Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
63
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
58
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2004
Since Cher first appeared as an awkward hippy with her husband Sonni Bono as the duo Sonni and cher, she has carved a career which is truly the stuff of legend. Cher has sung the biggest selling female single in the UK,"Believe", has made countless fabulous records which have been of te rock, pop, dance and even cowboy style genre and she even had a brilliant career as an actress winning an academy award. This album has brilliantly captured the magic of Cher's fantastic career.
The first track "Believe" ,which topped the UK charts for seven weeks, won a grammy and sold over 1.6 million copies in Britain alone is most certainly chers biggest hit. This brilliant dance track has Cher's powerful voice with brilliant dance beats and is a definition of fantastic dance music. itwas recorded for Cher's first dance and biggest selling album ever, "Believe".
"Strong Enough" starts off like a mournful ballad but then turns into a rousing dance track of confidence telling the world how strong Cher is and how you can't bringh her down. This reached #5 in the UK and was also off the "Believe" album.
"If I Could Turn Back Time" the shout along anthem which allowed Cher to prove just how strong her voice is was one of the greatest songs of the rock era and reached #6 in the UK. Though not her greatest hit i feel this is Cher's greates song with amazing lyrics, powerful vocals and strong rocky guitars.
"The Shoop Shoop Song" was Cher's revamp of an old Betty Everett classic and she made it so fantastic that it topped the UK charts for 5 weeks. This cheery and uplifting song was on the soundtrack for Cher's comedy movie classic "Mermaids".
"Just Like Jesse James" was Chers cowboy song which Cher has admitted she thinks is "absolute crap" but i must admit i love this song and think Chers powerful voice has made this power ballad really stand out and her passion she puts into it is spectacular.
"Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves" is a brilliant US #1 with some cheery gypsie tamborines and chers distinctive voice singing about her life in a travelling show. A brilliant song that rightfully stands out in chers fabulous career.
Another rock song that Cher made a big hit was the fantastic "I Found Someone" which also reveals Cher's passion and powerful vocals. Excellent.
Of course form the very early years of Cher's career you of course have the international #1 Sonni & Cher hit "I Got You Babe", silly but cheerful and even from this young age Cher still had some voice. Another good Sonni and Cher cklassic here is "The Beat Goes On" with its simple but driving beats.
Lets not go on anymore about the endless cher classic which have become a part of music history, form the early Cher hits "Bang, Bang(My Baby Shot Me Down)" or "All i Really Want To Do" or the eery but fabulous US #1 "Dark Lady". Thgis album is in one word EXCELLENT! A must have classic album.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
very good album. all the hits are here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Good item recieved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
very best of Cher and it is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Fantastic !!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
LISTENING TO IT AND I LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2004
Difficult to believe, but Cher has just celebrated her 40th birthday in music with an extraordinary hit collection. The last official compilations were on one CD only, but Cher's great talent could not be contained in such a little space. "The very best of Cher (2 cd set)" is the most complete official compilation up till now.
Cher has passed through four decades of the international music panorama, and that's a real record! Innocent, sexy, sophisticated, she has been able to constantly change in time and become one of the last real divas, who can always surprise us without any vulgarity but with a great sense of humor.
In these cds (more than 2 hours of music), we can rediscover the songs of the beginnings in the 60es, with Sonny Bono ("I got you Babe", "The best goes on" and "Baby don't go"), the ones that marked her solo-debut in the 70es ("Gypsies, tramps and thieves", "Half-breed", "Dark lady" and "Take me home"); we can then enjoy the songs of her brilliant return to the scenes in the late 80es ("I found someone", "If I could turn back time" and "Just like Jesse James") up to the ones of the 90es ("The shoop shoop song", "Love and understanding" and "One by one"). We finally come to the planetary hit "Believe", that gave back to Cher the role of the great interpreter that she deserves. "Believe" is the best selling album of her solo career. Thanks to this dance ballad she conquered the hearts of a new generation of admirers, fascinated by her charisma.
In the collection we can also find the songs of the dance turning point ("Strong enough", "All or nothing"), some of the recent hits contained in the last album "Living proof" ("The music's no good without you", "Song for the lonely" and "A different kind of love song") and some extra-tracks that did not get the same success of the most famous songs, but are interesting anyway ("Rudy", "Bad love", "Più che puoi" with Eros Ramazzotti, "All I never need is you" - Sonny and Cher - and "Born with the hunger", from the album "Not commercial", released for internet sale only).
Cher is not only a singer, an actress or a soubrette...she is all these things with the addition of a secret ingredient that nobody has been able to identify yet.
For the historical fans, this collection represents a synthesis of a boisterous career and for the new ones the perfect starting point to appreciate this fantastic woman.
Incredible Cher!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE CORRECT CD AS AMAZON HAVE GROUPED THE REVIEWS OF THE SINGLE CD WITH THIS DOUBLE CD
1-1 –Cher Believe 4:00
1-2 –Cher Strong Enough 3:41
1-3 –Cher If I Could Turn Back Time 4:00
1-4 –Cher I Found Someone 3:43
1-5 –Cher Song For The Lonely 3:22
1-6 –Cher Walking In Memphis 3:56
1-7 –Cher Just Like Jesse James 4:06
1-8 –Cher One By One 5:03
1-9 –Cher Love And Understanding 4:42
1-10 –Cher Save Up All Your Tears 4:00
1-11 –Eros Ramazzotti Feat. Cher Piu Che Puoi 4:09
1-12 –Cher, Chrissie Hynde & Neneh Cherry Love Can Build A Bridge 4:15
1-13 –Cher Take Me Home 3:27
1-14 –Cher Rudy 3:50
1-15 –Cher Bad Love (From The Film 'Foxes') 5:26
1-16 –Cher When The Money's Gone 4:39
1-17 –Cher All Or Nothing 3:56
1-18 –Cher Alive Again 4:19
1-19 –Cher A Different Kind Of Love Song 3:50
2-1 –Cher The Shoop Shoop Song (It's In His Kiss) 2:50
2-2 –Cher Heart Of Stone 4:11
2-3 –Cher Dov'è L'Amore (Emilio Estefan Jnr. Radio Edit) 3:45
2-4 –Cher The Music's No Good Without You 4:41
2-5 –Cher Gypsies, Tramps & Thieves 2:37
2-6 –Cher Half-Breed 2:44
2-7 –Cher Dark Lady 3:27
2-8 –Sonny & Cher I Got You Babe 3:07
2-9 –Sonny & Cher The Beat Goes On 3:28
2-10 –Cher Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) (Original Version) 2:44
2-11 –Cher The Way Of Love 2:31
2-12 –Cher All I Really Want To Do 2:57
2-13 –Cher Train Of Thought 2:35
2-14 –Sonny & Cher A Cowboy's Work Is Never Done 3:18
2-15 –Cher We All Sleep Alone 3:51
2-16 –Cher Love Hurts 4:15
2-17 –Cher Not Enough Love In The World 4:22
2-18 –Cher Born With The Hunger 4:02
2-19 –Cher & Peter Cetera After All (Love Theme From "Chances Are") 4:05
2-20 –Sonny & Cher All I Ever Need Is You 2:40
2-21 –Sonny & Cher Baby Don't Go 3:09
2-22 –Meat Loaf Feat. Cher Dead Ringer For Love 4:25
2-23 –Cher Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) 3:45
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
42 Amazing tracks on this unique 2CD album the best tracks are believe one by one all or nothing strong enough and we all sleep alone from pop 2 rock this cd great all her singles are on it the rock songs are one by one if could turn back time and the pop tracks are the #1 single believe the music's no good without you and a different kind of love song this is truly a greatest hits album 10/10 must buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)