Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
134
4.9 out of 5 stars



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Brilliant product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Incredibly expensive but well worth the money and has revolutionised our cooking. Very versatile and very easy to use. Now to save my pennies for the saucepan set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I use this almost on a daily basis. It is my best buy of the year. Quality excellent, have had another le creuset saucepan for 18 years and it is still going strong so know it will last a lifetime. Although pricey, I got it at good competitive price. I saw Nigel Slater using one on his programme and thought it would be right for my new kitchen....... use it for making stews, sauteing veggies, frying bacon, etc etc. My favourite pan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have both the 26cm and 30 cm shallow casserole dishes. As you would expect from Le Creuset, they are easy to use on both the hob and in the oven (or both, depending on the recipe you use them for). As you would also expect of cast iron (enamelled interior), they are also fairly weighty when full.

The 26cm casserole is just about the right size to comfortably prepare a meal for two without the contents being in danger of spilling out if stirred on the hob. The 30cm is large enough to comfortably hold a meal for four. The 26cm fits nicely inside the 30cm, sitting on the lid of the former and thus the pair do not use up an awful lot of cupboard space, which is always a boon.

Cleaning is a breeze, they come up like new in the dishwasher or when washed by hand.

Mine both had sticky labels on the base; I mention this only because I remembered to remove one but not the second - the smoke alarm and a smell of chemical burning alerted me to my omission when the dish in question was otherwise happily cooking on the hob. Oops! Anyway, even the burnt label came off cleanly, so no harm done.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
I bought this casserole as a present for my wife, who has wanted one since first seeing it in this colour some time ago.
What is there to say about Le Creuset cookware that hasn't been said before?
It is superb, albeit quite heavy, but you can't seriously expect cast iron to be light.
Since getting it my wife has used it frequently, and because it looks so good she takes it straight from the oven to the table, drawing a few admiring comments from our friends and relatives.
If you like it and don't mind paying a premium for top quality cookware, treat yourself and buy one. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2007
...also known as the 'Buffet Casserole', this dish is an old favourite of mine, from Le Creuset.

MATERIAL : CAST IRON with BLACK, PHENOLIC KNOB
COLOUR : VOLCANIC

♦ Maximum Capacity : 3.2L

The shallow but wide base allows even heat distribution/retention, enabling better cooking efficiency at low or medium temperatures and aiding the conservation of energy and lower fuel bills.

Sue Cutts has a chapter dedicated to the use of the 'SHALLOW CASSEROLES' in her book, entitled:
The Cast Iron Way to Cook, and my current favourite is: 'Vegetable Casserole with Crispy Topping', from page 29 - which serves 4-6 as a main course or 6-8 as a starter/side dish.
Simply the perfect dish to brown off under a hot grill.

Suitable for any hob-top or pop it in the oven.
Elegant enough to take directly to the dinner table, especially with the well-designed low lifting handles.

Easy to use and clean by hand, although some soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required to remove the more stubborn baked-on food remains.
Dishwasher safe.

Sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use & care leaflet.

Also available in a smaller and slightly lighter 26cm/2L size.

''' EDIT : 23rd SEPTEMBER 2015 '''

Look out for the SIGNATURE VERSION, with the sparkly STAINLESS STEEL knob, also in a variety of colours/sizes, some of which are currently on special offer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2007
The 30 cm 'SHALLOW CASSEROLE' (aka The 'BUFFET CASSEROLE'), from Le Creuset.

MATERIAL : CAST IRON
COLOUR : CERISE (CREAM interior)
Approximate capacity: 3.2L

An old favourite of mine the shallow wide base allows maximum contact between food and heat and the even heat retention enables cooking efficiency at low or medium temperatures, helping to conserve energy and keep fuel bills lower....particularly important in the current climate!

If you are looking for inspiration, Sue Cutts has a chapter dedicated to the use of the 'SHALLOW CASSEROLES' in her book, entitled: The Cast Iron Way to Cook, and my current favourite is her 'Vegetable Casserole with Crispy Topping', from page 29 - which serves 4-6 as a main course or 6-8 as a starter/side dish.
Simply the perfect dish to brown off under a hot grill.

Suitable for any hob-top or pop it in the oven.
Elegant enough to take directly to the dinner table, especially with the well-designed low lifting handles.

Easy to use and clean by hand, although some soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required to remove the more stubborn baked-on remains.
Dishwasher safe, space permitting!

Sturdily boxed, complete with use and care leaflet.

Currently also available in two smaller sizes:

26 cm/2L  &22 cm/1.4L
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2005
First things first, this thing is BIG. That's why I wanted it, but you have to be sure you have space to keep it as its presence is hard to ignore - especially in orange. Assuming you can accommodate it, everything else you know about enamelled cast iron applies to this too - it's wonderfully effective at retaining and distributing heat when you want to cook gently, less so when you want to up the temperature to sear a steak or a slab of tuna.
The shape deserves some comment too. The short handles get hot and make the pan hard to manipulate on the hob, but conversely help it to work well in the oven, where the cast iron effect really comes into its own. Meanwhile, the gently sloping sides make it very attractive but they rather reduce the flat cooking area at the bottom, making the pan less commodious than it might be. They also make stirring a risotto or a paella a little fiddly as it's too easy to help the rice over the edge of the pan. I use this pan as a complement to a deeper, steep-sided, cast-aluminium sauté pan, which also has the advantage of a long handle. Risotti and stir-fries go in the sauté pan, slow-braised pork chops, boeuf en daube and sausage casserole in the Le Creuset.
In conclusion, this is a specialist piece, not an all-rounder, but it's none the worse for that. If you can justify the space and cost, you'll enjoy using it and be pleased with the results.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
It's a wonderful item to have in your kitchen. I don't know what I would do without it now. I use it for curries, paellas, risotto and numerous casserole dishes. It's great for the family and great for entertaining.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse