Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2005
"Collections" type albums are always a good place to start when discovering a new artist to oneself and this excellent album featuring songs from 4 of Eliza's solo albums and offerings from Waterson-Carthy albums represents a pretty comprehensive opening into this talented artist.
What makes several of the tracks very nice is that they are medleys, and usually of two songs with complete opposing styles. So for example you'll get "Billy Boy" a rather plodding moody track coupled with "The Widow's Wedding" a rather more upbeat jig altogether. This is mirrored on "Greenwood Laddie" about the nearest thing folk comes to Jazz, with "Mr's Capron's Reel" a bouncing jaunty number.
I find the pacier tracks are where Eliza comes into her own and certainly this is where her fiddling skills are shown to their best. That's not to say she can't play a haunting lament ("Mother Go Make My Bed") but I just enjoy the fun in tracks like "Cold Wet & Rainy Night" and "The Light Dragoon"
If you buy and like this then I'll definitely predict you'll be after one of her studio albums soon.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Although it is about 10 years old, this CD is full of excellent tracks and an often contemporary sound. Eliza is one of those artists who have paved the way for the current revival in English folk music and, from this collection, it's easy to tell why.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
This CD is fantastic. The modern arrangements of the old tunes are really great.

I have played it again and again!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2006
1) She's part of folk royalty (if you didn't know) - her dad is Martin Carthy, her mum is Norma Waterson (both legends in their own right), her aunt and uncle are Lal and Mike Waterson and Oliver Knight is her cousin!

2) She can't half play the fiddle.

3) She has one of the most beautiful voices you'll ever hear, and she can really sing, I mean, really. I saw her live and the first song she did accapella... gobsmacking. And she's from Yorkshire! What more do you want?!

4)Her versatilty. Some of her songs are thigh-slappingly folktastic but then you get songs like Stumbling On, which is more or less jazz, or Billy Boy, which starts of sounding almost like dub reggae, goes folky and then has a Santana-ish guitar solo. And it's not just genre that changes: if Ms Capromn's Reel doesn't make you want to dance, you're daft, and then Diego's Bold Shore is guaranteed to give you shivers down your spine at the beauty of it. This album is a good introduction to the brilliantly talented Ms Carthy, and is a good starting point for people getting into folk in general as it is definately folk but not too comically 'hey-nonny -no', if you see what I mean.

5) Oh yeah, fifth reason: she's absolutely gorgeous.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
CD well packed, reasonably priced. Great CD collection enjoyed it some classic songs from this well
known folk artist.
Came very quickly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Wonderful voice...thank you x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
The music is good but the CD I received is faulty and now I have hassle of returning etc.and am too busy. Would not use skyvo-direct which was fulfilled by Amazon. You may expect faulty if not new -this was sold as brand new!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Decent folk album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Not really my taste but I like trying new things and glad I gave it a go but will probably collect dust for some time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.17
£7.07

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)