Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
Mostly Martha [DVD] [2003]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.34+ Free shipping


on 18 November 2011
This is a truly beautiful, heart-warming film that is not without its ups-and-downs, moving gradually from down to up as the protagonist, Martha Klein (played by the excellent Martina Gedeck), takes over the care of her dead sister's daughter while holding down a demanding job as principal chef in a posh Hamburg restaurant, a difficult juggling act which becomes all the more so as a new chef of Italian origin arrives on the scene to seemingly threaten Martha's position. However, he has more use to her than she first thought, since he enables her to get in touch with her niece's father, also Italian, and arrange for the child to return to Italy. But their relationship has deepened in the meantime to something approaching romance and it soon becomes clear to Martha that the sous-chef Mario (played by an ebullient Sergio Castellito) is having a beneficial effect on young Lina, who likes to help out in the restaurant's kitchen. Eventually something approaching a family unit begins to emerge, with Sergio visiting Martha and Lina at home to cook for them, and Lina's subsequent return to Italy with her father, who has in the meantime turned up at their door, has a devastating effect on Martha, who realizes that she has grown maternally attached to the child and finds life empty without her. The denouement is simply superb, if a little over-simplified, but, suffice it to say, things turn out well in the end, better even than could be hoped for, on at least three fronts. Really, a very charming film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2009
As several rviewers have noted, thank God this wasn't made in Hollywood (even though a ghastly parody of it was). Subtle, sensitive, insightful storytelling and really fine acting, especially from the wonderfully restrained Martina Gedeck, who also starred in the excellent "The Lives of Others" - check it out. Why hasn't she got an Oscar by now? Perhaps because this wasn't made in Tinseltown. But what the hell? Who needs an Ocar when you've made a film like this? It's great viewing, with interesting, rounded characters, a fine script and a remarkably mature performance from the young girl. And then some idiot reviewer, on the cover of the DVD case, goes and calls it "A Bridget Jones' Diary for the culinary set." Don't let that put you off. Do youself a favour and buy it. Well worth having your own copy, as it definitely bears watching more than twice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2011
This is one of my favourite films. I see it once a year, when I have almost forgotten how simply wonderfull it is. The background music is a delight and captures the scenes just right. I cannot tell you why this film has deserved and gotten prizes, the explanation will seem banal, which this film is absolutely not, but believe me, this is a gem of a film and any prize bestowed on it is fully deserved, and the actors are all sublime for their parts. Martina Gedeck is simply marvelous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2009
FIrst, I don't know why I thought this was a comedy or at least a romantic story. So don't be surprised as I was - most of the time it's not fun! But it doesn't change the fact that the movie is good and "catchy". Cooking is an essential part of the story - even people who never cook feel like trying it! The life is often here compared to cooking and recipes - even if you have all ingredients and do everything along, the result doesn't have to be perfect.
I hesitated between ***/**** (the story is nothing unusual and it could be 15mins shorter) but decided for more because it is the kind of film which leaves you feeling positive (instead of sour or worried).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2016
I loved the story and the mix of Italian and German
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2016
I had seen this film when it was first released in the cinema and liked it very much. Now many years later it I still like it. It's a very well made feel good movie and for people who like European films, a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2010
A wonderfully staged movie about professional cooking and romance featuring the German actress Martina Gedeck and Sergio Castellitto in the lead roles. It gives insight into daily operations behind the scenes of a top class restaurant and the troubles associated with the chefs daily lives as well. A good story line and good actors make this movie a pleasure to watch. The music is really brilliant and I wish it was available on CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2010
If an example of the conflict between German & Italian culture was ever needed, then this surely has to rank as a good example. The clinical efficiency of the German kitchen finding itself invaded by a laid back Italian chef is just the recipe you know will create conflict. You can guess which style of working culture wins out, but it is how the story gets to this conclusion that is so enjoyable. A real 'feel good' movie that even the 'blokes' will secretly enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2010
I have been looking for the italian language version for sometime and I finally got it. I am very happy about it.The film is absolutely great, I love Castellitto.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2003
I saw this film in the cinema and I am buying the DVD as a present. If it had been a hollywood movie, exactly the same as is, but in English instead of German, it would have been a huge blockbuster, and won lots of Oscars. It is a fairly predictable story, but so well told that it suffers nothing for that. Every aspect of it is superb, the acting, photgraphy, music, settings.
It is a truly great movie. See it!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)