Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 22 March 2018
Still a great read, even though this book was written more than 50 years ago, as long ago as 1965. The book covers the interwar years, from 1914 to 1945 and gives an account of the political and economic, as well as the social and cultural climate of the times. This is a very good history book and I learned a great deal from it. I would recommend this book to others. I hope you find my review helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2016
I am patiently rebuilding my collection of the Oxford Histories, so this is a welcome addition. I use them more for reference than to read cover-to-cover, and although History is constantly under review, these books are authoritative, although the period 1914-1919 , particularly the conduct of the Great War, have been heavily re-evaluated in the past few years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2015
Intensely detailed, well researched, as one would expect from one of this country's leading historians. The ultimate handbook for the degree level history student, it covers every facet of the period from the start of the First World War to the end of the Second World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
An excellent historical analysis written in a reader friendly fashion. My husband has often spoken of this book so I decided he should have his own copy and he is delighted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2015
Very good reading like all of his work, probably less controversial than his Origins of the 2nd World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
Too detailed. I made a mistake to buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2012
I recently re-read this book by Taylor (my copy dates from it's original publication). It's an enormous canvas and Taylor does a masterful job of synthesising his huge amount of material with which he was clearly very familiar. Inevitably the book contains some fairly broad views with some of which it's possible to take issue, but overall his version of events and the judgments he arrives at remain valid in most cases. This is true although much new material has become available since the book was originally published. Although a left leaning historian he's very fair to some of the traditional bogeymen of the left like Baldwin and doesn't acquit the British Labor party of responsibility for their part in the appeasement policies of the thirties. His hero's are Lloyd George and Churchill (although he doesn't omit the warts). Who could disagree. And of course it's beautifully written and therefore a pleasure to read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 1999
An in depth description of England at this time that provides the reader with plenty to think about. Taylor's commentary leaves the reader in no doubt as to his personal views on events at this time. Although the book is about England in this period, England's relations with Ireland are outlined but there is a dearth of Welsh references, in particular, the severity of the Depression in Wales in the 30's. Overall, a good, detailed text that historians of this period enjoy reading despite its traditional approaches.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2010
This is the only work I've read by Taylor and it is readily apparent why he was a controversial historian. His witty, and often snide comments, on politicians, many hidden away in the bibliography, reveal his sympathies and sycophancies.

Taylor was plainly writing without the benefit of all the source material we know have available and his partisanship strains the value of this work. (Even though I might share much of it.) I suspect there are now better histories of this period.

As mentioned by another reviewer the work is very readable.

I should add that this volume completed my reading of the full set of the Oxford History of England. Highlights were the first volume on Roman Britain by Salway and the very informative and lively penultimate volume from 1870-1914 by Ensor. Many of the volumes were good, the Middle Ages were direly treated though by authors fascinated in taxation systems, but unwilling to explain them. On to the New Oxford History once it is completed then!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)