Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16


on 28 March 2016
This or Underworld's 92 - "02 a real tough choice i still can't make my mind up & i've played them back to back for hours ! Each hold there own & each have merit .
But i'm reviewing this one & it kicks off with Song to the Siren & builds from there. I know a lot of other reviews have given this a real hard time & there might be some tunes missing but forget that & enjoy it for what it is - one of the best singles albums of this genre . But as i said at the beginning this or Underworld's "92 - '02 , you decide !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2014
Never a fan of these, or the genre, at that time. Bought this with the "Hanna" soundtrack as they were cheapos. All tracks are chronological, so once you get past track 6 you realise that this pair have matured over 5 years, and have begun adding music to the squeeks and farts. They even add vocals near the end! Really 'a game of two halves', the second half is actually quite interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2018
Buy it for the bonus cd if you are a fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
Chemicals and some more chemicals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
She loves this album. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2013
bought this as there are a few singles on it i like and it was cheap, so does the trick,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2013
If you don't already own anything by the Chemical Brothers, but are looking to get some of their music, then buy this CD, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2013
The chemical brothers album is great i would recommend it to any one who wants to buy it and they should look at the other albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 October 2003
Tom and Ed are the Chemical Brothers, and have been doing their thing since 1993. As it's now ten years of their career, their record label decided to do a sort of "greatest hits", which made me kinda cringe when I saw it.
How wrong was I? This album is excellent, it's like listening to every album with only the hits, which is fantastic. Song to the Siren is as fresh as the day it came out, with it's acidic squeltching and it's brassic beats, with that cool siren whailing in the background.
Chemical Beats, used on the first WipEout is still cool without the games controll in your hand. With it's squeltching acidic 303 sound, you can't help but reach for the volume knob, Tom and Ed sure knew how to keep gamers playing, and clubbers dancing.
Another favourite has to be leave home, with the classic sample "The Brother's Gonna Work It Out"; and Oasis frontman Noel Galagher's colaboration, Setting Sun, which is just pure cool and sounds like it should be in a movie.
This look at Singles would be nothing if I didn't mention the excellent guitar fueled Block Rockin' Beats, with it's bassy beats and sample landscape. The whole track reminds you of great Sunday afternoons back in '96 when this used to be blazing out of your stereo.
Other classics include the excellent Hey Boy Hey Girl, Out Of Control, Star Guitar and the wierd but cool colaboration with The Flaming Lips, The Golden Path, with it's off key singing and it's funky guitar.
CD2 is just as well done, Not Another Drug Store and If You Kling To Me I’ll Klong You, which stick out in my head.
Altogether this is an excellent retrospecive into The Chemical Brothers, and even if you own the albums, this is worth getting hold of. Excellently put in order, and funky acid music. I can't find any faults with this album, it's pure class, a definate for clubbers and people who generally love their sound.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Born In the Echoes
£5.99
Push the Button
£3.75
The Singles 1993-2003
£4.39
Brotherhood
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)