Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 27 April 2013
As Amazon is still mixing up reviews between different DVD version, I must point out that this review concerns the EI Entertainment-Legend DVD version. This film figured in our family history, so has some sentimental value for me. I saw this on the original release, and had a B/W 8mm copy that the kids enjoyed. It is certainly old fashioned with some awful singing and dancing routines, which somehow give it the appeal of an old pantomime. As with most of it's DVD's the Legend version of this title surpasses all others I have seen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2016
three stars because it took me back to a time when I enjoyed this film unfortunately it is one of the worst abbot and Costello films made.
five stars for the delivery and condition of product, will buy from this comp again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Very happy with the product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2010
I love Abbott and Costello. I bought this film for my 4 year old nephew and he loved it. He didn't understand the start and end, which were real life going into a dream, but loved the Jack and the beanstalk bits. For me, I felt there was too much singing and bad singing at that. Still it didn't spoil the film and I would recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2010
Abott and Costello - a musical pantomime! The old jokes are the best? It is an amusing fairy tale. The special effect look very dated now but that's only to be expected. As you might expect Bud Abbott and Lou Costello play it for laughs and don't take it too seriously. The kids enjoyed it and so did I.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2013
The recording was terrible. The speaking didn't match the opening of their mouths. Very disappointed in my childhoods favourite film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2012
5 star copy. Good color, including the sepia sections at either end of the film, Sound quality is of it's time, mono. The film features a lean toward solo characters for Bud Abbott & Lou Costello and less of the usual knock-a-bout between them. Good songs, regular story, a nice item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
Good value
Sound and picture quality above my expectations.

This is a old film but still great viewing will watch over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2009
Jack and the Beanstalk 1952.
Abbott and Costello were filmed in very early colour , some scenes even looked blurred however this is the new up to date remastered colour reprinted version.New computer colour dubbed over old colour and looks better than ever.
It looks so good that its almost as if it was made today instead of yester year.
This is the best it has ever looked and even the black & white has been improved.
The film begins in black & white then it goes into colour and then it ends
in black & white.
The black & white in this new reprint has been made brighter and clearer thanks to computer remastering. This disc is playable world wide.
However I also like watching it in its original print as well ,the reason being that on the master tape used in this remastered version one scene of the giant's house keeper is missing. That scene still remains on the Stonevision master tape of the film. In its original print on the Stonevision dvd release. Thats why sometimes its helps to own more than one copy so that you can still see that scene. On the Stonevision master tape one scene of Jack is missing, that scene still remains on this remastered reprint on this dvd. Same film two different master tapes. With rare films like these different dvd copies can be taken from different master tapes with different damage in different places. With most old rare films you never know how many different master tapes still remain to this day . That is why it helps to own it again on a dvd with 3 films on one disc. Or on a 3 disc set with 10 films on one box set on different companies releases.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse