Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 April 2018
A classic horror movie by Roger Corman. If you like gothic fiction - this one is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
Great! I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2016
Great film but I'm a Vincent Price fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2009
Ok, this film isn't full of the most wonderful special effects but the story is wonderful and Vincent Price's portrayal of the slightly mad Roderick Usher is great. I watch this all the time and love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
Great story with great acting of Vincent Price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2004
I personally think all the Roger Corman adaptations of E A Poe's short stories are unique, and have a special atmosphere of their own, but "The Fall Of The House of Usher" is the creepiest. A young man sets off into the New England countryside to find out what has happened to his beautiful fiacee, Madeline. When he arrives at the gloomy ancestral home he becomes convinced that her eccentric brother, Roderick, is holding her captive. The truth, is ever, is not that simple though. Roderick appears to have become obsessed with his family's evil history, and believes that Madeline has inherited the Usher insanity. As such she should never marry and reproduce, the line must die out with them.
This isn't exactly a cheerful film. Living in the mansion, which is literally crumbling to pieces, set in a stagnant swamp, would be enough to drive anyone peculiar! But it still packs a powerful eerie punch. I particularly liked the scene where Roderick shows his visitor the unsavoury family portraits, and relates their terrible history. And the final shot of the ruined house abandoned in the fog-choked swamp is pure E A Poe.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
This film was released in 1960 and was the first of American International's Poe films, directed by Roger Corman and usually starring Vincent Price, among others. I cannot, however, understand the critical adulation that this film receives. I have watched it a few times and every time it has been a struggle to make it to the end credits. I find it an extremely boring film, with literally very little horror at all, so to call it a horror film is very misleading. I find that classifying it as "A Gothic Melodrama" is a much more accurate description of it. Nothing of note happens at all during the duration of the film, apart from endless scenes of talking and padded out scenes. I know that old horror films have never been particularly action-packed, but this is tedious even by standards of years ago. It is one of Vincent Price's weakest films in my opinion, though the acting, sets and cinematography are all good, which is the only reason why I am giving it two stars, which is being generous. It is, without doubt, a feast for the eyes, but it won't give even a child nightmares. If you are looking for a classic horror film with plenty of drama, then you won't find it here. Radio Times gives it four stars, for some inexplicable reason. I only give it two. Judge for yourselves which is the most appropriate rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2008
A lot of people will fondly remember watching Corman's Poe films on T.V. in the 1970s. There always seemed to be a Hammer/Universal/Corman etc. horror season on BBC2. For those who haven't seen them it should be stated that they are an aquired taste. With production values even lower than Hammer, Corman certainly did wonders. The films have a 60s feel to them, with garish colour and effects. Price of course carries the whole film-I think there are only 3 other speaking parts-and that's o.k. by me. All in all a relatively concise Poe fest-better than Pit and the Pendulum but not as good as Masque of the Red Death-all 3 worth the Vincent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse