Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2017
I thought I'd check this out after all the type its received over the years. I was ok but no where near as good as I thought it would be. Jeff Bridges was gorgeous in it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was so massive back in the day. I liked the exclusive Peter Gabriel song "Walk Through The Fire" too.
It's therefore surprising to find that a movie as big as "Against All Odds" isn't readily available on BLU RAY in 2014 to British film fans (its music has been available on CD for years).

The American BLU RAY on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are). And there appears to be no alternatives.

So until someone ends the restrictions of Region Coding - or gives this film a reasonably priced release in the UK - it's wait and see...
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2000
From having the original on a rental video, the DVD version of this film is unbeleivable. The digital transfer is excellent, colours are more vibrant and alive, and the added bonus of the extras makes this DVD worth every penny. Set between the corrupt city of LA and the Mexican jungle of Chichen Itza, this story has everything. Terry Brogan (Jeff Bridges) sets out unwittingly to find Jessie Wyler (Rachel Ward), the runaway girlfriend of his old friend Jake Wise (James Woods). After tracing her to a Mexican island, he soon finds himself falling in love with her. They continue the affair trying to hide, travelling around Mexico, but when Jake sends down corrupted football coach Hank Sully (Alex Karras),to find them, things go drastically wrong for Terry when Jessie splits the scene. Returning back to LA alone, Terry has to face the wrath of Jake. Loosely based on the 1947 film 'Out of the Past' this film sees the return of Jane Greer who, in the original played the Femme fatale, is now playing Jessie Wylers mother. The deleted scene menu is a treat. And the commentaries are a privlleged insight to the directors and actors thoughts 16 years on. Throw in 2 music videos a fantastic car chase and a web of corruption, this is one DVD not to miss.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 September 2013
When I first watched this I was a bit confused as to what the whole film was about. It didn't fully grab my attention and so I must have glazed over on a few key scenes. I didn't have the first clue about American Football or the gambling scene, but at the same time I was captivated by the scenery, the car race, the music and the characters.

A few years later I saw the DVD and I had a longing to watch it again. The second time around I started to understand the characters; the corruption and the plot made a lot more sense. It was like I was watching the film anew. I knew what was coming, but I was still intrigued as to the plot:

Terry Brogan (Jeff Bridges) is a football star close to the end of his career and with injuries that are not eligible for paying him off. He has been taken advantage of for the whole of his career but was too short sighted to see it. Facing financial difficulties and a threat of losing his job he is tasked by his old friend and night club owner, Jake Wise (James Woods) to find Jessie Wyler (Rachael Ward). Jessie is on the run from Jake due to his stifling hold on her and the equally strong grip of her wealthy property developer parents (Jane Greer and Richard Widmark).

Terry sets off to the Caribbean and finds Jessie, but he falls in love with her. A cat and mouse game develops with Jake and eventually they are forced to return to LA. But the problems are only just beginning for Terry. The love tryst has upset the apple cart to a much bigger problem of match fixing and the blackmailing of the fixers and gamblers that are used to grease the wheels of property development in LA. Those you think have the power are themselves puppets for others and there are a few twists to the story.

I have now watched this film several times and it is one of the few that I would consider buying again if it ever came out on Blu-ray in the UK (why they region lock older films is beyond me). The Latin America and Caribbean scenes are vibrant and you can feel the lure and warmth of these locations. The night club scene replicates the air of the "invite only" exclusivity. It puts you in the heart of the club giving you the impression that you are a name on the guest list. The locations around Los Angeles leave you with a longing to visit the city and it certainly inspired my visit there a few years back. When I went up into some of the mountain locations I had a sense that I was stepping onto the set.

The film isn't built around technology, fashion or special effects that have a 'watch by' date. It is a timeless film with back stabbing and greed, the kind of wheeling and dealing that never goes out of fashion. In fact you could change the cast for others with equal qualities, keep the script and locations and it would still make a good film today.

Against all odds takes a little getting used to, but it is a film to watch again and again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I have always loved this film and finally came across it on Amazon whilst looking at other titles. Adventurous yet intimate well worth watching.

Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 September 2011
Expert opinion says that since the advent of color film, a good contemporary noir film is an L.A. noir film; that seems to be largely so, except then you've got "Body Heat," set in Florida. Be that as it may, "Against All Odds" is an LA noir film: it profits from the unique atmosphere of Los Angeles, the sinister corruption behind the sunny smile; the reality of arid desert behind the wastefully-watered green lawn. And most particularly, the parched, penned-up ill-respected Los Angeles River that features in Roman Polansky's mythic "Chinatown, and "in "The Narrows," one of Michael Connelly's recent books. The river also, of course, features in that well-known teenage film noir,"Grease," in which John Travolta and his all-singing, all-dancing fool friends stage their drag race in the river's concreted bed, graced by only the merest trickle of water. The Los Angeles River: Ignored until it rampages.

"Against All Odds" is a loose 1980's remake of Robert Mitchum's film noir, "Out of the Past." Jane Greer. femme fatale of the earlier film, plays mother to Rachel Ward, this film's femme fatale. Richard Widmark, important player in many earlier films noir, is on hand here too, in a small but critically important part. The plot is set in motion when Jake Wise,(James Woods), well-connected nightclub owner and man of many parts, sets his old friend, used-up former pro football player Terry Brogan (Jeff Bridges), to find and return his runaway girlfriend Jessie Wyler (Rachel Ward), hiding somewhere in Mexico.

For starters, Mexico, Bridges and Ward have never looked hotter, the Ward-Bridges sex scenes are too darn hot, and the seemingly mandatory confusing LA real estate corruption subplot doesn't stop the main story line cold too often. The film was ably directed by Taylor Hackford, and the three principals carry their roles. There's also a flavorful supporting cast: Swoosie Kurtz, Saul Rubinek, Alex Karras, Dorian Harewood. "Against All Odds" is a bit dated, stuck in the '80's, and it's not the greatest noir story ever told, but it offers a lot of visual heat. It also delivers on the emotional heat meter, at least to me: true to noir conventions, nobody gets what they want, surely not Terry Brogan, who realizes, belatedly, that Jessie Wyler is literally too hot for him to handle,and he's going to have to leave her to her rich, powerful mother. Yes, it's been done before, possibly better, but "Against All Odds" stands and delivers on its own, and is worth a look-see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
Just an excellent watch, and people who order the wrong region coding, you should not be reviewing this film and giving it a one star rating. It dosen't deserve to be rated on one star just because of your inability to read carefully before ordering. Its supposed to be a revue of the film, fine if you don't like it, then give it one star. For people who want to know about the film, read wiki or something simalar. But from my perspective I had this on VHS and wanted to add it to my DVD collection. Its a fantasic, captivating watch, with some nice locations thown in. A good storyline that will hold your attention for the whole film. Good perfomances all round.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Superb film with one of my favourite songs as the title track played @ the end. Despite it's ages it hasn't dated at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Loved this film have seen on TV but wanted to watch again so now on dvd can watch when ever I want
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Brillant old classic film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)