Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2006
I was lucky enough to see these two when they were starting out, opening in a near-empty nightclub in Dublin, and busking on Dublin's streets. I was blown away by the skill and the heart they demonstrated in their playing, and rememember thinking how unjust it was and how under-appreciated these fantastic muscians were. It gives me such hope that through sheer peserverance and hard work these guys have worked themselves up from obscurity to deserved recognition, and also at how they have kept their warmth, sense of fun, and excitement in their playing.

I don't think that this album does justice to their staggering live perfomances, but I strongly recommend anyone buy it, (in particular if you are a guitarist yourself). It will be enough to convince you to see them live if you get the chance.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
If a new listener, Diem will probably capture you first, as it is quite easy to catch the hooks.
But every track deserves its place on this album, with the instrumentation and skill up to top knotch these Mexicans are truly blessed with fast fingers.
Of course half the compositons are based around Metallica's well balanced riffs, yet it's what the two guitarists take from that band to make their own is the key factor. I have heard Rodrigo and Gabriela play Wish You Were Here, Stairway to Heaven, One, Orion etc, yet how they turn these songs to their style is amazing.
Sangre y Ritmo is infected with superbly mixed chords, while Foc is their trademark track; featuring frenetic and fast guitar playing - described by the pair as "crazy."
Even if you listen to this album and say "It's too Spanish," give it another while to grow on you and make you realise that really, there is no genre available yet to describe the music. It isn't Spanish, it isn't flamenco, it isn't rock, it isn't jazz, it isn't post anything, and it hasn't been done before.
They also can't read muisc!
And I've seen them 4 times!
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
This has to be the worst music ever to put on when your trying to concentrate on something else! as soon as it starts i sit back, stare out the window, and listen in awe to two amazing musicians. I only come around again at the end of the song and think "dammit not again! I'll never get this work done." in other words amazing, buy it. in fact buy all their cds!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
A lot more laid back than the likes of 11 : 11 but it shows how versatile there music is & how talented they are as musicians , undoubtedly the best acoustic guitar players that you are ever likely to hear ! You will not disappointed when you purchase any of there cds .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
They have never been off my most played list since I heard Stairway to Heaven on world music selection on long haul. This is only my second album but I chose carefully. Not too samey and different enough to confirm them as unique masters of their style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Really fascinating mix of influences played on acoustic guitars..some flamenco, jazz, metal all mixed into a very listenable album. Only problem is - can't tell who is Rodrigo and who is Gabriela! They should have mixed it so each person's role is clearer or their guitars sounded more different. But overall, excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
Why have you not already bought this cd? OK you're looking to see how good the reviews are, stop wasting time and buy it NOW.
These two young people are simply stunning, and if you have ever suffered from the slightest amount of pain in your fingers, watch Gabriela's masterclass on youtube! It'll make you wince.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This music is superb!!!! Its exactly what I need whilst we are cursed to live in interesting times.
You will praise the day you bought this, as its music that really lifts the soul.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
A bit samey if you know their CDs but still excellent music. I personally prefer their live recordings because of the atmosphere. I gave the CD to a friend - music teacher - she was really taken with their music when she heard it for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
This is an excellent introduction to Rodrigo Y Gabriela's music.It has a certain cultural authenticity.
The CD and cover were in perfect condition
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)