Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15
4.0 out of 5 stars
The Who - The Vegas Job [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ £1.26 shipping


on 28 March 2009
It's seems that this concert is a "return" one.
And that they had not played together for a long time
There are some weaknesses in the singing and sometimes the band seem's to have a hard time keeping it together. Makes them more human.However, I found it a good concert by a great band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
The Who are under-rated both as musicians and Townsend as a writer. Entwhistle on Bass can show many lead guitarists a thing or 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Had already seen this on T.V. so decided to purchase the D.V.D. glad I did,excellent concert!! sound quality good.The Who live are as good if not better,than recordings,Loved this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Entertaining, but not the best from the band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Must for Who fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 July 2017
Filmed in a Las Vegas theatre in October 1999. one of the greatest rock bands the world has ever seen, three of them in their mid-fifties by then, joined by Ringo's lad Zak Starkey acquitting himself well on drums and John 'Rabbit' Bundrick on keyboards, gave a concert that may be a bit dodgy at times ~ a few off harmonies, the odd mistimed vocal entry ~ but, as another reviewer says, it only makes them seem the more human. Besides, they were always one of the grittiest, least 'refined' of British rock bands.
They start strong, with the immortal I Can't Explain, and finish with one of the best rock singles ever made, My Generation {which sounds a tad optimistic coming from a band with receding hairlines and greying beards} and in between are enough classic songs enthusiastically performed ~ and live The Who seldom let anyone down ~ to make this gratifyingly long set a must-have for Who fans.
A surprise highlight is John Entwistle's song My Life, which, despite regrettable vocal shortcomings from both he and Daltrey, packs quite a punch and features bass playing from the Ox that shows why he was one of rock's foremost bassists ~ perhaps rivalled only by the similarly fret-roaming Jack Bruce.
Townsend wrote some of rock's most iconic tracks, from Substitute to 5.15, from Magic Bus to The Kids Are Alright {all included here} with opening chords and riffs that are instantly recognisable, which makes it all the more astonishing that they never had a No 1 hit in the UK; in fact they only ever reached the top spot twice anywhere: in Canada, with Happy Jack and, of all singles, Squeeze Box!
Extra features include interviews with Daltrey and Entwistle, who was sadly to die less than three years later.
This is the seemingly indestructible force of nature that is The Who, near peak form.

Got a feelin' inside
Can't explain . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
My company; Second Coming Productions shot this concert and I directed it. All of the interviews were conducted by me, Mark Haefeli, including the last interview with Entwhislte, the Daltry interview and the fan interviews as well. BILL Curbishley had NO LEGAL rights to any of this material. It was owned by me. I am just finding this out. The company the he hired to edit together my work was a shell company that went out of business and disappeared one month after the video was released! Passport Productions....get it..Passport
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
they should have made the film when the who had done a few more gigs They looked flat and at times not together The who are one of the best live bands in history with there great music will always be played on air I just think it was filmed much to early on the tour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2003
If I had to use one word to describe this DVD of the greatest live rock & roll band ever, it would be historic. This is the first time The Who has played together as a 5 piece rock band since live aid (Daltrey interview). The Dolby 5.1 is excellent, in my opinion, not perfect but a close, close second. The playlist is The Who's best. Visual quality is excellent. The performance is powerful. Consider these guys had not played in this config for over 20 years. That is why is called the reunion. Getting a fact straight - this performance is not John Entwistle's last performance with The Who, he played (brilliantly) on Royal Albert Hall. The Vegas Job is the last recorded concert of The Who as a 5 piece rock band (RAH had special guests).
Enough said,
I highly recommend to any serious fan of The Who and anyone wanting to see a classic rock performance.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
We should never underestimate The Who. They played at Vegas with as much energy on stage as they did in 1970 at The Isle of Wight.
The Who - The Vegas Job is an absolute delight for any Who fan. With Pete's unique gutair and Roger's amazing vocal range, Magic Bus and See me Feel me are their best performances.
We should remember The Who for much more than just My Generation. Although that performace was electric!
Zak Starkey gave a good performace, Keith Moon would have approved.
This was the last performance of The Who with John Entwistle, as always, he played his piece and held his own.
This is a great tribute to The Who.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)