Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2003
This is Leona's third album, and is superb. The album continues along the same path as the previous two - strong lyrics, catchy choruses, and Leona's awesome voice (which adds amazing emotional depth to each track) holding the entire thing together - but rather than just being "more of the same", the evolution of her work is clear.
The song-writing is more mature and thoughtful than the previous albums (although without becoming too complex or introspective), and the production is absolutely spot-on, allowing Leona's voice to shine through, without falling into the over-production that was evident on some of the tracks of the previous album.
The themes of the album are very much in keeping with her earlier work - heartbreak, love, longing - and every song makes an impact. The previous albums all had at least 1 track that didn't seem to click, but this is not the case on this album - every track is of a high standard, and the whole album comes across as more cohesive than the previous two.
Overall, this is an excellent album, one of the best of the year, and i have no hesitation in giving it the full 5 stars.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2003
Third album syndrome - you never know what to expect. Some bands shine through, some just hit the wall. Leona Naess, though, appears to be really enjoying herself on this, her latest offering, and it comes across to the listener BIG TIME!!!.
Although there are tell-tale trademarks on tracks 'Calling' (which harks back to 'Mexico' from 'I tried to Rock You...') and 'Yes Its Called Desire', she's definitely treading new territory with tracks 'Ballerina' and the amazing 'Home'.
I really can't fault this CD having played it in the car almost constantly since purchasing it. Don't be frightened that you don't know the name - think Tori Amos or Beth Orton and you're nearly there. You see, Naess knows when to bring the level up and turn it back down again just at the right moment.
In the UK in 2003, where bands on TV don't appear to play instruments anymore and pop stars are simply glorified karaoke, it's a revelation that Leona Naess shines like a very strong light indeed.
A triumph then...
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2005
Having spent hours listening to solo female artists I think i have finally found my pinnacle (or as close to it as I may ever get).
I bought Leona's debut after erading good reviews and was pleasantly surprised especially by the airy opening track.
I believe this album is significantly stronger than her previous and there is a certain solidity, purpose and craft to her songwriting. Where a good line or hook would be one's attchment to a song on previous releases, this album is pretty much a complete package. The backing and orchestration is top notch and yanks all the relavant heart strings. This is noticed straight away in the opening seconds of the album as 'calling' crashes in with out any intro. Ballerina is a minimal song - just vocal and piano - it is truly captivating as leona pleads, croons and softly serenades her way through it.
the album plays very well al the way through - and really is one of the best records by a female artist i have heard.
Damn near to perfection.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2004
From the minute I turned my cd player on I loved this album. I isn't better or worse than her debut album, much different. There is a great feel to these songs, making it possible for you to listen to the entire album in one go and not having to skip over any songs. (We all know what that is like.)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2007
I hadn't heard of Leona Naess until I saw her supporting Ray Lamontagne recently and was utterly captivated by her beautiful music.

Her self-titled album was not a disappointment. 'Calling' which opens the album and sets the tone of the work, is a gentle love song with layered harmonies over a piano led accompaniament - and is a likely single. 'He's gone' is more upbeat and vaguely reminiscent of Blondie's early songs, however the majority of the songs are gentle songs of love and loss.

The stand out track for me is the gorgeous 'Ballerina' a beautiful ballad sung over a gentle piano, charting the sense of loss at the end of a relationship.

Naess' voice conveys the emotions evoked by her well-constructed, image-rich lyrics. The simplicity of the arrangements enhances the pleasure.

In terms of style she reminds me of Catherine Feeny and even KD Lang (at times). Her arrangements and use of instruments (guitar, piano, cello) are reiminscent of Damien Rice and even Tom McRae.

If you enjoy unpretentious musical arrangements, thought and feeling provoking lyrics and a little bit of humour then this could well be for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 September 2008
Although I had not heard music by Naess before I bought this album, I did have a certain expectation about what I would be in for. For some reason, perhaps because someone else compared her to Tori Amos, who I love, I thought that Naess was an artist who was slightly more edgy than her counterparts, and so I was expecting an album which fitted that. In some ways, this expectation has not completely been lived upto.
There is no doubt in my mind that Naess is a very gifted singer / songwriter, far better than many others around at the moment. But I do have to say that her sound is quite mainstream; much more so than Amos. Rather than music with an edge, the majority of these songs sound similar to other albums I have.
Many of the songs have a familiar feel to them - the tempo rarely changes so that they do sound very similar. However, the standout track is undoubtedly "Ballerina", a simple, slow track which drips with emotion. The simplicity of this song makes it truly beautiful, and the simple piano which accompanies Naess showcases her voice to its best ability. She does have a great voice with great range.
As an album for background music at times when you want to relax, this is fantastic. But for something with a little more bite you will need to look elsewhere - maybe her other releases offer this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
Some artists are just destined to be artists, they're born with ears that can hear the skill of others, born with soul as to let the music in, and born with the touch of turning this all around and putting it into their own music.
Leona Naess has the touch of a goddess, great lyrics, a huge talent for song writing and a voice which can pull off any idea that comes into her head. All of her albums possess magic, so just go out and buy them !

oh, this is my first ever review and I think I may have got carried away.............but Leona is definately worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
Lovely album, nice to listen to when relaxing, but also upbeat enough that it doesnt send you to sleep! stand out tracks include 'Christmas', and 'Falling', featured in Bridget Jones 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Great disc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)