Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2004
With 21 tracks the British version of Radio Sunnydale certainly caught my eye as value for money. Even more impressively, there seem to be only a few unfeatured tracks which nevertheless fit in with the general mood of the album.
Dandy Warhols is certainly the most Pop of the tracks, but the remainder of the tracks featured on the show take you right back to the dark rocky underworld of Buffy (Episode 1 of season 1's "Ballad for Dead Friends" by Dashboard Prophets is almost anthemic for the whole series, while "Black Cat Bone" by Laika takes you on Willow's magic acid trip.)
As well as some upbeat songs from Bronze scenes, there's plenty of beautiful and haunting music: "I can't take my Eyes off you" was beautiful at the end of 'Family' as Tara and Willow floated, and joss Whedon and Angie Hart(she of 'splendid' who's track 'Charge' was on The Album) worked togther to create 'Blue' for 'Conversations with Dead People'.
Perhaps my two favourite features of the album though is firstly, the inclusion of Cibo Matto's "Sugar Water" sorely missed from the first album, so impressive was it in Buffy and Xander's dance from season 2's "When she was bad."
Secondly, in addition to Christophe Beck's quirky instrumental "Dead Guys with Bombs", the penultimate track is the rousing and powerful orginal score "The Final Fight" from Chosen.
Submerge yourself in the angst, the beauty and the kick-ass attitude of Buffy right through the seven seasons.
I've had it on repeat all week ;-)
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
Radio Sunnydale is a must have for all die-hard BtVS fans everywhere. A mixture of sweet, soft music coupled with head-banging rock captures the mood of the show beautifully. The album takes you on an emotional rollercoaster ride just like the show did.
Many of the songs you will recognise immediately like the moody Blue by Angie Hart and the gentle I Can't Take My Eyes Off You by Melanie Doane along with Halo Friendlies rock song, Run Away and Cibo Matto's Sugar Water. You can't help but re-live the moments from the episodes these songs are from and recall both good and bad memories. As you listen to the words of all the songs, you will come to appreciate how fitting they are especially Key by Devics and Ballad For Dead Friends by Dashboard Prophets and in turn realise what a powerful tool music was in the making of the show.
To top this album off perfectly, there is the very moving score music from Chosen, the final ever Buffy episode. It will have all BtVS fans crying - trust me.
This soundtrack is a trip down memory lane and although fans everywhere are still saddened by the shows demise, this album will fill a gap and soften the blow. It's a wonderful tribute to a series that changed television as well as being a reminder that the party is over but the legend lives on.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
Completing the 'Buffy' soundtrack trilogy (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Once more with feeling and this one) it is a must for any Buffy fan - or, indeed, any indie/alternative/soft rock music fan. The thing about the first and this third soundtrack is that it has something for everyone. I should especially point out that Pavlov's Bell by the enigmatic Aimee Mann should not be missed, along with Melanie Doane's I Can't Take My Eyes Off You. Those fans of the show will know that the music featured here is from seasons 5-7, and will know that the music is very cleverly picked so that key moments from those seasons are included.
In short? Buffy fan or no, this CD is brilliant.
On another note, Buffy fans beware. The UK version is much more better than the import version. The US version has 12 songs on it compared to this 21. For once, the Uk comes up trumps.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2003
As a fan of Buffy over the years, it was really sad to see the end of the show. But, with such great soundtracks as this one and the previous two, we wont forget the great memories in a hurry! Most of these songs bring back distinct scenes from the show, especially tracks 'That kind of love' and 'I cant take my eyes off you'. As a fan of Willow and Tara, these songs make my tummy go all flippy ;0) (they played in 'family' and 'entropy' respectively).
So all in all, my message is- if you're a fan, buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2003
This is the new long anticipated album from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, after the first album which covered seasons 1-4, and the second being the Once More With Feeling soundtrack, this covers seasons 5-7 of the show, also with a few extras from seasons 1 and 2! This album is a must have for all Buffy fans!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
A great collection of tracks from the show! The bonus is that the European version features some extra tracks that the North American release doesn't.
This CD is a great way of throwing yourself back to the nostalgia of watching Buffy. Close your eyes and imagine your sitting in the Bronze next to Buffy, Willow and Xander.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
I thought this album was great. I love the music on it as it is so different from the music avaliable in Britain. I love the song 'Blue' by Angie Hart- as i couldn't get the song out of my head when i heard it on the show.I also like Cibo Matto's 'Sugar Water' and Alison Krauss 'This kind of love'. I suggest that anyone who is a huge buffy fan to buy this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
This is the 3rd CD from the Sensational TV show Buffy The Vampire Slayer and about time as well. The 1st CD only covered songs from seasons 1-3. The only downside to this CD is that there is no Michelle Branch on it but with songs from The Dandy Warhols and The main theme from Nerf Hender. This will be an excellent album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2004
The third release from Mutant Enemy, this is a fantastic soundtrack album, that I would have bought anyway, regardless of it having the Slayer's name on it. Some of the tracks on here are really fantastic, but here are the best in order
1. The Final Fight - Robert Duncan
2. Pavlov's Bells - Aimee Mann
3. Blue - Angie Hart
4. Ballad for Dead Friends - Dashboard Prophets
5. I Can't Take my Eyes off you - Melanie Doane
6. Black Cat Bone - Laika
7. Sugar Water - Cibo Matto
8. Bohemian Like You - Dandy Warhols
9. Summerbreeze - Emmilana Torrini
10.Key - devics
Man of the Year and Halo Friendlies are also good as is Patty Medina's Still Life, but I can't get into the offerings from Alison Krauss, Fonda and Lunatic Calm, but otherwise this is an above average and brilliant soundtrack. So buy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2003
here we are again, another Buffy album...a great mix of the sing along and the listen., from the head swinging of the Dandy warhols to the quiet reflection and pain of adult love, alison krauss, aimee mann.
a more mature, powerful and confusing mix of emotions are on display here,(Cibo matto, dashboard prophets) reflecting the challenges of growing up both in and out of love. Really reflects the last 3 seasons only in minature
an excellent album all round, after a few plays you will be buying some of the bands own albums, much as a lot of us did last time!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)