Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
12
Peter Cincotti
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 April 2014
I've played this a couple of times now, and overall find it to be listenable, but not particularly memorable...to the point where it will only come off the shelf once in a while. Having said that, Cincotti is a talented guy and thoughtful in the arrangements he chooses, so maybe a Cole Porter song book--Gershwin songbook next?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2016
Bought this after hearing him sing an amazing duet with Rennie Olstead (Breaking up is hard to do). But disappointed with it. All a bit slow and dreary in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
This was a gift especially chosen by my son and i know he is pleased with it and is enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2015
This early album of his is a joy! There is a mixture of standards and his own work which seems to work very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2003
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old styles, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. But his music is a breath of fresh air in the world of jazz.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2003
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. Maybe he should take up smoking for a while! Still, a fresh and enticing new talent in the world of jazz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2003
Peter is undoubtedly the most outstanding new jazz pianist/vocalist of the time - a student at New York's Colombia University he also manages to write, along with his mother, excellent original tunes and bring a refreshing touch to some of the old classics.
In this, Peter's debut recording, the jazz legends that have influenced him (Harry Connick Jr among others) shine through and he demonstrates a unique and talented style, covering a wide range of tastes from standards such as "Miss Brown" and "Comes Love" (themselves broad enough for most people) to the popular "Sway" then further to include his own swingy "I Changed the Rules" and romantic "Are You The One?".
What makes listening to Peter entertaining? In three words: He enjoys it. This gives the CD an effervescence that makes the listener enjoy it but it's more than that, in the dreamy numbers, Peter has a mellow and intimate singing voice that seduces and in the swingy/upbeat tracks he moves to a buoyant style that will have you finger-snapping and toe-tapping.
Don't be fooled by Peter's 19 years on this earth - his youthfulness brings a fresh face but his talent that is way beyond his years - he is the youngest performer to have played at the famed "Oak Room" in New York.
To close: Peter is the most promising new jazz artist that will not only please existing jazz appreciators but fresh style will bring the genre to a whole new audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2004
I first became aware of Peter on the Parkinson show, both on tv and radio and liked what I heard. Got the album and thought wow! what a pianist. I wouldn't say that he's the best singer in the world, but his delivery is good. The piano playing is something else though. Listen to Ain't Misbehavin' and you'll see what I mean. I wouldn't like to compare him to anyone else, they all have their individual styles too. Other favourites include Michael Buble.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2005
Peter Cincotti has a stirring voice filled with emotion. I simply love his rendition of Kermit the Frog's Rainbow Connection. Only he could have made a muppet song so beautiful! Was a lil tear-y after hearing it. Simply just beautiful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

On The Moon
£6.87
Exit 105
Metropolis
£6.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)