Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 October 2016
This western has very soft & acceptable undertones? Two nice guys with values, a love interest for Kev, a loyalty to look after those around you – God damn it, there are even dogs in this film! I mean, what’s right is right ain’t it and if it offends you, then it needs sorting out don’t it?
Even allowing for all of these rather uncowboyish traits, there are still lots of nasty baddies, a good story line and the last hour is a real blast as the guns come out. The cinematography is lovely on the eye.
This is a really enjoyable film to watch, especially so if you like happy endings? This film doesn’t have the cutting edge of, say, ‘The 3.10 to Yuma’ but in its own way it’s still thoroughly enjoyable - it just has a much softer approach that’s all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2013
Since the days of Lonesome Dove, Robert Duvall has made something of a speciality of playing an ageing cowboy fighting for his rights in the old west. Here we have Open Range, which like Broken Trail that followed it, is set against a back drop of the beautiful and expansive terrain of Alberta, Canada, which doubles as the sprawling prairies of the mid-west. The common scenario is that of driving a large herd of cattle (or horses) and dealing with various bad men on the way. In this case he is directed very ably by Kevin Costner, who also stars. The main bad guy is Michael Gambon who, as a ruthless landowner, objects to the US government's policy of free grazing rights on the open prairie. It is a very well made, and directed, western which culminates in a major extended shoot out, arguably the best in the western genre. The love interest is provided by Annette Bening, who puts in a very strong performance. All in all, an entertaining and satisfying movie. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2017
A really enjoyable modern western , one I can watch again and again . I particulary like the small human touches ( crockery and Swiss chocolate) that raise it ( for me ) above other tougher and grimmer films. Kevin Costner and Robert Duvall are a very good pairing and you are in no doubt that , despite their intentions to kill lots of bad guys, they are still the good guys. The German blu ray ( 12 cert in green box ) is a good step up in picture quality over the dvd and can be watched in English without subtitles, you'll need to press a couple of buttons first though.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
Traditional cowboy movie with a happy ending.
If you have a decent Home Cinema system then PLEASE turn up the volume, these could be the most realistic gunshots you will have heard to date. Sorry but Soundbars will disappoint, it does need a proper AV setup. I've watched it three times now and still cannot help myself grinning from ear to ear. Another bargain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2015
THIS FILM IS THE BEST WESTERN FILM SINCE UNFORGIVEN. GREAT STORYLINE AND SCENERY SHOTS.ALL GREAT ACTORS TOGETHER.I WONT SAY WHO THEY ARE ?. I FIRST SAW THIS FILM ON YOU TUBE.NOW I HAVE ADDED THIS FILM TO MY COLLECTION OF OVER 500+.NOT SURE IF ITS ALSO ON BLUE RAY BUT ITS GREAT ON DVD FORMAT.YOU DECIDE IF YOU WANT TO BUY IT. I HAVE BOUGHT THIS GREAT FILM IN BLUE RAY.SINCE IS IT BETTER? YOU BET. WORTH THE EXTRA £££ YEP. CONVERSION IS SUPERB.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2016
This film was panned when it came out because true to Costner tradition it was not cool to make westerns now it is considered worthy, I loved the film on big screen straight away because I love this type of western with big skies and big landscape plus a little bit of revenge killing thrown in, Costner as the hand with a secret and Duvell as the old hand fearing his lifestyle disappearing works well for me, will watch for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
One of the most realistic impressive western films I have ever seen. The culmination of the film, the gunfight, is one of the best
and most realistic I have ever seen. No impossible shooting here(shooting people at fifty yards with a revolver, or cutting a
rope with a rifle,free standing at 100yards or more!). There are shots and misses and pistol shooting at very close range.
Really showing how it would really have been.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2014
this is an old school classic Western... a plot, similar to Shane and many
other Westerns... it is also an allegory, for big business capitalism, and
the little man... Right against Might...

The story builds to a gunfight, and what a gunfight!... even Guns and Ammo,
said it was one of the best movie gunfights... If you like good Westerns, this
won't disappoint...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this film ... it was well acted and Annette Benning, playing the part of Sue, was excellent. My only grumble was the gun fights ... at times I was unsure who was shooting at who!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2017
I so enjoyed this western movie,a tale ending up a love story well acted,

and a great shootout at the end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)