Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2015
What a Collection of what in my eyes are his best hits was bought up with this, am forty and am lucky to own vinyl by the Legendary John Lennon. Nice to own if a collector, still can't mess with the sound of vinyl but boy what a collection, play and listen no stops just enjoy every track. Awesome Truly!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'John Lennon' rose to fame as one of the founder members of the group we all know as 'The Beatles'
and was one-half of one of the most prolific song-writing partnerships in the history of music.
I, as i suspect many did, saw 'John' as perhaps the 'Rock' side of the Fab-Four's vocals.
Born in October 1940 'John Winston Lennon'
When the Beatles went their separate ways in 1970 'John' carved out both a 'Solo' career and as a lead
in 'The Plastic Ono Band' with wife 'Yoko' who he'd married in 1969.
His first Chart Success away from the 'Beatles' came in 1969 with the protest song 'Give Peace A Chance'
sung with the 'Plastic Ono Band' which charted at Number '2' here in the U.K.
His first 'Solo' hit was 'Mind Games' in 1973, he'd already Charted on five occasions with his and 'Yoko's'
group by then.
This album contains many of both his Solo success and that of his 'Plastic Ono' hit recordings.
Included on the album the song he'd penned that became a smash-hit for 'Bryan Ferry and Roxy Music' -
'Jealous Guy' (John's version did enter the chart at a lowly '65' around five years after his death.
Among the memorable tracks on-board (with the 'Plastic Ono Band) 'Instant Karma' (Chart '5' 1970' -
'Power To The People' (Chart '7' 1971) 'Happy Christmas' (War is Over) (Chart '4' 1972) a song that
seems to return to our charts most years since.
Among his Solo successes on-board - '#9 Dream' (Chart '23' 1975) 'Stand By Me' (Chart '30' also 1975)
'Imagine' (Chart '6' again 1975) shortly before his tragic death - '(Just Like) Starting Over' (Chart '1 1980)
reaching the Top-Spot after the news of the tragedy, after - 'Woman' (Chart '1' 1981) followed by many
of his earlier hits re-charting including his great track 'Imagine' this time achieving the Top-Slot as of
course it should of first time around.
Many of his songs have returned to the charts since he was mindlessly gunned down on the streets of
New York 8th December 1980.....the shock-waves following the incident left tens of thousands of fans
deeply saddened and in disbelief a feeling a dear friend had been taken away.
His Music of course remains in our hearts forever...........he was indeed one of music's greats.
This album remains a great example of 'John's' best remembered songs recorded as a Solo artist and with
'The Plastic Ono Band'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 May 2016
This is a compilation album of songs by John Lennon. It was released in 1997, and sought to offer a selection of Lennon's 'best' tracks. While there had been earlier collections of his music (e.g. 'Shaved Fish'), this was the first compilation to take into account songs that had been issued after Lennon's death. There are 20 tracks featured on this album - and they reflect Lennon's 'solo' career, from 1969/70 to 1980/84. All the major hits are included (e.g. 'Imagine', 'Woman', 'Instant Karma', 'Power to the People') as well as several less well know songs from studio albums. As such, this album represents a good overview of Lennon's music.

A more recent 'definitive collection' of Lennon songs has been released - titled "Working Class Hero" - which is a double CD, featuring 38 tracks. As it costs a similar price to this album, I suggest that anyone interested in buying a 'best of' John Lennon take a look at that other item. The fact is, Lennon released 7 studio albums during his solo career, and several others - featuring previously unreleased material - have been issued since 1980. As such, a selection of just 20 songs does not adequately reflect Lennon's output (hence I've only given this item 4 stars). Personally, I recommend the alternative "Working Class Hero" double CD set. Nonetheless, "Lennon Legend" is a good album - and will satisfy many.

Just to say, a tie-in DVD was also issued as part of the 'Lennon Legend' project - featuring 20 music videos, as well as documentary material. If you're a Lennon fan, I recommend the DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2004
In this excellent collection, which mostly picks itself from his reasonably large back catalogue, you get the representation of one of the greatest songwriters the world has ever seen. And do not mistake, above all his political views, his humour and the way he lives his life, it is his music that matters. And the things that mattered to him are, I expect, brought to light here. My personal favourites are Mind Games, (Just Like) Starting Over, Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) [mainly for that brilliant line 'life is what happens while you're busy making other plans'] and the growling Working Class Hero. Looking down the tracklist you'll recognize other names, and when you hear it, you'll recognize more. You can also hear echoes of the songs here throughout the last 20 years of popular music.
And as for the other reviewer's pathetically unoriginal sentiments about Yoko Ono, she was probably as important to Lennon's music after the Beatles as McCartney was during The Beatles. And she was far more important in his life.
Whatever you think about Yoko, though, this is a brilliant album full of classics. Anyone would enjoy it. The man was and always will be a legend. His music befits him.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2010
There are a good few collection CDs on offer for this artist, but on balance this is probably the best so far. All the commercial tracks are here, backed up with other popular tracks from past albums.

For the Lennon fans, almost a 'must have'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ultimately, John's reputation rests primarily on the songs he wrote and the music he recorded as a member of the Beatles, but he also recorded some great music after the Beatles split up and this collection includes the best of it.

Of the tracks here, the most famous of all is the truly brilliant song Imagine, but the lyrics demonstrate the difficulty of achieving world peace. John asks us to imagine there's no countries, no religion, no possessions - of course, these are the things that are the cause of all the wars.

There are several other well-known songs here, including Power to the people, Just like starting over, Woman, Give peace a chance (this song was recorded and released as a single while John was still with the Beatles) and the Christmas classic Happy Xmas War is over. All these songs were big hits from John in Britain and elsewhere.

Also included here is John's original version of Jealous guy, a song that he wrote but which eventually became a British number one hit for Bryan Ferry. John showed that he could also record other people's songs - his version of Stand by me (Ben E King's sixties classic) is included here.

Even though the overall standard does not match what he did as a Beatle, there is plenty of great music here - easily enough to justify five stars. All fans of seventies pop and rock should have some of John's solo music and this collection provides all the essentials.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Fantastic collection of John Lennon's best work and a must for any collection.
So many songs are classics and have high replay value. These days too many artists are labelled as legendary but John Lennon deserves this title and his songs have and will stand the test of time.

Personal favorites include: Working Class Hero, Imagine, Jealous Guy, Instant Karma, Woman, Give Peace A Chance and Mother.

But irrespective of my personal favorites it contains classics from start to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 March 2006
It seemed those days would never end. John Lennon was the most idiosyncratic and perhaps the most musically and culturally interesting Beatle, but his solo work quickly showed how much the Beatles were greater than the sum of their parts. His serious creative decline is masked on this collection by presenting the tracks in non-chronological order, but I notice that although he died in 1980, 10 of the 20 tracks here were made between 1969 and 1971. They include the great early singles with the Plastic Ono Band - Give Peace A Chance, Cold Turkey, Instant Karma - but unfortunately without the B-sides that featured Yoko Ono and the Plastic Ono Band, with John Lennon on guitar, and which are mostly unavailable on CD. Move Over Ms L, the uptempo non-album flipside of Stand By Me, is also missed.
Nobody Told Me, a powerful recording from 1980, released posthumously as a single in 1984, reminds us that he lived through the punk era, outliving Marc Bolan, and indicates that he might have been starting to buck the trend of his baking bread years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2004
OK, people... In the reviews posted here, I've seen everything from John being hailed as a saint, all the way down to him being trashed as a materialistic hypocrite. You like him, you hate him, whatever! The fact is, the review you post is supposed to concentrate on the release itself. So, here are my thoughts on this collection. All of his major hits are here. The remastered audio is outstanding, to say the least. I can hear evey single nuance of the music, as if I were present at the original, studio sessions. The only thing I did'nt like, in this respect, is that Yoko's wild, maniacal caterwauling can now be heard loud and clear on the Xmas track. Was that there all the time or is this another one of her ploys to say "Here I am, again folks!"? Anywho, it's a great collection in my book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
This is a brilliant Collection. And I would reccomend it to any one. It has got all the faves like Imagine, Mother, Jealous Guy, Give peace a chance, Woman, Just like starting over, and so many more. You also don't have to buy this cd you can buy the albums. That is what I am thinking of doing. But if you can't take a chance buy this cd Lennon Legend.
If you buy this you will never regret it beacause John Lennon is one of the greatest song writers of all time and he was a member of the Beatles. So if I were you BUY IT.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)