screaming and crying, think HALLOWEEN 4, just worse and much more frequent. The major difference between Halloween and the Friday the 13th franchise (and several other teen slashers) was that the teens in Halloween weren't as braindead. Well this has changed in HALLOWEEN 5 - each of the teenagers is a potential winner of the infamous "Darwin Award".
Director Dominique Othenin-Girard simply copies the formula of slasher films - something all previous entries avoided. As I mentioned before the characters are now dumber than in the previous films and H5 has become a carbon copy of FRIDAY THE 13TH. I guess there are a lot of people who applaud this, but just as many won't.
I'm giving it 2 stars (and I am being very generous) because Pleasence is in it, because there are some cool killing scenes and because it still is better than the abysmal HALLOWEEN 8 - RESURRECTION and Rob Zombie's remakes. The gore still is not enough to satisfy fans of hardcore slasher like THE BURNING, MANIAC or NEW YORK RIPPER. Scenes between the killings are mostly boring and there aren't that many graphical killings to begin with.

RATING: 4 / 10

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2010 Anchor Bay UK DVD
Feature running time: 93 mins. (MPAA cuts)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Extras: Theatrical Trailer, Inside Halloween 5 Featurette
Region: 2

Picture: C-
Audio: C
Extras: D
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Halloween 5 continues well from part 4 but unfortunately it's not as good a film. It's great to have Donald Pleasance back as well as some other characters from part 4 but they're not used as well as in that entry . One character from part 4 is killed early on, perhaps for shock value, but I'd of liked to have seen her for much more of the film. It would still have been shocking if she'd got it later. There is some positive points to the continuation of the story and returning cast such as the Police chief acknowledging his upset over his daughter being killed in part 4, something I think was foolishly omitted from the end of the previous film.
The director manages to create some tension and Michael Myers is still a scary presence but other areas of the film are not as well done as the previous entries. The internal logic of the film is not as tight as Parts 1-4 and things seem more random and messy. For instance I quite like the crazy ending but I think it might confuse and make certain viewers angry at how vague the conclusion is.
I think the Halloween series would have been better off ending at Part 4 but you can still find entertainment value from Halloween 5 and the later sequels and remakes(especially those that have Donald Pleasence). The only one I'd never watch again and will always avoid is Halloween 8-Ressurection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
a follow up to number 4. after being shot in to a deep hole in to the ground, micheal managed to crawl through! and make his way down a stream where a local man takes him in and he sleeps till the next halloween to continue his rampage!... jamie his now in a hospital type place after going a bit mad when she stabbed her foster mum in number 4. (as ya would)... however, it is a shame that racheal dies not long into the start of the film. a lot of people (including me) was a bit dissapointed in her being killed off!... as she was seen by many as a second laurie! another that micheal would struggle to defeat!... when i saw the making of this the director and elle cornell herself (racheal) says that her being killed off was deeply regretted as they saw a future for her in these films (i must admit she was good!). still,too late now!. anyway.... this aint a bad film and its still worth it to have specially if you already own all the rest!... not a bad watch and still holds a few scares!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
I am sorry, but to have this many films in a series is suicide. As an avid follower of horror films, I can truly say that this film is pointless and is only out to cash in on the success of one Michael Myers! I love Halloween, and Halloween 2 ..and even Halloween H20 which at least changed the formula and updated it! This film though is just boring, giving us the same old horror slasher film and isn't worth watching at all! Even for fans of Michael Myers, this is pushing it a bit too far ... so stick with the original or H20, or even films like Nightmare On Elm Street and Friday The 13th if you need your fix of Horror slasher movies, but trust me, any film with a 4, 5, 6 or anything beyond 3 in the title, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)