Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2013
I couldn't make up my mind which version to buy, the original RCA release here Macalla or the remaster. But then I realized that neither costs very much and ended up getting both. I guess I'm glad I did.

The album itself is excellent, and there's nothing to add to the other reviews. On the remastering I'm not particularly impressed. There's a little more detail, but nothing that's a revelation. The new bonus remix of the opening track is, I'm afraid, a disaster. It's so tried to take a tune, to add a driving beat, and call it a remix. And the opening is very ethereal, moody. This is destroyed in the remix. I suppose it's just not for me.

On the other hand, at least the remastered version has a decent booklet, the original release is rather sparse. The only downside of the new booklet is the horrid new cover art. You can get around it somewhat because - on the back page of the new booklet - the original artwork has been included (thank goodness).

So anyway, if you're looking to buy this disc, I'd say go with whatever the cheapest option is. The newer version is okay, but the new cover art and the needless remix are really poor.

It's certainly good music though!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
All very perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
classic clannad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Love Clannad so all of their albums are outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2004
I own six Clannad albums, the first of which I bought twenty years ago. Macalla, originally released in 1985, is not just my favourite Clannad album, but one of the best-loved albums in my entire collection. I believe it is their strongest and most widely accessible work. Whereas their earlier albums were strongly rooted in the traditional folk genre (lovely, but not always accessible to the eclectic listener) and their later albums leaned more strongly towards pop and new age (to my folk-leaning ear, usually too sweet and over-produced), Macalla is a beautifully conceived crossover album. The majesty and beauty of Clannad's traditional folk harmonies and Celtic musicianship are enriched and enhanced on Macalla by exciting, sophisticated pop, rock and jazz influences. The lead vocalist, Máire Brenna, is the star of the album. Máire's haunting, clear and delicate voice has never sounded more beautiful or compelling than it does here. Her vocals on the standout track 'A Wild Cry' are nothing short of ravishing. Other particularly fine tracks are 'Caislean Oir', 'In a Lifetime', 'Almost Seems (Too Late to Turn)', 'Buachaill on Eirne' and 'Northern Skyline'. Interesting changes in pace throughout the album provide entertaining contrasts. 'Indoor' is a sparkling, exhilarating pop-rock track with guitars, drums, sax, heartracing lead vocals by Máire and gorgeous harmonies which are all reminiscent of Fleetwood Mac at their very best. 'Closer to Your Heart' is a jaunty, enjoyable, guitar-based pop track, and one of their best-known songs. Perhaps the odd track out here is Blackstairs, with one of the Clannad men on lead vocal, which nevertheless provides a pleasant, gentle interlude. In summary, Macalla is a beautiful, timeless album of melodic folk pop, representing Clannad's career best.
This 2003 digitally remastered reissue with new artwork includes one bonus track, 'Caislean Oir' (Planet Heaven Mix), as well as new sleeve notes and rare photos. Clannad's official site reports that Pol Brennan oversaw the remastering from the original tapes, and that the band are very happy with the results. Despite what I feel was a misjudged decision to replace the striking 1985 black and white artwork - with Máire in Edvard Munch's 'The Scream' pose - given also that the original CD was issued with frustratingly minimalist sleeve notes, giving no track credits, this reissue is therefore to be highly recommended on all counts.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Having seen them live a few weeks ago this disc did not disappoint. Although nowehere near as good as a live performance Macalla showed up all the facets of their work very well indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Lovely and restful, great to listen to when cooking as it really calms me down after a stressful day, the good stuff never dies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
This cd was given recently as a birthday present and when it was played for the first and subsequent times, track 8 refused to play and despite trying this on other cd players, it refuses to play this track. I now have the cd back and would like your advice as to what do I do now. I have purchased quite a number of cd's over the years and this is the first time this has happened. I await your instructions. Tony Brookes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Best delivery. Best prices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)