Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2003
after buying this album today and listening to it after the new muse CD, i was surprised at how good it sounded after an epic cd like Absolution. it could be compared to a poppier version of the pixies, but the thing that struck me most about it was the the singer sounded alot like the Bluetones singer... not a very good thing for a revolutionist. but "... and they obey" "billboard beauty" and "one way mirror" are outstanding tracks, and the album races along with an anger.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
What can I say except that it is a brilliant debut album - some well thought out lyrics that are pure genius, which hit out on society and the way we live our lives and the band sound great to! My fave songs has to be 'everything destroys itself' or 'a generation devoid of inspiration'.This is a must buy album for any rock lover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
I was bought this album over Christmas by my best friend, and I have to admit, the first time I listened to 'Handshakes for Bullets' I thought it was lacking in the qualities of a superb album.
However, this is truly a perfect example of an album that grows on you. Once you're over the initial shock of the singers somewhat unconventional vocals and the broadly political lyrics, there lies a very competent and interesting debut.
Highlights include 'Civilised Fury' 'Conveyer Belt Destruction' and 'Forever Reeling', yet all of the songs, as a whole, are very listenable and quite catchy it has to be said.
Definately an interesting addition to anyone's CD collection, and worth getting if you dont mind experimenting with a currently un-named genre of music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2003
Having seen this band live, i'd just like to say that here we have one of the future bands to look for inspiration in. Of course, weve heard the manics comparisons, which are justified, but the energy and excitement generated by this new band are just unbelievable, they roar with a passion well beyond their years. Suprisingly also, they care about their lyrics, which is quite odd for a new band nowadays. So if you like your proto-punk manics/muse bands politically charged and brimming with enegy you'd do yourself no harm in checking kinesis out. :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2003
A decent debut album from a promising British rock band. Kinesis are a quiet a young band, between 18 to 20 years old (i think), but they make great energetic rock like they've been doing it for years. Best track for me is definitely '...and they obey', that single gets me jumping and dancing around my room whever its on.
'Handshakes for Bullets' is worth getting if your a fan of UK bands like 'Biffy Clyro' and 'Hell is for Heros'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2003
kinesis are a fantstic band and this is a great debut album. The best tracks are 'billboard beauty, this dead end, conveyor belt destruction and and they obey' but they are all good. However kinesis are best live so go and see them!
Also 'music fan from swindon' its kinesis not kenesis and those bands you compare them to are some of the best bands ever. no band would enter that category with their debut album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
After seeing Kinesis at a free concert in Stevenson Square in 2004, I was blown away.

Unfortunately they disbanded after a while but they're an amazing British band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
I've heard the comparisons to the Manic St. Preachers for months and having heard their first 3 singles i was struggling to see the connection. Having listen to this rather excellent album i still fail to see the connection in terms of the music but i am now convinced that the lyrical content is vaguely reminscient of early Manics. Now, with the inevitable comparison out of the way, what of the album? Well the singles are still the strong point of the album with 'And they obey' and 'Billboard Beauty' undoubted highlights but 'civilised fury' rocks along in a Feeder-esque style with added balls and strings. In fact, with the exception of the slightly weak 'bloodstained lips' and 'average american corpse' the album is devoid of poor songs, which is unusual for a debut. Such is the coherence and punky nature of the album that Kinesis deserve some recognition away from the students they are bound to attract. An excellent album, one of the best British albums of the year so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
This is quite possibly one of the best albums I've ever heard and I've no idea how this band is not any bigger than it is. There isn't a bad song on the album. Magnificent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2003
Following in a rich stream of precursors, including the Clash, Smiths and Manic Street Preachers, Kenesis appear to have a lot to live up to. However, unlike the afformentioned bands, who, in their times, were revolutionary, groundbreaking and became the apotheosis of their respective generations, Kinesis spew and stutter their post-pubescent anti-establishment lyrics in comparative vain. They lack the inginuity of The Clash, the irony and imagination of The Smiths, and the rhetoric of The Manics. But like The Clash, born out of the fiery slums of Brixton, embodying working class spirit, The Smiths, with Morrisey's poetical insight sneering at the 80's Madchester scene, and The Manic's, children of the New Right, of workers suffering under Conservatism, epitomised by the miner's strike, Kinesis, too, are symbolic of their fragmented, limp generation, where de-contextualised information plays paramount and television is the cultural stimulant. They are not children of the revolution. Their lyrics, as uncreative, bland, and futile as the generation that spawned them, seem, in the end, somewhat pretentious. Revealed for what they truly are, 17 year olds hiding behind new editions of Naomi Klein, George Orwell and Douglas Coupland, they give voice to no one, represent nothing, say nothing new.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)