Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 October 2003
I have a great deal of affection for this film, which I first saw as a teenager when it came out. Not the typical Corman adaptation of Poe, but I very tongue in cheek (and very nearly camp) version. Vincent Price, Peter Lorre and Boris Karloff shamelessly ham it up and spoof their own images and careers. A very young Jack Nicholson is as wooden as he is straight and never stands a chance against three veteran scene-stealers. There are also a couple of forgotten starlets who were hired more for their cleavages than any other talent. The budget is low, the effects prehistoric, but the performances, script and direction more than make up for it. This film could only have been made in the Sixties. If the three stars were slightly past their peak, they are still full of fun and mischief. Vincent Price in particular seems to be forever saying to the audience: "I know it's nonsense and you know it's nonsense, but it's fun, isn't it?" Even so, it is Peter Lorre who gets some of the best lines. When entering a crypt, he looks around at the dust and decay and cobwebs and comments dryly: "Hard place to keep clean, huh?" Not a horror film (unless you count Nicholson's horrible acting), not one for Poe purists, but much more a very offbeat entertainment. Get out the popcorn and enjoy.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is a review for The Raven [DVD].

I'm afraid this is not as good as I remembered, but it's still enjoyable to watch.

The sets and photography are wonderfully sumptuous. The acting is hammy - although, in this case, it adds to the charm. Besides, this is a tongue-in-cheek horror/comedy.

It's always nice to see the stars of old - they had charisma by the bucketload. And then there is the gorgeous Hazel Court - she certainly had the bosom for those period costumes!

As I said, enjoyable, but be sure to wear those nostalgia goggles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Forgot just how good this oldie was! Value purchase!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Love Vince
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Best of the Corman comedy/horrors, this goes beyond ham acting and is so delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Good fun, remembered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
If you've never seen this film, you must. If you like Roger Corman/1950-1960's schlock horror, you must see this film. I've always been a fan of Vincent Price, Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre. What a bonus, a film with all three! And to top it all, it's based on an Edgar Allan Poe tale (okay, so it is very loosely based). The film tells the tale of 3 wizards, Peter Lorre is sort of the bait, with Vincent Price and Boris Karloff pitting their magical knowledge against each other - yes, the good guy does win! Also appearing in one of his very early roles, is a very young Jack Nicholson (as he did quite often in early l960's Corman films) as Peter Lorre's son. Great viewing - a pleasant time is guaranteed for all.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and I have been going through a same process of upgrading to DVD for the last few years. This has given me the excuse to revisit many films that I have not seen for some time. This film is not one of them...it has been a firm favourite since I first saw it in 1961 and I have watched this movie regularly ever since.

I have the UK and French release of this movie and this is the latter, perhaps the slightly better transfer.

Roger Corman again teamed Peter Lorre, Boris Karloff, and Vincent Price in this tongue in cheek horror spoof which was one of the gems of the series of light hearted adaptions of Poe stories using a stock cast which for this movies included Hazel Court and a very young Jack Nicholson

The wizards duel sequence between Karloff and Price towards the end of the movie is an absolute classic.

Sadly Peter Lorre died shortly after the film was released, reportedly without ever having seen the final cut, although he never liked seeing himself on film. On a happier note, the cast, all renown for their sense of humour apparently had tremendous fun making the film and Corman had to leave in many of the adlibs and asides as there were too many to edit out.

This is one of those fun films which always leaves you feeling better for having watched it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
A remake of the 1935 film in name only, but Boris Karloff who starred in the original is here in this one. Both movies of course inspired by the works of Edgar Allen Poe but having their own stories in-twined within. This is a tongue in cheek horror film and at times is genuis. Roger Corman is behind the lens as Vincent Price stars as a magician/wizard who must cast out a spell on Peter Lorre who has been turned into a raven by the far superior magician Karloff.

Movie includes plenty of ad libbing especially by Lorre, and this is the brilliance which underlines the film as most of his dialogue thought on the spot perfectly fits into the movie and is subtle but hilarious at the same time. A very young Jack Nicholson stars as Lorre's on screen son with the pair constantly at odds. Even Hazel Court is here as Karloff's dead love, or is she? It's a terrific cast that's for sure and The Raven is one of the all time horror comedy classics. Price, well you never could take your eyes off of him and Karloff making his first film in 5 years is remarkable. A brilliant film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
I gave this 1 star because it won't let me give it 0 stars. It is one of the worst films I have ever seen. Edgar Allen Poe must be spinning in his grave so fast it's a wonder that he hasn't drilled his way out of his coffin by now.
Don't get this unless you love watched truly naff films. My Hubby bought this - Next time we'll check the reviews on here before we buy. He's not much on writing reviews, so he asked me to do it.
If you want "comedy horror" or "horror comedy", get The Fearless Vampire Killers, also known as "Dance of the Vampires" and "Excuse Me, But Your Teeth Are In My Neck" because that does it better.
Don't choose this turkey unless you want something unspeakably naff that you have house guests that you want to get rid of.
What the hell were Hammer thinking of..?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)