Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
Orchestersuiten 1 - 4
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 2 November 2013
These orchestral suites are for me the best. Marriner plays with perfection and William Bennett is also brilliant with the flute (orchestral suite n°2). I highly recommend this version!
There is only one other version that can compete with this one. It is the version with Karl Münchinger.It is also very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2016
Excellent mid-range recording which invites repeated playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
I played suites 3 and 4 in a concert recently and wanted a high quality recording for my mum. She loved it, and listens to it when she wants to relax on her way back from work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2012
Great Composer, great work , great Orchestra, good quality sound. CDs are for me better than any download, plus at Amazon suppliers second hand / used prices are far better value
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2013
This was a good recording of the 4 orchestral suites to which I enjoy listening. I am familiar with several of the movements (such as "Air on a G String") but also enjoyed several of the others with which I am less familiar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2012
The orchestral suite was a very popular form during the Baroque period. Bach had a great love of this form but sadly only four of his orchestral suites now survive, BWV 1066-1069. This recording by Sir Neville Marriner conducting the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields orchestra is in my opinion the finest recording available. The suites are not played on period instruments that might bother some people but the sound of these 1970 recordings is both vivid and fresh. William Bennett is one of the greatest flautists of his generation and is very well supported by Thurston Dart on the harpsichord. At midprice this cd is a real bargain.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
This playing is great. It is full of energy and precision. Compared to more modern performances on baroque instruments it perhaps sounds a little dated and inflexible. I have always been a great fan of ASMF with Neville Marriner, however, and there is a great deal to enjoy here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2015
Arrived quickly. Fair price. Purchased for the wife. She liked it.
Regards DBS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)