Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
51
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2015
I don’t know which rock I lived under for the past 20 years, but at last I got around to watching the original ‘The Hills Have Eyes’. I looked forward to seeing something out-of-the-ordinary from the much-maligned and occasionally underrated Craven and being one of the few people to know nothing of the story, sat in expectation. Disappointment is not the world. I will never get that time back – low budget action, threadbare storyline, amateurish acting and stilted direction. Is this really the same director who gave us ‘The Serpent and the Rainbow’? The sudden ending brings a welcome end to this predictable, trashy ‘family-in-peril’ take on ‘Deliverance’. Dreadful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Bought as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
The Hills Have Eyes is a nasty, rattle-and-scream horror tale, which is a cut above the slashers that would follow due to its focus on suspense over simple gore. That said, this is still a sick and horrifying film, full of crucifixion, burning, rape and, no doubt most controversially, a baby in peril (no violence against it happens, thank God). Its plot is the stuff of campfire tales. An all-white, conservative family (mum's a Christian and dad's a casual racist) are driving to California when they stop at a gas station run by a bearded hermit (John Steadman) who warns them against a detour to an abandoned silver mine in the desert. Of course they ignore his warnings and find themselves stranded, surrounded on all sides by ominous hills.
The family consist of Bob (Russ Grieve), a retired cop with heart problems, Ethel (Virginia Vincent), their children Bobby (Robert Houston), Brenda (Susan Lanier) and Lynn (Dee Wallace), Lynn's husband Doug (Martin Speer), their baby Katie, and two dogs, Beauty and Beast. They seem like a normal, close-knit seventies family unit, the kind you'd see on old American sitcoms. When Bob and Doug go to look for help Bobby is given their spare gun and left in charge, despite being younger than Lynn. There's subtext here, especially when we meet our antagonists, a family of grotesque savages. Their patriarch is Papa Jupiter (James Whitworth), who with Mama (Cordy Clark) has four children, Mars (Lance Gordon), Pluto (Michael Berryman), Mercury (Arthur King) and Ruby (Janis Blythe). It's worth noting that only the men in this family are deformed. Mama and Ruby look comparatively normal, and would blend in with civilisation.
Such are the observations one makes while watching The Hills Have Eyes, which has a mind beneath its violence. I'm not one to whine about the good ole' days, but there's a difference between old and new horror films that anyone can notice. Gore is their main selling point today, and storytelling comes second. In The Hills Have Eyes both elements work alongside each other. It doesn't open with a slaying but establishes a scenario which it then builds on. Sadly this approach would be replaced by crap like Friday the 13th, that nowadays we look on as camp. The day may never come when The Hills Have Eyes is seen as camp. It's a dark and terrifying film, which like most great horror stories has a touch of tragedy about it. The destruction of the blameless family is sad, and there's a poignant moment between Ethel and Doug. We end up wanting the savages punished, and punished as horribly as writer/director Wes Craven can imagine. We become sucked into the final orgy of revenge, even if it does leave us cold, which revenge is known to do. For those who can stomach it, The Hills Have Eyes is an odd sort of masterpiece, though I'd like to emphasise the "stomach it" part. This is strong stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Hills is a great movie that genuinely shocked movie audeinces in the 70's. If that is not the case now so be it, because the story and the characters still blend in well to make this a very enjoyable movie.

If you are a serious horror fan this is an essential purchase, and a great price to boot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
This movie is great. It's hard to watch, gritty, and intense. And it has a classic set-up: people in the middle of nowhere, vehicle problems, bad things happen. This film inspired a lot of people. Horror most pure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
top dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was looking for this film for a long time. Very good purchase. Matched perfectly my expectations. Arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Both part one and two while considered by some as classics and liked more than the remakes I feel is nothing more than personal taste I am a fan of quite a few low budget, old, B-movies but these are two that I feel are a real waste of money Not often do remakes of horror movies surpass the originals but in this instance they do
Don't waste your money on the originals here buy the remakes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)