Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 25 May 2017
A brilliant movie by the great David Lynch. 5 STARS without hesitation. But, where are the subtitles for the hard of hearing, or any other languages as a natter of fact? How considerate is that for a special edition? Furthermore, the picture quality, especially for the dark colours on this blu ray transfer is extremely poor, to say the least. Pathetic and Shame, Great Shame, as viewing of this excellent movie turns into an unpleasant experience. And for reference, this film was made in 1986. Hitchcock's North By Northwest was made in 1959 and its blu ray transfer is near perfect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2012
I love this movie. Saw it when it first came out in the Cameo in Edinburgh. Had it on VHS. Decided to order the blu-ray in Amazons 3 for £17 deal. Have currently got two which I am returning because there is no movie on either. Just the studio logo and then zilch, nada, squat.
So Amazon, looks like you've bought a batch of dud discs from somewhere.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2013
This film is arguably a cult classic and has hoards of extremely positive reviews, albeit often with the warning of 'be careful....disturbing scenes'. I agree that the film is very well directed and surreal- there's not been many films made with such attention to detail. It is bold and brazen. It's certainly intelligent. Before I even first watched this film I was thinking....why would anyone want to watch something 'disturbing'...and what does that even mean? For me, the most 'disturbing' part of this film was the very frightening portrayal of a psychopath, which translated in this film to lots of drugs, swearing (this film must surely be in the running for the award for the most uses of the F word by a character!), graphic violence (often of a sexual nature) etc in to hammer the point home. It's not that I was offended, rather I simply do not understand why anyone would want to watch any film containing such a graphic and intimate depiction of pain and unhappiness. A thoroughly depressing albeit very well made film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2014
Weird and wonderful, this is essential Lynch and the classic by which he will probably be remembered. By blurring distinctions between reality and illusion, the dark side of human nature with its capacity for love, the fusion of genres (noir and romance), Lynch shows that the faculties we use to make sense of our world are often inadequate. Throw in Rossellini and the music, and what's not to like - though admittedly it may not be everyone's cup of tea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2003
I rarely comment about DVD quality unless there is a glaring issue. In the case of this DVD, there are several. The sound track is extremely, extremely important in this film; much of the dialogue is played at near-whisper and the sound effects are much more important to the impact of the film than in most others. Unfortunately, the sound quality here is just muddy enough to undercut the overall effect. The visuals are also surprisingly weak, heavy with digital pixilation that is particularly noticeable in the film's shadowy scenes--of which there are a great many. As for the bonus material, any one purchasing this "special edition" for them may be disappointed: the documentary is so-so (and I might add that the picture quality there is often flatly atrocious), but the "deleted scenes" indicated are simply not there. These scenes have never been recovered, and the DVD offers only a handful of sequences recreated from still photographs and without dialogue of any kind. Although I am not a great fan of David Lynch per se, I do indeed recognize the importance and influence of both this film and his overall vision, and frankly BLUE VELVET deserves much better than it receives here.
All of that said--I saw this film in its first theatrical release, and at the time I did not like it; it struck me as incredibly pretentious and wildly derrivative of numerous European directors, particularly of Hitchcock, Bunuel and Fellini. (Indeed, I recall remarking to a friend that it was very much like Fellini meets Chuck Waters.) I had no intention of revisiting the film until a friend expressed an interest in seeing it--and so, rather reluctantly, I agreed to sit through it one more time. And on this occasion I was pleasantly surprised. It wears extremely well.
That is not to say that there are not problems with the film. Kyle MacLachlan is a remarkably wooden actor; the plot frequently falls apart; and Lynch's bursts of surrealism are occasionally miscalculated and actually tend to get in the way of any coherent statement. But what BLUE VELVET does well, it does very, very well indeed. The story is a bit convoluted, but in general it concerns a young man (the eternally wooden MacLachlan) who comes home from university when his father is taken ill. While walking to the hospital he discovers a severed human ear--and when the police fail to give him information re his discovery his own curiosity leads him into investigation. His investigations center on beautiful singer Dorothy Vallen (Isabella Rossellini), who is rumored to be involved with local underworld figures--and in the process he becomes directly involved with both Vallen and the dark forces that surround her.
David Lynch uses this storyline as the hook on which to hang his dark statements about the nature of sexual awakening, moral choice, and the deadly evil to which we strive to remain oblivious but which nonetheless lurks very close to the surface of otherwise ordinary lives. And while many aspects of the film can be justly criticized, in this the film is entirely--and unnervingly--successful. In BLUE VELVET, sex and violence are ruthlessly connected, and both are forever simmering just under the skin.
At the time of its release, and even today, BLUE VELVET was extremely, extremely controversial for its nightmarish depiction of sexual attraction and violence--and deservedly so, for the film repeatedly focuses on a horrific sexual humiliation of the mysterious Dorothy Vallen by the predators that surround her; the rape sequence (which is genuinely horrific), her endurance of repeated physical and sexual assault, her sado-masochistic edge that implies a certain complicity in her own abuse are front and center throughout the film and is all deeply disturbing. Strangely, however, the film contains considerably less nudity and graphic violence than one might expect; much of the effect arises more from the on-going dark, surrealistic visuals and disquieting sound effects than from any one single scene.
With the exception of MacLaughlin, the cast is very fine here. Laura Dern has seldom been so effectively used in any film as she is here, but the real standouts are Isabella Rossellini and Dennis Hopper; Rossellini was a relative newcomer at the time, but she gives an incredible performance, and Hopper virtually re-invented his languishing career in the role of her psychotic tormenter, and Dean Stockwell's against-type cameo was so startling that it drew tremendous critical fanfare.
But now we come to the final question. Do I like the film? No. Even though I can now watch it and appreciate it, and although I certainly recognize its importance and influence, and although I grant it status as art, I still do not like BLUE VELVET and I remain dubious about director David Lynch in general. It seems to me that he lacks the discipline to create a cohesive statement. But do I recommend it? Absolutely. Those who admire Lynch admire him with a passion, and you may be among those. And even if you are not--BLUE VELVET is an important film in so many respects that no one seriously interested in film can afford to miss seeing it at least once.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2015
This review is about the MGM Edition Simple DVD - I say this because reviews for this film are usually posted to every version. The cover blurb is in French, but don't worry! the film isn't dubbed in French. There seem to be a lot of quality issues with other DVDs, but this one was fine for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2013
I've always been a David Lynch fan and had to buy this again recently to replace my previous copy. If you like your films odd, dark and very disturbing then look no further. There are more visually unsettling films out there but most of them fail to make sense (odd for odd's sake). This remains one of Lynch's more accessible films.....there's a story there and you can follow it. Admittedly, there's plenty of trademark strangeness on the way but it only bolsters the films status as a classic. Once seen never forgotten.....spot-on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
v.good 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
One of David Lynch's best movies. A cast that works their socks off. A fulfilling and deep mystery story beginning with the discovery of a human ear by
Kyle Maclauchlan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2012
Blue Velvet is a first class Freudian nightmare. A young man called Jeffrey (Kyle Maclachlan), who still lives with his parents, finds a severed human ear. He is seduced by the idea of being an amateur detective, so he starts to find out what happened. Then he is swept into a dark nightmarish otherworld of blackmail, murder and masochistic violence.
The film was made on a small budget and is far more atmospheric and original than anything that comes out of film industries these days.
Many found director David Lynch's vision of dysfunctional relationships and rape too horrifying to take. It is a disturbing movie but then if you cannot take disturbing there are just too many great films you are going to miss out on.
It is a simple story but the quality of the film lays in the artistic way in which it is produced and directed. Also the performances are brilliant, Sandy (Laura Dern) as the love interest and particularly Dennis Hopper's Frank, arguably the most convincing portrayal of human evil ever to be captured on film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)