Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
76
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2003
It has taken Cliff twelve years to come up with a follow-up to his last Christmas-themed album. "Cliff at Christmas" is certainly worth the wait! This album contains 17 tracks and while you may have some of the songs already, here they are digitally remasted and sounding just great. The big chart-toppers "Mistletoe and wine", "Saviour's day" and "The Millennium Prayer" sit alongside other Cliff hits "Little town" and "We should be together".
The best thing about this album though are the eight brand new recordings. "Walking in the air" is NOTHING like the Aled Jones version at all. Here, it's done with a jazzy piano and it's funky. "Mary's Boy Child" also benefits from a new up-beat arrangement. Move over Boney M. "Christmas is quiet" is a beautiful ballad which could quite easily have been a single. "Let is snow" is excellent and Cliff surpasses the Dean Martin classic from the mid 50's. "Santa's list" is Cliff's Christmas single and this is NOT what you expect at all! It's a powerful, strong peace song with pounding drums throughout and a vibrant chorus. What a cracker! "When a child is born" is lovely and equals Johnny Mathis. "Come to us" and "Winter wonderland" complete the new tracks.
With over 70 minutes of music, this makes an ideal gift. They will love you for it!
A superb Christmas present from Cliff.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
This CD album has "Saviours Day" & "Mistletoe and Wine" both number one's for Sir Cliff Richard also "Little Town" is included.
Cliff's new single "Santa's List" 'we don't need a merry Christmas we don't need a happy New Year' catchy when heard a few times and the words are right on! for a Country/World at war.
This CD has old songs new songs done in a pop Cliff style and well worth hearing at any time of year.
Silent Night & White Christmas are among some of the old Christmas favorites on the CD.
This only wets the appetite for Cliff's "NEW ALBUM" due early in 2004 . Till then relax this Christmas with CLIFF AT CHRISTMAS.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2003
A good blend of rockin' Christmas Classics and my favourites are Walking In The Air, White Christmas and When A Child Is Born. All the tracks are produced excellently and Cliff's voice is superb.
Santa's List is my all time favourite and has the same message as Saviours Day and Mistletoe & Wine. This is a No1 record. If it doesn't get there then there's something wrong with the charts. Chris Eaton has done wonders here.
I also rave my old favs Mistletoe & Wine, Together, Saviours Day and The Millennium Prayer.
The whole album is absolutley fantastic and provides 71 minutes of festive enjoyment. It shows the levels of quality that you always expect from Sir Cliff Richard and the great writing talents of Mr Chris Eaton.
This album should be destined to top the charts very soon and provide a Christmas listening experience to everyone. No household should be without a copy of this album. A Platinum Disc is coming your way Cliff!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
I bought this for my friend Anna, who I work with. She is a huge Cliff fan, and she loved this album so much she had to ration herself to only playing it from 1st December to 1st January.The only downside is that she plays it in the office, every day. And it is an open plan office. By the middle of December we all dread coming to work because when we open the door to the office we know this album will be playing. It can't be a coincidence that a lot of staff work at home or call in sick a lot more often during December. So in summary, if you have a friend who is a Cliff fan, this makes an excellent Christmas present, but based on my experience, buy some earphones to go with it, or if your budget can't stretch to that, get yourself some earplugs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
If you like Cliff and enjoy a good old Christmas sing-a-long you can't go far wrong with this. Take a look at the track listings, you'll agree
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In Britain, everybody is familiar with Mistletoe and wine, Saviour's day and The millennium prayer, whether they like them or not. It's difficult to avoid hearing them in December, but I like them. That said, I don't see that it was necessary to mess with the lyrics in the Lord's prayer when they recorded The millennium prayer. But it's a minor quibble. Those tracks can be found on plenty of British multi-artist compilations, so if you're thinking of buying this album, you'll be interested to know what else is here.

There are fourteen other tracks, eight of which were recorded for this album. The other nine including those already mentioned had been released previously, but all were re-mastered for this album. Santa's list was a new song at the time of the album's 2003 release, and was released as a single at the time. It is a good song, but it isn't a classic. Another song (Come to us) is otherwise unfamiliar to me and I assume that it is also original, although I'm not sure. The other six (Walking in the air, Mary's boy child, Let it snow, When a child is born, The Christmas song, Winder wonderland) are very familiar, although Cliff and his team have added distinctive touches here and there, so they don't sound exactly as you might expect.

The nine previously released tracks include Christmas is quiet, which is an excellent ballad that I hadn't heard before, because I didn't buy Cliff's earlier Christmas album. The other tracks include two that had been previously released as singles (Little town, We should be together) so I already had them both on Cliff Richard: Singles collection, plus three more covers of familiar classics (Have yourself a merry little Christmas, White Christmas, Silent night) with distinctive touches. For those unfamiliar with Little town, it is a radical rearrangement of O little town of Bethlehem. While I like and approve of the distinctive touches added to the other familiar classics, I'm not that keen on Little town; I feel that they tried too hard to be different, Still, with 16 other great tracks, I don't mind that much.

Cliff's diehard fans may be interested to know (if they don't already) that, some years ago, he recorded duet versions of two songs (Mistletoe and wine, Saviour's day) with German singer Claudia Jung, which can be found on her Christmas album Wintertraeume. I particularly like their version of Mistletoe and wine.

Overall, this is a fantastic Christmas album. If you enjoy Cliff's music, you'll love this album even if (like me) you find aspects to quibble about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Very disappointed. Being the same age as Cliff I remember when he didn't mess with the melody and just sang with a pure voice.
The charity shop will get this.
I last saw him in Aberdeen and was entranced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Brilliant cd, Cliff's variation on some songs is amazing. This cd has had a fair play already, my daughter and her friends also love it!! Gets you right into the festive spirit...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I am not a particular fan of Cliff and bought this for the Christmas songs. His original stuff is great but, oh dear, the cover versions…

are mostly overlaid with too many tracks – and the arrangements are too “poppy”. Where the cover versions do work is where Cliff is singing with a simple backing. There’s nothing wrong with Cliff’s voice (he IS a great musician) but if only an R&R man could re-edit theses tracks! The less is the more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
This is just what I was looking for, a nice selection of Christmas ballads. Good variety and it promotes the Christmas feel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.35

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)