Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2006
I bought this album when it was first released and the album is completely worn out with use and i am planning to buy it in cd form to recapture memories and to enjoy these tracks again. It was the band that got me interested in live music with this album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Argent were one of those bands that made good albums that sold always better abroad than over here UK, along with TYA they were constantly on the road, this has captured them at the height of there game. and I for one remember seein em live in the early 70`s and the sold out tours just say it all! this is hard rock,prog rock and dam fine rock. A great introduction to Argent!If you are feeling curious check out,Russ Ballards solo work ,He always hits the spot!To think he wrote `god gave rock and roll to you`, since you`ve been gone`..slightly overlooked I`d say.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
A stop gap album following the departure of guitarist and the bands most commercially orientated member Russ Ballard,ENCORE suffers more from the technological restraints of the period rather than any musical shortcomings. Featuring all of the groups classic tunes, the album veers from progressive technoflash to hard driving rock'n'roll in one exhilarating swoop, but its very diversity eventually sowed the seeds of the bands demise. Argent were one of the seventies most original and underated acts, displaying musical sensibilites far beyond the grasp of their peers. As a live attraction they were simply awesome and although this recording has its moments it doesn't really capture the vocal and instrumetal subtleties for which they were renowned. Great for completists, but for newcomers to the band may I recommend the mystical beauty RING OF HANDS as a starting point.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
I love the music on this album. I had the double vinyl version as soon as it came out and have played it to death. I am very comfortable with the rough around the edges performance, it adds to the excitement of the band. So the music is great, the performance really straddles the Prog/hard rock divide in a most convincing way. The album really captures their live feel. So why one star? The mix is HORRIBLE. Rod Argent's keyboard playing is way down in the mix, almost inaudible in places, eclipsed by everybody else's playing. Drums, bass, drums and guitar all drown him out. I really hope, for everybody else looking at this, that I have a duff copy but I have to say mine is almost unlistenable. For such a great Live album I could not possibly recommend buying this particular edition. Buy the way, the sleeve notes are shocking. I get a real sense that this was done on the cheap. Shame
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I really didn't know Argent very well prior to buying this apart from the two big UK hit singles. This album though has been a revelation. It is superb. Why I or my friends weren't listening to this band back in the Seventies I cannot imagine. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
Bought the singles, all the albums and then saw them live on their farewell "ENCORE" tour (I was just old enough to get entrance to the Swansea Top Rank Club).

The album is a fantastic and accurate recording of a great live act.
Seriously under rated at the time.
Saw them recently in Royal Leamington Spa - THEY'VE STILL GOT IT !!!

Great compilation of their repertoire in the best environment ie LIVE !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
a great performance by a great prog rock band who I feel are quite unjustly
forgotten argent were in my humble opinion a good rock band who gave
us some great songs from a style of rock that is uniquely british so if
you are not to familiar with them explore discover and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Legendary album, everyone should be made to listen to it even if only so they know that "God Gave Rock And Roll To You" wasn't written by Kiss and the original is 1 million times better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
Love this live concert,i used to have the LP and eagerly popped in the CD to listen.Unfortunately not great quality, sounds just like the vinyl dont expect to much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
A classic Progressive Rock album. A very underated live album. Deserves to have been a lot more successful than it was. Have a listen and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)