Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Ali G in da USAiii (2 Disc Edition Featuring Borat) [2003] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 April 2017
So very funny.
I bought this for my daughter because we had watched it on holiday one time and we thought that she would appreciate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
If you like Ali G, Borat and Bruno then don't hesetate to buy this, but if you have watched it on HBO before, it dose have a different intro (not the one where the clothes fly on him). It includes 2 DVDs and each one whith 3 menus! There is a Bruno menu, an Ali G menu, and a Borat menu. On thees you can to watch the show normally or just watch your favourite charactor. BUT. If you get this please know that it is only the first season and the second season is only availible in America (in Region 1, NTSC). But I just bought this AND the American BOXSET because the special features on season 1 are different there and I needed season 2.
It came quick (from the Netherlands), it is in English and is one of the funniest DVDs ever.
Respek,
Keep it Real,
West Side.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
It's hard not to find some of this funny. i like the way he makes serious people look dumb!

I found many of the sketches thoroughly entertaining and I learned more about life from watching this than a years worth of psychology or religion could ever teach me

Some of the Borat skits were hilarious like the dating scenes but I loved Ali's studio debates too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2003
I was a big fan of Ali G and Borat in Baron Cohen's work for British TV, but here he ratchets-up the cringe factor as he mercilessly satirises his American hosts.
One scene where Cohen, as Ali G, chairs a TV discussion group with four US scientists and accuses one of them of leaving a "floater" in a backstage toilet is particularly hilarious.
His interviewing of Ed "Buzz" Aldrin is another highlight. Ali enquires what it's like being known as the the second man to walk on the moon - behind Louis Armstrong. "Neil Armstrong", Aldrin po-facedly corrects him, not catching on at all.
Cohen's new creation, Bruno an Austrian fashion "expert", is another unconvential interviewer who is brilliantly used to expose the shallow world of the catwalk and it's empty-headed commentators and designers.
Most of the interviews are brilliantly sustained masterworks and it's always a joy to see the interviewee attempt to correct the idiotic viewpoint offered by an apparently clueless Ali G. How Cohen manages to conduct these alternating between a straight or totally bemused expression is beyond me.
Of course the humour is often scatalogical and childish, but it's done with such genius that it's impossible not to laugh.
The Borat clips are also mostly brilliant as he behaves more embarassingly than ever before. Occasionally he goes too far with this character however and it flags tediously here and there.
However, this minor quibble aside, it's impossible not to award this DVD the maximum five stars, as the series somehow manages to improve on his earlier stuff for Channel 4. Perhaps it's because Americans are such an easy target - they take themselves much more seriously than we do!
If you like original, intelligent comedy then you'll love this - I literally howled with laughter every 2-3 minutes. If you find Jasper Carrott funny, then avoid it.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2004
Despite this series recieving a fairly luke warm response from TV critics, I have to say that I loved it!
Firstly, it's Ali G back to his best, taking the micky out of people who don't know him. Ali G is too big in the UK now, and although he is still funny, he has lost that certain something he had in the beginning. In Ali G In Da USAIII, he regains that lost something, and returns to form superbly!
However, Ali is not the star of the show. Khazakstan's answer to Louis Theroux, Borat is by far the funniest thing here. Check out the deleted scenes where he tells an American woman how a horse is like a man for about 10 minutes!!
Genuine Quality!
I Like!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Very funny indeed. The element of surprise on the part of the interviewees makes this so entertaining. Baron Cohen is a very clever man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Absolutely brilliant. Ali G is very funny and this is a great addition to my DVD collection. Laughed ourselves silly watching this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
came on time but USA its sel,f is crap in my opinion ..... I like the movie better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Brilliant dvd funny as.Great price for a new dvdand arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2004
The best Ali G yet. If all you've seen is the movie think again, Ali G is actually funny. Borat is a masterpiece, particurly when he calls a retired man a retard, a mongoloid!!
This is the best Ali G video out there, Highly recomended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)