Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2016
Some revisited tracks but remastered. Sound quality even better. Different compilation of tracks with some not known (to me) Terrific!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2006
Had never come across Beth Orton until I heard the soundtrack of Monster. I wish I had listened to her earlier as she is fabulous. One of the best Cd's I have bought recently can't fault it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2007
I bought this album having heard - and liked - a remix of one of Beth Orton's songs (She Cries your name) and it has not disappointed. The first cd includes her more well known songs and introduces you to her haunting and captivatingly plaintive style.

The second cd in the set includes remixes and collaborations with other artists including Terry Callier and The Chemical Brothers and shows how her voice and songs lend themselves to really exciting production and a very wide range of styles.

If you are new to Beth Orton then this is a great introduction. Existing fans will also enjoy the diversity this album offers and I for one have not been disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Some might find this album a tad gloomy but it is beautifully sung with feeling. The background instruments, particularly the acoustic guitar, complement the songs perfectly. This album is in fact a compilation of best songs from Beth's first three albums so represents good value for money. I bought the album for an introduction to Beth Orton's music. Definitely recommended that you buy this album - you will find the songs grow on you as you hear the subtle background sounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2003
Athough I like this album (because I like Beth Orton) I believe that it is mainly a marketing ploy by the record label. I mean how can you possibly release what is a glorified 'best of' album when you've only got three albums plus a couple of colaborations under your belt? I just feel it is stretching it a bit to put the majority of your tracks from your previous albums onto one cd. Fortunately, the 2nd cd helps to rectify the situation slightly by including some of Orton's more limited-released work. My advice is to only buy this is you haven't got any of her stuff already - even owning one of her albums doesn't really make it worthwhile to buy this - you'd be better off buying her previous albums instead.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
This is a great collection for anyone who missed Beth Orton's earlier albums and unlike most best of album's it does contain a few tracks mostly on the second CD that you probably won't have got hold of before.
I give it 5 stars for the quality of the tracks on both CD's but it's not such a great purchase if you already own her three studio albums. But let's face it who buys best of albums (which are all marketing exercises if you ask me) expecting them to be filled with brand new material?
The rare stuff is good and worth having so you pays your money and takes your choice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Comprehensive collection of Beth Orton's work. Well crafted songs delivered in style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
This is a great collection of Beth Ortons work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
if like me your a casual fan then this is a decent enough collection of her work with some extra stuff thrown in. Not every track is to my taste but it's still worth investing in as there is some great stuff on here and therefore good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
In response to emryall above - three albums is the typical marker to release a "best of", it's pretty much a standard thing all across the industry. The fact she's also worked on half a dozen other albums too, of which some tracks are included, makes this a great purchase. Don't forget, too, that it includes a couple of tracks from her very first album, which was never released in the UK.
Beth sings with passion in every track. I remember the Trailer Park cd having the labels name across it - "heavenly". I think they should have this on ALL her releases!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)