Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2003
Some are claiming that this album contains songs that were not #1 hits. This claim is only half-true. A few have pointed out that Thriller and Human Nature did not reach #1 on the pop charts in the US or UK. This is true, but they did reach #1 on the R&B charts, which is just as legitmate as the pop charts. A country star could put an album out of #1 songs on the country charts and no one would complain.
However, "Break of Dawn" does not seem to be a #1 single on any chart, and I don't believe it was actually released. So, it counts as a "new" song, I guess.
Either way, Michael Jackson has just as much justification as The Beatles for putting out an album titled "Number Ones." However, it is clearly a marketing choice and not a great title for the album. But is it definitely not a lie.
This is a great album, regardless of whether each song reached the top of the charts or not. Maybe the could have called it Five decades, because no other artist (not even the beatles) has had #1 hits in five decades (60s, 70s, 80s, 90s,00s).
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2003
Michael Jackson the man or the music?! Well lately it seems that the man has overshadowed what made him famous, no not famous but mega-famous. Well now here's your chance to hear why he became the biggest musical act save the Beatles and Elvis. Here we have some of the biggest and best of his 30 year career: 'Billie Jean', 'Smooth Criminal', Earth Song', 'Dirty Diana' etc.. aswell as a new single 'One More Chance' and a track taken from 'Invincible' - 'Break of Dawn'. What strikes a fan such as me is why Sony decided to release a greatest hits package a few years after 'History Book 1' and 'History GHV1', especially as it fails to include some of his best and less known classic hits such as: 'Give In To Me', 'Will You Be There', 'In The Closet', 'Leave Me Alone', but there are always his studio albums to buy and treasure for a lifetime. We know the reason why Sony has released this: it's the last album Michael needs to give to Sony before he can be released from his contract. Let's hope that with his new record deal he continues to make music as good as this because any record collection needs at least one Michael Jackson long player in it. If you're a casual fan or can appreciate the man for his music then you can do no wrong buying this. If it impresses you, go further and check out the classic albums. The best stocking filler you'll find this Christmas.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2004
Don't say you have'nt got a copy of this yet? This CD is a must have for every music collection! Millions of us have already rushed out and got a copy so whats stopping you?...Oh, don't like Michael Jackson? Forget about his recent troubles and what you read in the press and give it a listen!
Theres tracks here that everyone will remember, starting with the the 1978 classics right up to present day with the new 'one more chance'. It's a CD that shows almost 26 years of work and is a great example of how music have changed over that time.
For those of us who already own many of Jacksons other albums such as Thriller, Bad, HIStory etc, then theres nothing much new to be found on this release, although it's ideal for a one stop listen to all the hits rather than trawlling through your CD's trying too find Billie Jean or Smooth Criminal for example!
Anyone familiar with Jacksons chart positions over the years, will notice that not all tracks featured have hit the No.1 spot, but still, who cares? it wouldn't be as good a listen if hits like Smooth Criminal, You rock my world etc had been left out.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2007
There's no shortage of Greatest Hits albums for Michael Jackson, so often it's hard to decide which one you should opt for. I would absolutely advise you to get this one, even if you do have another one of his lying around, as this is a brilliant summary of his most successful tracks to date, and is the most neatly and conveniently assembled of all I've seen.

For starters, this is just one disc with 18 tracks as opposed to a daunting two or more CD catalogue, and has a succinct yet wide reaching track listing. Opening with "Don't Stop Till You Get Enough" and moving chronologically through his alleged European Numbers 1s right up until "One More Chance", which I personally hadn't heard of and certainly wasn't a Number 1 anywhere of note, this CD covers all the songs that have become such a given in pop music : "Thriller" "Billie Jean" "Smooth Criminal" and "Black or White" just four of the list of great tracks to be found here. The term "Number 1" is used loosely obviously, but it doesn't particularly matter that the last couple of the tracks weren't even hits in most places let alone chart toppers as the entire albums flows brilliantly and all the tracks are great songs in their own right anyway.

This album would be particularly good for people who are looking to really know Michael Jackson's music better, and for those who want a shorter but still satisfyingly long album of favourite hits to dance and sing along to; in short, an album that will just never get old. A great buy and worth every penny!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2003
This album is ideal for anyone of all ages who just want to enjoy a superb collection of pop hits by the undisputed King of Pop. When it comes down to it, although his private life might grab the headlines more these days, Michael Jackson is an all time legend because of his music and this album is ideal to listen to all his great songs at once. It would be impossible to fit all of Jacko's hits onto one album but this selection is probably the best of the best- with a mixture of his earlier and later work. From the rockin' 'Dont stop till you get enough', through to the huge hits of 'Billie Jean' and 'Bad' right up to his more later work of 'Earth Song.' Included is 'you rock my world' which announced Michael's return to the pop scene with a tune that was reminiscent of his work throughout the 80's and 90's and reminded the pop world that he wasn't through yet. Not only that but his new song is included which makes this album even better and assures his legion of fans that his music isn't dead.
For anyone whose even mildly interested in Michael Jackson, or people who just want an album full of songs that are time-less, original and truely amazing- this album is for you! It's a perfect gift as well, the only danger with this album is it mgiht get worn out through listening to it so much! If you are debating over what album to get this christmas- get this one, you will not be dissappointed! Just goes to show that Michael isn't about to hand over his crown just yet, thankfully!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
This new Greatest Hits Compilation by Michael Jackson includes my favourite hits from the King Of Pop, and not all of them are Number Ones, as the album includes 16 greatest hits (+ 2 new tracks) and he scored 7 UK Chart-toppers. And still the album misses his first ever UK Number One "One Day In Your Life".
Track listings:
1. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (No.3)
2. Rock With You (No.7)
3. Billie Jean*
4. Beat It (No.3)
5. Thriller (No.10)
6. Human Nature (not released as a single in the UK)
7. I Just Can't Stop Loving You*
8. Bad (No.3)
9. The Way You Make Me Feel (No.3)
10. Dirty Diana (No.4)
11. Smooth Criminal (No.8)
12. Black Or White*
13. You Are Not Alone*
14. Earth Song*
15. Blood On The Dance Floor*
16. You Rock My World (No.2)
17. Break Of Dawn (previously unreleased)
18. One More Chance (No.5/released in late 2003 to promote the album)
*UK No.1 hit-singles.
I love every song on the album. It's a very good album with my favourite Michael's tracks.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2003
No really. Where would we be? There would be no pop, (new) R&B, Black people on MTV, modern music videos, Usher, Justin Timberlake etc. (I could go on) without this guy's musical influence and trendsetting. He is the most sucessful artist after the Beatles and Elvis, The most awarded entertainer ever, the most cuturally significant artist/dancer ever (others came before, but no one broke the barrriers like him). This album is a must IF you dont have HIStory. However, all the tracks are radio edits. While some of his songs benefit from this (Black or White, YOu Rock My World, I just cant stop loving you) some definately dont (Dont Stop..). Another minor quip I have with the album, as some people have already mentioned as it contains filler such as Blood on the dance floor, Earth Song, I just cant stop loving you and doesnt contain the great songs off Dangerous, such as: Who is it, Give in to me, Remember the time. So why have I given it 4 stars? Listen to it and you will see.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2003
Well there's been a lot in the press recently re: Jacko. All I can say is that although he may have done some strange things he is one of the greatest recording artists living. I bought this album with some aprehension. I needent have. From start to finish it is a masterpiece. I've discovered some great tracks such as 'Dirty Diana' and the ballad like 'I just can't stop loving you'. I would certainly recommend this album to anyone. It's not often I buy a c.d. and like every track on it. This fits in that category without even trying.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
To end the contract with Sony MJ is back with an album as the title suggests of Number Ones, Ive read in some reviews people saying that some lesser known tracks are missing well of course they are this is an album with NUMBER ONES not greatest hits the exception of course is Break Of Dawn and One More Chance (the new single produced and written by R Kelly) and U Rock My World which wasnt a Number One in the U.K but was in the U.S so i guess thats how its on here.
All in all not much to say all the songs are great charting his career from the start until today and all the songs were deserved number ones if you have Greatest Hits albums this is still worth buying and what a perfect CD for an Xmas present forget about all the press surounds MJ this is for his music BUY IT!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2005
Whatever you may think of Michael Jackson, there's no denying he is a musical legend and one of the most talented artists of our time.
This album shows exactly how talented he is. Very few other artists can release a CD full of their number ones. Many fans of Michael Jackson would have his other albums containing all these songs, in which case this CD is purely repetition for them. However, this is the only CD of his that I have and it's perfect for me as it contains all my most favourite songs on just one CD (except Man in the Mirror) and no superfluous songs.
I love listening to this in my car. It's testament to Michael Jackson's musical popularity that I can stop at traffic lights, windows wound down, singing along to this CD at the top of my voice, and the person in the car next to me will grin and sing with me.
A brilliant album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)