Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars
A Mark, A Mission, A Brand, A Scar
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 February 2005
I first heard dsahboard confessionals 'vindicated' on the spiderman two soundtrack. I was instantly captivated and neglected the rest of the album for about a week, just listening to that song over and over. I looked them up on yahoo, and finally brought this masterpiece. 'A Mark, A Misson, A Brand,A Scar' is one of the best albums i have ever brought. From 'Hands Down' To 'This Old Wound', every song is a pleasure to listen to. Hands Down is a belter of a song, which makes me want to dance and jump like a loony, 'Carry This Picture' is totally charming and 'Ghost of a Good Thing' keeps me calm.
If you don't have this album, you should at least give it a chance. If this band can draw me in after listening to one song, they must be good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
Any of u who havn't heard of dashboard confessional, buy this album and make way to be converted to absolute beautiful emo music forever. Chris Carrabba's strong, yet sensitive voice pounds out the most amazing melodies and striking lyrics that will just make u wanna cry. Their previous album 'The Places You Have Come to Fear the Most' is just as fantastic, with much more of Carrabba's acoustic stuff and is just packed with emotion. 'Hands Down' has been updated from one of his earlier EP's and sounds totally massive on this album, a great first track and summer song - the lyrics are the best ive ever seen! The bonus track of 'This Old Wound' is soft with a catchy guitar part that echoes through the song. Altogether an amazing album and being a Dashboard fan for years, i think this is some of Carrabba's best work (in fact, its ALL gud) and will certainly be left in my CD player for a few months at least!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
Yet another brilliant album from Dashboard Confessional! This one is, as expected, slightly different to the others. Rather than being centered around Chris Carrabba and his acoustic guitar, this time the whole band get a look in.
The whole album is put together so well, that you're almost amazed when you think this is the same band who put together The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most in 2 weeks. No, this is obviously a much more finished album.
The only downfall I can find is the song "Ghost of a Good Thing", which doesn't fit in with the entire mood of the album, as it is the only totally acoustic song.
Well done, Chris!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
being a huge dashboard confessional fan for years now, the thought of the new album was something too look forward to, it hasn't disappointed. its not as much acoustic as the places you've come to fear the most and is a little more upbeat...but this isn't at all a bad thing. there are new songs similar to 'the good fight' and 'saints and sailors'. all of the tracks have chris's amazing lyrical constructions and fab voice e.g. 'am i missing' and 'morning calls', however there is one which i feel could be done better, its too broken down...'a ghost of a good thing'...on the whole a amazing album. a definate for dashboard fans,taking back sunday fans, third eye blind fans...buy it!!! and go c him live...everyone sings along
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2005
I am a huge DC fan, i love this record, yeah it's great. Most people feel this is their best album as it is the one that brought them into the mainstream (mainly thanks to Hands Down) The songs are all great. I feel this isn't their best album but if your looking for the full band outing then this is for you. My favourite tracks on the album are...
Bend and Not Break - the best on the album
Am I Missing - A very close second
Morning Calls - Another great song
It's an album that you just can't help but listen to once you have it, trust me. If you want the best of the acoustic DC check out 'The Swiss Army Romance' album, it rules.
Five stars, but somehow, not their best album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2004
i bought this album on the merit of vindicated the spiderman 2 ost, and i was most certainly not disapointed. this album introduced me to a whole new sound and the variety of the type of song makes for a always interesting listen. kicking off with Hands Down was an inspired decision, its the catchiest song on the album and if u can avoid the temptation to press repeat ur well rewarded, the upbeat sounds of As Lovers Go, the eerie loneliness of Morning Calls and the winding poetic end of the album with Several Ways To Die Trying. although a nice bonus the extra tracks take away the power of the intended end but other than complaining for extra this is flawless frm start to finish. keep an ear out for Am I Missing and Rapid Hope Loss. if ur looking at this item, ur interested, u wont b disapointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
Yet another great album from Dashboard Confessional. All of the songs are great and as usual, the lyrics are meaningful an dtouching. The DVD offers live performances and studio sessions. This is an album definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
this album is worth buying! this album is just as good as 'the places you have come to fear the most' if not better, so if you enjoyed that then you'll love this. the songs contain more great lyrics and some catchy tunes, aswell as being acoustically relaxing and full of emotion. hope you all enjoy it as much as i have!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2003
this album is a musical step forward from previous, it is more a upbeat and positive album, with shorter and sharper hooks and bursts of noise . The lead single from the album "hands down" is an explosion of bouncy pop, and highlights their new rockier style, not to say the accoustic guitar isnt still present, "ghost of a good thing" shows the emo influenced sensitive lyrics their best known for. To be fair it kicks arse and will appeal to those who are fans of the trials and tribulations of the lead singers Chris Carrabas relationships. The stand out tracks include "so beautiful," and "this old wound" which only avaliable on the uk verison.It will convert new fans and satisfy the old ones.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
I suppose I should have known that this album could never live up to my expectations. Of course, it was always going to be dificult to follow up 'The Places You Have Come to Fear the Most' and Unplugged, which probably explains the shift away from the acoustic heartbreak songs heard there (especially on Places...). Don't get me wrong, this album has some great moments - 'Hands Down' sounds better than ever, and closer 'Several Ways to Die Trying' is an epic masterpiece, but there are a few too many songs here which just don't inspire any kind of emotion in me - which is something previous DC albums have done with ease. Without wanting to sound snobbish, DC are probably destined for big things - great for them, but annoying for the fans who were there from the start and don't want their band to be hijacked by a bunch of fratboy wannabees. This is by no means a bad album, just a disappointment from the perspective of a massive fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Alter the Ending (Dlx)
£13.46
The Swiss Army Romance
£19.99
Dusk & Summer
£6.63
The Shade Of Poison Trees
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)