Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2005
I'm a life long fan of Howard. I bought his first cassette back in 1984. I have just about everything he has done. This collection is without question the most complete work he has done to date. Not only is it a great value for what you get it has the best of not only all the mainline recorded material but the tracks that have not been released in America or where B sides on records. If your new to Howard or an old fan like me, you can't be without it. It will have all the memories and a few surprises. Stop thinking and buy it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
A very welcome addition to my collection, this CD set includes all of Howard's most well known and popular songs, as well as those he's written and recorded in more recent years, but which some may not be as familiar with - including "Revolution of the Heart" which he showcased live on TOTP2 recently - and which is as just as relevant today as "New Song" was 20 years ago.
The real bonus for me, however, was the inclusion of the bonus disk of 'B' sides. Not withstanding the fact that my old (and unplayable :-() record collection includes most of his singles, getting to hear again classics such as "Bounce Right Back" (if you haven't seen this performed live, then you will have missed out on some great entertainment!), "Change the Man" and "It Just Doesn't Matter" is a real treat. And, best of all, "What Can I Say?" and "Don't Put These Curses on Me" - never before released and last heard at the Marquee in London - are a fantastic conclusion to a superb collection of tracks. Thank you very much Howard Jones!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
36 tracks....18 never before heard on CD....4 never before released....and a new single!! This is class stuff from Howard Jones. A double disc set featuring many of his chart hits and some of his best work to date. The second CD features all of Howard's B sides that have never before been made available on CD. As an extra bonus, this CD also includes 3 of the rarest HoJo tracks, What Can I Say? Don't Put These Curses On Me and Modern Man, which, until this official release have never seen the public light.
Howard has just celebrated his 20th Anniversary of the release of New Song (Sept 1983) and what a way to celebrate...
The opening track on disc one, Revolution Of The Heart was especially composed for this release and is already promising to be a favourite amongst fans.
This album is a must for fans and the music buying public alike. Weather this is an addition to your HoJo Collection or your first Howard Jones purchase...you are in for 160 minutes of pure genius!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2003
Howard Jones is one of those artists who has never rested on his laurels. After achieving worldwide success in the 80's - he continues making music to this day, as well as working with other artists (most recently the "Sugababes").
This 36-song collection showcases Howards music throughout his 20-year (and still going strong) career. From his early unreleased works, right up to his latest song ("Revolution of the Heart") - they're all here.
Disc 1 has the more well-known tracks, including "New Song", "What is Love?", "Hide and Seek" and "Things can only get better". In addition there are also his later singles (and some album tracks) which will convince any doubters that Howard Jones is still an accomplished songwriter (and musician).
Disc 2 unearths a rich collection of b-sides, as well as some unreleased songs. Even if Howard already features in your CD collection - these tracks make "The Very Best of" worth buying on their own.
Great value and a great compilation from a very under-rated artist.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2003
This is THE complete album for Howard Jones, and the one that fans of Howard have been waiting for. Not only are the very familiar 80's songs included but, more importantly, in this case are the 12" and singles 'b' sides that you have on vinyl only, sitting in your loft and unplayable because you jacked in your old player for a cd system 8 years ago and your wife wouldn't let you play anyway!(or is that just me!). The new single was fantastic at the 20th Anniversary concert and is a great addition, but is not the reason you should buy this. You will buy this because Howard Jones means something to you, you are a fan of his and appreciate the high quality of his performances, whether live or on record. Very few artists release an album that includes EVERYTHING that they should (Lilac Time Compendium being an exception), this is such an album. It deserves your time and a place in your collection.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2003
A fantastic album of all the things we have been waiting for! A great selection of songs AND rarities on one album. Howard Jones is a very underrated song writer, and still sounding better than ever some 20 years on.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2006
Most people are familiar with the classics such as New Song, Like To Get To Know You Well, What Is Love?, and the awe inspiring Hide & Seek, however, if ever there was a chance to gain a better understanding of the musical genius that is Howard Jones, then this is the album for you. This just goes to prove that he is no 'one trick pony'.
Since the demise of vinyl, it's not so easy getting hold of 'B-Sides', however, this ablum sorts that out too and allows collectors to fill those early 80's gaps.
All in all, it's definitely one for your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
The C D that I wanted at a Good price for an dated But nevertheless excellent condition = NEW copy.
Delivery 'from Greenford, Middlesex' was extended but within the stated time scale. So I have no real complaints.
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
Between 1983 and 1986 Howard Jones created some of the best melodic electronic pop of the decade. He had 4 top 10 hits, and 5 others which reached the top 20.
Allegedly 'the very best', it does not include TWO of these hits:

'Pearl in the Shell' (Number 7 in 1984)
&
'Look Mama' (Number 10 in 1985).

Which means that only 78% of his top twenty hits appear on this album, surely not a good return for 'the very best of'.

Having said that. this is a brilliant album with a lot of tracks that are new to me, but are very pleasing on the ear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
I have been a fan of Howard for about ten or so years and this collection is very good indeed.To have a whole collection of b-side singles is somewhat odd though I have to say.For me I would have prefered a live mix CD here like the Spandau best of.
However Howard has a fine voice and a brillant talent for songwriting with a unique voice.With hits like 'New Song' & 'Like to get to know you well' you can't fail to enjoy this CD.As a footnote I would like to see his now rare live Concerts re-issued on DVD.It has to be 5 stars for Howard Jones here and long may he continue.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)