Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
40
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2017
Brilliant, took me back to my childhood, one for the Grand kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Childhood, a blast from the past thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Bought for someone else
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
So naughty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Great fun
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2003
a funny and charming film aimed at the younger generation but just as appealing for some if not most of the older community. a brilliant film based on a well written book, it is a must have dvd/ vhs, and it would be a shame to miss out. The life of fungus, a bogeyman from the land beneath the ground, criticising us and our ways just as we criticise theirs (if we believe in them). We are the 'topside', the land above ground, and there is some political satire and misquotes that will have the older generation cackling with glee.
dont miss out on this brilliant offer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This TV series is quite different to the excellent Raymond Briggs book. The book hasn't got a real storyline, being more like an comic strip encyclopedia on the life of Bogeymen (Fungus) and bogeywomen (wife Mildew) and their bogeychildren. The book just charts a day in life of a bogeyman, who it seems, exists merely to torment us 'Drycleaners'. Briggs illustrated study of bogeydom delights in all things revolting, putrid, and lavatorial, and even raises deep questions on the meaning of Bogeydom life. However considering this TV serial has a lot of live action as well as animated bogeys, it works very well on the small screen in terms of visual quality. The only weak aspect is that the storyline is a bit drawn out and there just aren't enough visual and literary gags compared the book, e.g. in the book hidden on Mildrew's bathroom shelf there's 'FemStench' perfume which is real Eau de Toilete (toilet water). This BBC serial seems aimed at an even younger audience than the book, and tells the story of a crisis in the Bogeyman kingdom sparked off by Fungus's 14 year old son Mould's unhealthy obsession with the Drycleaner's way of life.

This TV series runs into three 40 minute episodes, and despite the good actors and visuals it can occasionally drag on a tad, particularly if watched all in one go. So if I had to chose, it would be the original 38 page 1977 Fungus the Bogeyman illustrated [Picture Puffin] book every time. The book's also generally a fair bit cheaper than the DVD and would be great for any kid over 7 - boys might go for it at an earlier age. However once you get to know the book, this TV series becomes far more tolerable, and like the book it's also very kid friendly [U classified, and probably suited to ages 5+, but I'd sit in with sensitive youngsters for the first 30 minutes]. Overall worth viewing for Fungus fans, as it's quite amusing in places, and besides any 'Fungus the Bogeyman' on TV is better than none at all, so 4*.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I found this to be a poor version of the beautiful book. The added plot was dull. I don't know who the target audience was, really. There is little to keep adults entertained. Not much attempt at humour. Such a missed opportunity. PLEASE spend your time and money on the fantastic original book instead. It is so much more entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
My daughter absolutely loves this and she lost her copy so as a surprise I got her another she was over the moon. She is 11 now and still watches it over and over again. Arrived on time and in perfect condition .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here