Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
108
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2004
Hold on now children. Sure, the Elton John songs are great. In particular, ‘Circle of Life’ (as heard in the film) sticks in the mind, as an irresistible blend of contemporary Western song writing with glorious African vocals. That spectacular opening zoom up to the head of Pride Rock as it hits the chorus (you know the bit) is a movie image that will probably never leave me, and its awesome impact owes BIG TIME to Elton’s songwriting talent. The quirky ‘Hakuna Matata’ and his likeable pop ballad version of ‘Can You Feel The Love Tonight?’ are also definite high points of the album.
But hang on. We cannot speak of this soundtrack without mentioning the efforts of a certain Mr Hans Zimmer! (The previous user comment seemed to imply that Elton John also composed the orchestral cues – boy, did he get HIS lions crossed!)
The orchestral score aspect of ‘The Lion King’ is epic and beautiful, and simply WORKS, because it never allows itself to admit that all we’re really dealing with here is a few thousand cute animal drawings. Zimmer unashamedly approaches the drama and emotional nuances of the story with respect and straight-faced sensitivity; happily, no gawky cartoonish fluttery is anywhere to be heard.
His themes are great, and there are many. (Watched ‘The Lion King 2’ recently, and without Zimmer’s memorable leitmotifs, it seemed to have no soul.) Two or three of the motifs, in particular, capture just the right combination of majesty and tragedy (“a king’s time as ruler rises and falls like the sun…”), while the uplifting African chanting creates a nice contrast from the heavier stuff (heard, for instance, when Simba decides to leave the jungle and return to the Pridelands). The track ‘To Die For,’ however, is a cut above the rest, which underscores my favourite sequence in animation history: the Wildebeest Stampede. Did you ever hear anything darker or more intense written for any cartoon before this? Unlikely, my friend, unlikely!
There are a few holes in the album, and I’m disappointed that this Special Edition hasn’t been used as a chance to release more of Zimmer’s score. If you don’t own the first album, it’s well worth purchasing all the same.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
this soundtrack is what anybody who truely enjoyed the lion king needs. it includes the five main singing tracks (circle of life, cant wait to be king, be prepared, hakuna matata, can you feel the love tonight). the backing music is all wonderfully done, even if you dont like classical music, this will stun you. then there are elton john's versions of three of the songs, each a great comparison to the film's versions. i am 16, and my friend is 17, it is our favourite cd, because it is a laugh to listen to, and the songs leave us feeling really good. a feel good cd for all the fans!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2000
This CD tries to fool you that it is an album by including two versions of several of the songs from the film, the version sung by the actors and included in the movie, and the one sung by (you guessed it!), their creator, Elton John. Surprisingly, although at first I was a little disappointed, I found it interesting to compare the different versions, as they are just that: very different. If anything, the versions from the film are better, or at least more entertaining, particularly "I Just Can't Wait to be King", with Rowan Atkinson providing snide asides to Jason Weaver's highly accomplished main vocal. "Circle of Life" also is more appealing in the movie version, with rich African backround vocals from the gorgeous-sounding Committed Artists Choir, and London Community Gospel Choir, who are really the stars of this recording. The backing chorus of "hyenas" literally makes Alan Rickman's "Be Prepared", to my mind the most musically interesting number on the CD, as they sing countermelodies to the main vocal. But then, everyone always loves a bad guy best! A word about the four instumental tracks on this album: they are superbly evocative, and, in a way the most interesting pieces on the recording. Wonderfully played, it is just a shame that the orchestra doesn't seem to get a credit on the sleeve. At any rate, this CD is well worth buying; as long as you feel that you can put up with the Elton John numbers!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
This is not the london-broadway musical but the film soundtrack. the musical was based on this movie's tunes and songs. the musical added a more african sound to the songs in the movie. this version is beautiful in it's simplicity. disney were very inovative to take elton john as theire compositor for the film- but he did an amazing job and his songs have both- the disney sweetness and the eltonjohn pop. and that's a combination beond compare! have fun!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I recently went to see the Lion King in 3d and it was so nice to see that almost all the people in the cinema were around my age, all of them nostalgic for this gem of a Disney movie which came out in 1994, when we were kids.

What I enjoyed the most when I was a kid was singing along with the songs from the movie, whether it was the inspirational and soothing Circle of Life, or the ambitious and cheeky I just can't wait to be king. The Hakuna Matata song is probably one of my favourites, thought it is hard to choose a favourite from such a beautiful and diverse soundtrack with love songs, adventure songs, dark songs like Scar's Be prepared.

All of them have brilliant lyrics, majestic interpretations and they are all contagious. How else do I still remember the lyrics 18 years later?

This OST cd is a must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Really, what is there to be said that hasn't already been said about the phenomenal Lion King? We all know the greatness of it, we all know how wonderful and majestic the music in it is. That is, unless you've been living under one of the rocks of Pride Rock for the past 17 years. This really is an amazing CD, packed with all the wonderful songs from the film, and it also includes some of the lesser well known tracks that featured in the film.

This is a real and obvious must for any Disney fan, or for any person who watched this film back in 1994 as a kid, saw it again recently in 3D and wanted some good old nostalga to hit their ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 February 2015
I'm a HUGE Disney fan and bought this to add to my collection.

The soundtrack for this Disney film is one of the greatest ever written. For the originals songs you have two greats for Music by Sir Elton John and Lyrics by Sir Tim Rice. The score is by another great film composer Hans Zimmer. Together they have produced the most famous film soundtrack of all time.

Both the songs and score are full of pure emotion and have won many awards. To me the film score helps to make or break a film and this score certainly helped to make it one of Disney's all time greats.

I can personally highly Recommend this. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
not as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
I'll freely admit I wasn't a huge fan of the movie, but I was a huge fan of the music. There really is nothing like putting on your favourite CD and listening to tracks you like. This is mostly all of the music from the film. Admittedly I've mellowed with age anf now I'm quite happy to watch the film , even though it seems to me that after this one Disney standards started to slip. It is one great CD just beware of Circle Of Life the beginning still makes me jump!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2000
The Lion King is a hip-tronic mix of quasi Africn rhythms fused with explosive vocals. The album contains great turbo-funk tunes such as "hakuna matata" and slower lovey tunes such as "can you feel the love tonight?". I would strongly reccomend this album to all people especially 'big kids'. The overlying fun sounds hide an underlying subtlety that many an experienced music fiend will dig. Truely Africantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here