Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Poet And The Piper
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 September 2017
Simply enchanting. Captivating music and poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Beautiful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I bought this CD having only previously listened to The Given note (track 1)At that point I had no idea how great it all really is.
Everything on this fine piece of work reveals more depth and meaning the more you set time aside to listen and just imagine. Seamus has such a peaceful way of reading, and the Uilleann pipes of Liam are hauntingly magical.
If you are looking for something with Celtic magic and depth look no further.
Even if poetry is not really your thing, I'd say give this a try.
My personal favourite: The yellow bittern.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
To be clear, then, the album is made up of Heaney reading his poetry, more or less alternating with O'Flynn's musical interludes - mostly on pipes, but also whistle. Wisely, they do not try to combine the two.

I wasn't sure it would be for me; but then, following Heaney's own translation of An Bunnan Bui, the pipes burst out playing the tune to the song; a shiver went down my spine, my hair stood on end.

I suppose Heaney's poetic vignettes of rural Irish life are providing the context for the music. Or is it O'Flynn who is framing the poetry - saying, as it were, what you can't say in words? Either way, there's a definite sense of attempting to re-connect with the traditions modern Ireland has rather left behind. The lack of accompaniment suits O'Flynn's unhurried, articulate style, as it did that of his mentor, Seamus Ennis; I've never heard him to better effect. There is always going to be a degree of discomfort when you pair a 'highbrow' artist with a traditional one; but Heaney's pieces are unpretentious and of the soil - literally in some cases - so it works pretty well.

It sounds a truism (but it actually isn't) to say that, if you like Heaney and you like Irish music, chances are you will like this.
44 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Yes this was great to sit and listen to.. im fairly new to poetry - but 'gettin in2 it' now. This was a lovely combination I was almost wishing I was Irish and more familiar with the folklore(there's something new for me to explore) but I didnt feel left out.. sitting with my laptop and reading the poems/their explanations on line as the cd played was quite an easy/relaxed/enjoyable learning experience. Mr H's voice has a mellow tone and the accompanying pipes were well matched to the readings. What a joint accomplishment for both Artists.

1 cd,
tracks:-

The Given Note
/Portna bPucai*
Digging
Bogland
Ardai Chuain*
At the Wellhead
The Otter
The Rolling Wave/The Hag's Money*
The Yellow Bittern
The Yellow Bittern/The Broken Pledge*
The Glamoured
Aisling Gheal*
The Tollund Man
Midterm Break
Sliabh Gallon's Brae*
Clearances 3
Clearances 5
Cronan na Mathar*
Two Lorries
Th Humours of Castlebernard/The Bank of Turf*
A Call
Seeing Things - section 3
Fainne Geal an Lae*
St Kevin and the Blackbird
Open the Door for Three*
The Annals Say
Postscript
Garret Barry's Reel/Sean Reid's Favourite*

* played by pipes inbetween readings

please 4give any typo errors :))
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
What a pleasure to my ears! I had the privilege of hearing them in Sligo, Ireland, during the Yeats Summer school many years ago and the CD certainly brings back memories... well, music and poetry are made for these ( memories, I mean) and both artists are masters in their field. I especially find Heaney's voice very soothing. Would recommend to all who love Ireland and not only....
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2003
Seamus Heaney towers above all contemporary poets in his highly emotional and deeply described works. To read him is to take on the challenge of dimensions. To hear him read his work is to expose your heart and soul to a rich voice mining the golden seams of history and feelings. He is THE poet to absorb as you try to make sense of the past, present and future. 'Digging' is a classic to savour, Heaney is a poet to applaud and Liam O'Flynn is a piper to be paid in solid gold for his song. This cd is a treasure to be shared in a world of turmoil. Enjoy the chance to relish this inspired project.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I tried to buy tickets for Seamus Heaney and Liam O'Flynn's performance of "The Poet And The Piper at our local theatre in August, but unfortunately they were sold out. I was devastated when I heard of Seamus Heaney's death a few weeks later and realised that I would never again have the chance to hear him reading his poems.
I bought this CD as a replacement for what I had missed, and while it can't fully compensate for missing the live performance, the combination of Seamus reading his poems and Liam O'Flynn on the Uilleann pipes has produced a beautiful, atmospheric memory of a great poet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
To hear Seamus Heaney reading his own poems is immeasurably better than just reading the words. The tonal quality of his voice, his accent and emphasis bring the words added meaning. The carefully selected pieces from Liam O'Flynn provide haunting interludes between the spoken word and add an extra layer to the deep feeling for rural life, the natural world and the land itself. This is a powerful, emotional and accurately representative combination of words and music.
Delivery and packaging excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
The CD arrived promptly and was well-packaged. Both Seamus Heaney's readings and the pipe music are lovely. It was bought for a birthday present for a friend who is a Seamus Heaney fan, and she was delighted!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)