Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2001
30 years after the original, Bruce Browns updates the classic Endless Summer by again taking 2 Surfers on a holiday of a lifetime. They visit exotic locations following the summer sun around the world and on some occasions retracing the steps of the original film. Director Bruce Brown takes us round the world superbly with his informative narration of the Surfing hot spots.
This sequel is a classic that can be enjoyed by both surfers and non-surfers alike as all the locations are stunningly shot. There is not only great surfing action but also amusing land-based action. On one occasion whilst the 2 stars are on Safari in South Africa they have a close scrape with a pack of wild lions who decide they would like a ride in there Buggy.
Pat O'Connell and Longboarder 'Wing Nut' meet some of the top Surfers from the pro circuit as well as Robert August and Nat Young from the original. The Surfing footage with the Pro's shows 2 styles of surfing. This creates a great balance for the viewer who knows and enjoys his surfing techniques. The Endless Summer 2 shows and proves that surfing is a love to young and old around the globe.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2006
after 30 or so years, bruce brown decided to follow up his classic "endless summer" with this. whereas a lot of sequels are disappointing, this is just as good as the original, apart from it not being the original and obviously being from a different era!

this time round, surfers, 'wignut' the longboarder, and pat the shortboarder, decided to follow the original film and chase the summer round the world looking for perfect waves. they travel to more and different places and catch some awesome, perfectly formed waves with bruce brown giving the same style of humorous commentary

highlights for me are an amazing wipeout section, pat getting his best ever wave every time and one of wignut's waves where he loses his board due to riding leash-less, so he body-surfs in on a wave, grabs his board whilst still on the wave and stands on it. pretty amazing you may say, but what's even more amazing is that his board is actually upside down with his fin up in the air!! must be seen to be believed.

there are many other excellent moments on this film, and like the original, this film too is a must for all surfers. although its already been 12 years since this film was made, time will prove it to last as long as the original.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2004
this is the kind of movie that could change your life. you may just go and buy a plane ticket - i did - no regrets - no english winter for 4 years! quality movie...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I bought this DVD for my boyfriend because him and his friends LOVE the original Endless Summer. We watched the film with friends and everyone thought it was brilliant, we weren't expecting it to be as good as the first but it was close. If you love the original this one is definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2000
The remake of the 1964 classic Endless Summer. Starring Robert 'Wingnut' Weaver and Patrick O'Connell who are determined to travel the globe in search of waves and sun. They use old surfing buddies and legends to find un-crowded waves all over the world. The film has some great comical moments from the narrator. Not quite as good as the original but if you live to surf then you should still watch this film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
This film is so tied into who I was 10 years ago, playing it in the background or after a few beers in the closest I can come to experiencing the optimism of my early 20s while I drown in a tide of paperwork and having to 'adult'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
The Endless Summer II is a very enjoyable film which you can watch over and over again. Bruce Brown's humour is infectious. On the serious side, the film shows everything from big wave surfing to boogie boarding and characteristics of the different countries visited during the endless summer. This makes it easy for every water nut to relate to the film. It contains the spirit of surfers and backpacking travellers alike. The film is uplifting and inspiring and may change your outlook on life. At a price of under 7 British pounds it is a bargain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Ok, I'm a surfer so I probably like most surf related films but this is the best I have ever seen (and I've seen a lot). It follows 2 young (well they were when it was made) surfers as they recreate (with different locations) the original endless summer.

We see surfing from around the world. Some of the craziness that revolves around trying to get to locations. Some fantastic breaks, great surfing and some of histories finest surfers from the '50's to the '90's.

It's not a film with a plot etc, more a staged documentary but it just works and even if you're not into surfing, there's so much else to see, it's worth it as a globe trotting documentary.

Enjoy dudes...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
My favourite movie ever.

Totally relaxed movie and pretty funny too.
First saw this when it was released in 1994, but I've seen it over 100 times until my video stretched and wrecked the tape.

Alright it's more like a holiday film, but well worth watching.
Wish it was me on that surf trip.

Great surfing, great waves, good humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Love this film. Had not seen it in a while, but one of my favourite movies. Accessible enough for non-surfers to enjoy too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)