Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Gone to Earth: Remastered
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£75.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 January 2018
Wanted to try another of Mary Webb's books having always loved Precious Bane, and recently reread that book with great enjoyment. I found Gone to Earth a rather sad and disturbing book which I probably need to read again in an attempt to understand better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
While this is a classic, it's hard to take in this age. It's also hard to believe it was written as late as early in the 20th century. The author 'lives' nature to the extreme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
Some brilliant descriptions of nature and a woman as a free spirit. The story lagged for me in the middle but picked up strongly on the last third.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
Bit of an acquired taste,but an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2015
For nature lovers everywhere. Old fashioned but beautiful writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
I don't understand these reviews. This is a book, guys, not an album!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2003
If you haven't listened to much David Sylvian this is a great CD to start your collection with. It features an impressive mix of instrumentals and vocals that range from the very accessible 'Wave' to the somewhat more experimental (for the time) 'Gone to Earth' of the title. Expect lots of timeless, dreamy ambient sounds to chill out to (whatever that means), some occasional darkness and just enough experimentation to stretch your perceptions. I bought my first copy on vinyl more years ago than I care to remember and this current incarnation still sounds every bit as fresh. Unfair to end the review without a nod to the other notable musicicians who contributed to the Album, particullarly Robert Fripp.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
Written in 1917 and using local dialect Mary Webb writes over dramatically about a nature loving gypsy girl, her pet fox and her love affairs. Terribly old-fashioned now, difficult at times to understand some of the dialect and filled with almost cartoon like characterisations - however put it in time and place when melodramatic novels were common; then in all probability it would seem dreadfully risqué.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2003
I've listened to it since it came out in 1986, when I was 16 years old.
One of the half dozen albums that is the soundtrack to my life.
One of two pieces of music, out of several hundered that I own, that can lullaby me to sleep, if I can use such a phrase.
Beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
a masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here