Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
74
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
There simply is no such thing as a bad Foos album. I suspect they would be incapable of making one.

This is another winner - there are no weak tracks at all. A winner from start to finish.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
First of all I should just say, What a great record! Lovely songs, nice cover, production all super. You should buy it if you want to, I did, if as a gift for a friend of mine, Glusburn O'Shaugnessy, whose birthday it was at the time. 37 he was, and like a good many of his generation a huge Nirvana fan, and thus therefore as a consequence of which (and why in the name of Hambel off Play School is David fruiting Beckenham advertising whisky with some group of supposedly cool dudes like he's some sort of cule dood himself, for goodness?) he followed Dave Grohl's career, and thus was happy (relatively speaking) when I gived him this. Unfortunately he was killed by some sort of sausage dog the very next evening and his mother, Jume, gived me the CD back when sorting through his gear like, so while not win-win situation not exaply all bad is it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2004
It's hard to believe that Dave Grohl pieced this entire album together by himself, before he had a band to speak of. Despite being bettered by the Foo Fighters follow-up album, The Colour and the Shape, their self-titled effort remains one of the best rock albums of the 90's and a fine fairwell to the glory days of grunge.
The album starts off wonderfully with their three singles, the wonderful debut single This Is A Call, the Courtney Love-inspired hate ballad I'll Stick Around and the wonderfully charming parody Big Me. No doubt you will have heard one or more of these hits before.
From then on the album goes from strength to strength. There are very catchy and original tunes hidden within the Foo Fighters self-titled album, most of which surpass the single choices. From the brilliant Alone + Easy Target (of which Kurt Cobain wanted to turn into a Nirvana song at one point) and dream-laden Floaty to the cult classic For All The Cows, ranging from a gentle melody to a grungy explosion mid-way through, and the fast, rocky number by the name of Good Greif. Not to mention Weenie Beenie, Grohl's attempt at a truly hardcore rock track.
There are a couple of dull moments here and there. Grohl's tribute to George Harrison (Oh, George), while it certainly has that familiar hook, seems to trail off into nothing and leaves no lasting impression, and while X-Static is certainly a solid track, lacks a chorus that'll have you humming for days to come like the rest of the Foos tracks.
The best is saved for last, though, with two closing tracks turning out to be the strongest on the entire album. Wattershed is an explosion of fast punk-grunge for a solid 2 minutes, and in complete contrast the beautiful melancholy of Exhuasted will linger in your mind long after the album has faded out.
Anyone who's interested in the Foo Fighters should purchase this straight away. It may not be quite up to the heights of The Colour and the Shape, but it's a definative moment in 90's rock that should be in everyone's collection.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Firstly i'm going to say that this is my favourite Foo Fighters album, bar none. Maybe it was down to the fact that after the suicide of Kurt Cobain nobody could seriously say that they were looking towards Dave Grohl to fill the void, which is of course exactly what he did. Yes, there was an element of surprise when it first came out, but who knew that Dave Grohl could actually write songs this good? Who knew that he had this voice? Without the pressure of expectation, and left alone to make the music he wanted to make, he created a stunning debut album . Amazing opener 'This Is A Call', 'I'll Stick Around', 'Big Me' and 'Alone+Easy Target' are all great songs, and make for a record of some charm. Of course, emotions ran high on its release, he was after all Nirvana's drummer, but it wasn't out of some misplaced sympathy that Foo Fighters was a success. This album is Dave Grohl at his most honest, where i can't help but feel that every album since has become predictable and somewhat formulaic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
This album is an essential addition to anybody's Rock collection.

Word of caution: (Anybody who has this album will know this) If you buy this album and are appaled by the sound quality, do not panic; the album is supposed to sound 'shabby', if I needed a word. Basically, this album is a Dave Grohl solo project and he is working under the title of Foo Fighters. The album sounds shabby because it is basically an album of 'demo tape style' recordings... and is supposed to sound that way. Overall though, it isn't a big issue; the album is brilliant and hosts some amazing songs.

For me, the best tracks are the first 7 tracks on this album (my favourite, overall, is 'I'll Stick Around'). You simply have to admire that this is Dave Grohl... on his own, playing all instruments... genius!!!

Happy Listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2001
When this album was released in 1995 the grunge world was still in mourning of its hero, Kurt Cobain. Surprisingly this album was released to relatively little fanfare - unfortunately many people were too quick to slate Grohl for not continuing the Nirvana legacy. He totally did the right thing in not doing so, because no matter how brilliant the grunge songs he could have written, he would have been vilified for copying Kurt. I've always felt that Nirvana were slightly overrated. Mike Patton reflects in the Faith No More track "Star AD" that "when you die, you become something worse than dead...you become a legend." That is how Nirvana's music will sadly be remembered, they have been propelled to god like status when all they wanted was to give the world some decent rock music. This is Grohl's intention also. Certainly poppier than Nirvana, but "Foo Fighters" is an excellent debut. "This Is A Call" reached No.5 in the UK chart when it was released; I imagine this was a posthumous response to Nirvana's demise. This is unfair, as the song is an absolute belter with an instantly memorable hook. "Alone & Easy Target" and "Weenie Beenie" are two energetic blasts of punk. The rest of the album is a slow-burner although the bouncy "Big Me" is instantly likeable. This isn't to say it is a bad album at all, far from it. In fact, this is the kind of album that you really will listen to again and again. My favourite tracks are "Floaty" and its stuttering, repetitive refrain, "For All The Cows" acoustic/electric build up, "X-Static"'s steady monotone, or the final track, "Exhausted", not instantly memorable but a real grower. After this album Grohl went in a far more poppier direction - "The Colour & The Shape" is full of classic nuggets of power-pop, whilst the gentler "There Is Nothing Left To Lose" sounds not unlike Pearl Jam. But "Foo Fighters" is the sound of Grohl making his own mark on music. Underrated as it is superb. I haven't mentioned "I'll Stick Around" up until now, because of its obvious grunge sound. Make your own opinions.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2005
Released the year after Kurt Cobain's suicide, Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl stepped up to the plate with his debut (commercial) release as a frontman. Expectations must have been high, but he delivered in a big way.
"Foo Fighters" is a showcase of Dave Grohl's talent; not only are *all* of the songs brilliant, so is the musicianship. What makes this even more impressive is the fact that Grohl played all of the instruments himself. This was before the Foo Fighters existed as a full band. I'm assuming he wanted to make sure everything was done "right", and being perfectly capable, decided to do the whole thing himself. His vocals are excellent, and as always, the hard-hitting drum parts are brilliant.
Although the album doesn't really sound anything like Nirvana, it still has a "grunge" feel to it, but the edge is certainly rock. As a songwriter, Grohl had it nailed; brilliantly commercial songs such as "This is a Call" and "I'll Stick Around", the 60s pop-remeniscent "Big Me", then leaning slightly closer towards grunge (but with new chord patterns) with tracks like "Alone + Easy Target".
The album isn't quite as commercial as subsequent Foo Fighters releases, but is definitely as accessible. The only gripe I have with the album is the fairly poor production. With slightly crisper production, I wouldn't have any gripes at all. Overall, one of the best CDs in my collection.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I loved Nirvana and enjoy a lot of the Foo Fighters material. In my opinion the Foo Fighters, despite being an amazing band (especially live) have never topped this debut album. I always judge an album as a whole rather than just for one or two great songs, and this album certainly is packed with quality. The only other album that tops this is Appetite For Destruction for maintained quality throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)