Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 July 2017
By the time this film was made Errol Flynn had found his trademark style as one of the greatest ever purveyors of charm - I won't say the greatest as a number of others could be equally charming (Colman, Power, Niven to name but three) - and he carries this adventure romp from beginning to end with all the qualities of a true Hollywood star. Medieval romances of this kind fall uncomfortably between the established stools of 'sword and sandals' and 'swashbuckler' and it's true this film has elements of both - but it's none the worse for that and it is in fact what it always has been - one of the best adventure films ever made - solid gold entertainment - and after eighty years that's quite something.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
I had only ever seen this fantastic film on television as a child. I always remembered it as being THE Robbin hood film. I was amazed at the sharpness and vividness of the colours and images. On blue ray this is truly wonderful. It proberbly looks the best it ever has. We watch net flix quite a lot with the children and the difference in quality of picture was frankly, stunning. This is the best and definitive Robbin hood film, although it has dated this only adds to it's charm. It has all the elements if the original myth and is child friendly, unlike the newer versions which lack all that children crave, swashbuckling adventure and bright green costume. I bought this for my 8year old son-and myself of course- and it had been years since I had seen it. To see it again in all it's glory and better than I had ever remembered it being, story wise and of course bluesy quality was a surprising treat. Just fantastic. My kids loved it, although a lot of the plot and dialogue is lost on smaller children there is enough pace and action to keep them enjoying it. The famouse split the arrow scene was a top moment enjoyed by my bow weisel ding boy 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2018
This film is endlessly entertaining. Errol Flynn's charisma is magnetic and the entire cast are superb, you can see why he and Olivia de Havilland were cast in so many films together. The Technicolor is richer and more vivid than I think any other film I have seen; the colours seem almost edible; how clever those people were who devised the Technicolor process. The script is so sharp it could have been written yesterday. I was waiting until my son was old enough to enjoy and at six he loves it; very entertained by all the action.and zesty exchanges between the lead characters. Erich Wolfgang Korngold's music for the film is amazing and carries you through the film so I am keen now to see 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' (1935) and 'The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex' (1939) which he also wrote the scores for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2013
Adventures Of Robin Hood: The Greatest Adventure Movie of All Time.

Having been the proud owner of The Adventures Of Robin Hood (1938) on DVD, for about five years I did not think that the quality of this picture could be improved, but I was mistaken. The Technicolor 3 strip process is showcased in its full majesty and the definition of image is without equal. One can almost believe when watching the Blu Ray version that you where at its premiere way back in 1938, the image looks so fresh.

The Blu Ray version has all the extras of the double DVD plus a radio show of The Adventures Of Robin Hood, Narrated by Basil Rathbone. Beware anyone buying the DVD version, though the radio show is advertised on the sleeve it is not included in the DVD.

Though the movie is now seen as the definitive Errol Flynn movie and a showcase for Technicolor, it was originally going to be a star vehicle for James Cagney and was to be filmed in glorious black and white.
RMM.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2011
Errol Flynn was, and still is, the Daddy of swashbuckling. This vintage 1938 epic leaves no doubt. Forget any re-makes; this is the business

Also starring Olivier deHavilland as femme-fatale Maid Marion, Basil Rathbone and Claude Rains at their most scheming. They and a great support cast bring this timeless fable to life.

By rights; it's almost a musical. All that's missing are a few good songs. Certainly it's a comedy adventure, with Flynn's typically debonaire devil-may-care portrayal of the hero, and his whimsically choreographed ambushes and tricks. But there's a good balance. The wickedness of its arch schemers provides plenty of suspense, whilst the vigorous combat scenes have to be seen to be believed. No special-effects or CGI here. This was a no-expenses-spared production and it shows. Modern audiences may find the thigh-slapping bonhomie bordering on the camp, but remakes featuring Richard Greene, Kevin Costner and Mr Grunt are dull and unimaginative by comparison.

The DVD features a fully restored digital print that, although not quite perfect, is still wonderful to see. The sparkling Technicolours are undiminished and the sound is loud & clear. Korngold's anthems and bombastic fanfares are a wee bit tiring on the eardrums, but otherwise it's solid gold. And there's so many extras that it required an additional disc to contain them all.

This `Special Edition' is genuinely classic cinema from the golden days of Hollywood production. For less than a fiver it's an absolute steal. Thank heavens TV screens have finally grown big enough to do it justice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2012
This is probably the most joyous version of the story, rollicking along with good humour, romance and adventure.

With Errol Flynn as Robin Hood; Olivia de Havilland as Maid Marian; Basil Rathbone as Sir Guy de Gisbourne and Claude Rains as King John.

Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone must be amongst the very best swordsmen of the cinema, and their final duel is a stunning display. However, elswhere the action is generally ridiculous (merry men swinging around like a gang of drunk 'Tarzans', and battles more like playground scrums), the acting is rarely subtle, the accents are often broad American, the costumes often silly. But none of that really matters if your prepared to just enjoy it for the fantastically lavish entertainment that it is, it never fails to please. Most importantly, it has two marvellous villains in Rathbone and Rains, Rathbone in particular brings his usual poised menace and wonderful pomposity to his role.

A very merry playing of the Robin Hood legend.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2013
First. The Discs arrived on time, well packed, in good condition and dead cheap.
Next. I loved the film as much as I've always done for years, and the copious quantity of extras were most entertaining and informative too. Sets, costumes, music, characters, stunts, that old colour process, all great.
Lastly. For those that put this movie down because of it's "prettied-up" lack of historical authenticity, consider this.
Of course it's as unreal a picture of life and events in those times as only Hollywood could manage in the inter-war years, but;-
don't you ever watch movies and TV shows for pure escapism? That's what this is. The "mouse -house" had at least three goes at it. Did anyone treat those as real history? It's always been the same from Shakespeare to John Wayne movies. That's entertainment ! (At least as our cousins across the pond used to expect it). Just sit back and enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2010
In 1938 Hollywood decided to revisit the legends of Sherwood forest, bringing the adventures of everyone's favourite outlaw to the silver screen with Errol Flynn and glorious technicolour. Nottingham would never be the same again.

There have been many Robin Hoods over the years, some of whom have even managed to speak with an English accent. But for my money Flynn's portrayal is the most entertaining (though I have yet to see Russell Crowe or Douglas Fairbanks' portrayals). With a cheeky smile and easy manner he charms his way across the screen and into Maid Marian's heart. With some spectacular stunts and entertaining sword play he saves the day, the girl and the King's throne. It Hollywood fantasy at its most absurd, but it does exactly what it sets out to do and delivers 98 minutes of fun that leaves you wanting more.

We all know the story. King Richard the Lionheart is away fighting the Crusades, leaving his evil brother (Claude Raines) in charge, aided and abetted by the dastardly Sir Guy (Basil Rathbone). They soon hatch plans to drain the Saxon peasants dry and steal the throne for John. Up steps Robin of Loxley, who sets himself up as the people's, and the King's, champion. Going round the countryside saving the helpless peasants, he meets and falls for Maid Marian (Olivia De Havilland, and who can blame him?). There is a series of skirmishes with John and Guy until the film reaches the big climactic final showdown, which features one of cinema's most famous sword fights between Flynn and Rathbone.

When I first took up fencing, my instructor used to shout at me to stop `Flynning' it and fence properly. It was when I saw this film that I realised what he meant - the fencing is very showy, and anyone really fighting like that would be run through in nothing flat. But boy, is it entertaining! Added to which is the inventive camera work, where only the antagonists shadows are seen. It's a fitting climax to the film.

One other mention must go to the score - it's big, epic, sweeping and suits the action admirably.

If the film has any drawback it is the hamminess of some of the villain's performances. Raines and Rathbone are a little too pantomimish at times, almost twirling their moustaches and laughing evilly. It fits in with the general feel of the film though.

This is an excellent release of the film. It is presented in a beautifully cleaned up picture, with the colour really vivid and alive. The soundtrack has been treated with similar care and comes through really clearly. The two discs are stuffed with extras, documentaries about the film and the technicolour process, contemporary short films and cartoons. Some are interesting, some not so. They are all garnish to the main feast which is the excellent film.

So, buckle up your swash, put this in the DVD player and sit back for 98 minutes of good old fashioned family entertainment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
There are numerous movies that tell the tale of Robin Hood but without doubt this is by far the best and could give many new movie makers a lesson in how to make a fast moving spectacular entertaining adventure film.Errol Flynn is never better in a role that was just made for him,and is well supported by Olivia de Havilland ,Basil Rathbone and Claude Rains who all play their parts splendidlyto make this a movie everyone will love.The Blu-ray transfer is first class and the tecnicolour photography is stunning while there are plenty of interesting special features also.If you were thinking of adding it to your collection do you wont regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Its a BIG thing to say BEST OF ALL TIME.
But IMO its true,
Certainly the BEST Robin Hood film ever made
Probably the BEST Action/Adventure film ever made.
The BEST film Errol Flynn ever made.
Also Arguably the BEST film Basil Rathbone ever made (I say arguably as his portrayal of Sherlock Holmes IS the one all others are compared too)

AND that's the reason why I say this is the BEST as IT IS the Robin Hood film ALL others are compared to and considering it was made in 1938 nothing else has ever got close.
Its one of those films I never tire of watching and believe me I have lost count the amount of times I have watched it, whenever I need cheering up this is one of about 5 films I turn too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)