Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2003
If you're looking for one of those 'Best Of Punk' type albums then look elsewhere. This album is a compliation of the music that inspired one of the most important movements in popular culture. By turns, the music is electrifying, exciting and very strange indeed. On face value there seems to be few common factors between the tracks found here in terms of style - the common factors are, in fact, energy, spirit and startling originality. From the 'lost' rock classic of Have Love Will Travel by The Sonics, to the sheer insanity of 'Moster In Black Tights' by Lord Sutch. This excellent compilation provides a compact, alternative history of popular music. The highest praise I can give it is to say that you certainly won't own a compilation like it already! You need this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2003
As someone too young (and too American) to have been around to experience S.E.X., I can only relive it through the stories from those who were there and the music as it happened. Fortunately, I received a promo version of this album a few weeks back and have found myself strangely drawn to the tracks. The songs (which were apparently some of those played on the (in)famous S.E.X. jukebox) are diverse and quirky, and I'm grateful that OLLA decided to share them with the rest of the world. Thank you!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
The best compilation I own, featuring music that was played on the Jukebox in "SEX", tracks 4 and 16 being absoulute favourites of mine!! Great pics of Jordan and Let it Rock garb (Pistols fans will know) and great pics of the infamous Jukebox where Johnny Rotten auditioned for the Pistols, singing along to Alice Coopers '18' which also happens to feature. This CD is a piece of social history in it's own unique way, you'd be a fool to miss out!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2003
Thank you for the fabulous insanity of the SEX compilation album I am thoroughly revitalised. In this plastic fantastic world of hype over content, thank f**k that eccentricity and individuality can still light up the night. Man I've got dancing fever. I think it's great. Give me more...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2003
This album showcases the music that inspired punk. However, that certainly doesn't mean that its appeal is limited to those with an interest in that scene. The tracks are fantastically diverse -ranging from lost rock n roll gems to full-on Outsider craziness. The common factor is originality, heart and style. Owning this album is like adding a condensed, alternative history of popular music to your record collection. There are far too many highlights here to pick out an individual track - quite simply, you NEED this!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2003
I never knew very much about the Sex shop or Adam and the Ants they were both before my time,but Marco Pirroni has put together a truly great collection of weird garage and crazy rock.
It's bloody funny and it's bloody brilliant!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
A fabulous compilation of tracks with passion and genius from the 50s 60s and 70s. If you want to know where punk originated from then listen and learn - it's the antithisis of X Factor fodder. They may not have burnt brightly for long (mostly one hit wonders) but all have a real spark. Two of the tracks are from the Joe Meek stable - which is also worth checking out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2003
The songs that shaped an generation! Collected together for the first time by original Kings Road regular Marco Pirroni (who later went on to find fame with Adam and The Ant) this assortment of songs graced the jukebox that stood proud at the Maclaren/Westwood shop and hang out for the Sex Pistol, SEX. This is not only a great record with songs from the likes of the Troggs, Alice Cooper, vince Taylor etc. it is a piece of Punk history. Now there's two reasons to buy it! What more do you need?

'Unplug the Jukebox and try another flavour'...not this time buddy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
sometimes, when you get to a certain age it becomes easy to get disillusioned with music. as the charts become increasingly more banal and the artists we (the music lover) are supposed to love - bore us silly (radiohead, coldplay stand up). however, this compilation is a potent reminder of why music is my only tue obsession. mentioning individual tracks on this cd is pretty pointless, but any collection that doesn't have any count 5 or sonics in it is a barren place.
buy this album, play it loud and remember that pop music is supposed to be fun, sexy and irreverent
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
A very good album if I had this on vinyl I would have worn it out by now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)