Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2017
Brilliant.memories of my parents playing Donovan music on vinyl.takes me back and memories of my childhood.love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
lovelly all original recordings by the uk's finest troubadour,love him ,he,s a true too soul being,enjoy the swirling drift away from this bad ass world for an hour xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
Was really pleased to get this, The final episode of Casualty jogged my memory, when it played "Catch The Wind" & I checked all my 60's compilation CDs & its not on one of them which I think is crazy
The song really tugs at the heartstrings
Also Universal Soldier is really quite appropiate in these troubled times
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2006
These songs have stood the test of time and remain fresh. Sunny Goodge Street is surely one of the top ten tracks from the 60's and perfectly evokes the atmosphere at that time - the lyrics are sheer poetry, as are they on most of these songs. Take Turquoise, 'Your smile beams like sunlight on a gull's wing ' - was there ever a finer line in a love song?

Not all the songs are Donovan's own compositions, but he makes them sound his own. His innovative guitar style, although still in its early stages of development, is well represented, particularly on Josie, Candy Man and Colours - the influence this was to have on pop music is immeasurable, notably on the Beatles.

A fine CD - the most fun you'll ever have for this price. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2011
Donovan's delicate moon was rapidly eclipsed by the blazing sun of Bob Dylan. Donovan has recently been on TV talking at great length about himself and his stellar career. Sadly that career effectively ended in about 1970. He had enjoyed considerable chart success in Britain. And OK, he went off to visit the Maharishi with the Beatles; and John Lennon was intrigued by his guitar fingerpicking style - as demonstrated in a couple of tracks off the White Album. But there were so many artists around in the 60's who were better than Donovan.

Anyway, this album predates all that stuff, and all the tacky psychedelia. Here is Donovan's best album by a mile - simple, direct, warm, with that unmistakeable, velvety voice. And it shows his simple, direct songwriting skills to best advantage. Also his interpretation of others - notably Buffy St Marie's "Universal soldier".

My personal favourite is "Why do you treat me like you do". But all the tracks are really nice and singable (they have been among the staple fare of folkies & buskers ever since). It's certainly an album well worth having, especially if you are into the sixties.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 November 2015
There are now far more comprehensive retrospectives on Donovan's very earliest recordings on the Pye record label. The magnificent two disc set 1965 contains absolutely everything from this brief but very fruitful period of his career, and that is the only reason why I am rating Castle Records' 14 track anthology from 2003 four stars instead of five.

However, if it's only a brief glimpse into the early work of Scottish bard and masterful story-teller, who was already being hailed in the press at the time as Britain's answer to Bob Dylan, that you're looking around for, then this single CD does provide virtually all of the well-known essentials in one place, and at a good budget price.

The content here is out and out folk music, with Donovan accompanying himself on guitar and harmonica. The timeless beauty of these songs makes the hits 'Colours', Catch the Wind' (included here both in it's single and album version form), 'Universal Solider', and 'Josie' still relevant, appealing to music lovers of all ages, and make for a heavenly sweet listen.

Essentially, this album, boasting some very important content for folk music fans, covers pre-psychedelic Donovan only, before his signature songs 'Sunshine Superman' and 'Seasons of the Witch' were even written, Therefore, as I have already stated, it is far from being a complete retrospective of the great man's work. If it's all of the hit singles that you require, you should invest in the latest official Retrospective compilation instead. This CD's booklet contains a short essay about this influential 1960s figure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
If you would like just one nostalgic Donovan album, this is a good choice. It contains nearly all the tracks I remember and liked the most. I play it just occassionally when in the mood and I'm surprised just how many words I remember.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 2003 release from Castle anthologises Donovan's output whilst signed to the Pye label in 1964/65, covering his first two albums (What's Bin Did And What's Bin Hid' and `Fairytale') and a couple of singles from the era.

I got this just to get original recordings of `Colours' and `Catch The Wind', which are missing form the other anthology I own, `Troubadour'. The scope of this anthology is a little limited, covering as it does only 2 albums from 1965. There are other anthologies out there that do a better job of covering his career, but frustratingly many of them have the poor 1969 re-recordings of `Colours' and `Catch The Wind', making this an ideal choice if it is those tracks that you are after.

Sound quality is OK, and there are some very limited liner notes. 4 stars all round. Good if you areonly interested in Donovan's early recordings and don't want to shell out for the albums individually, not so good if you want some of his post '65 output.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At the time of writing I saw a slight error is the track listing, here is a better one. One of several similar CD's, so also see Donovan's Greatest Hits Extra tracks, Original recording reissued, and The Best Of Donovan: Sunshine Superman Original recording remastered. I listened to it on the usa site, all tracks are muddy mono, even though many are available in stereo. I have also reviewed other Donovan CD's, worth a look.

Track Listings

1. Colours
2. Sunny Goodge Street
3. Candy Man
4. Jersey Thursday
5. Universal Soldier
6. War Drags On
7. Do You Hear Me Now
8. Turquoise
9. Josie
10. To Sing For You
11. Donna Donna
12. Why Do You Treat Me Like You Do
13. Catch The Wind ( harmonica near end 2:55 )
14. Catch The Wind ( single Version With Strings 2:15 )
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)