Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2003
Missy is still da bomb on an album which see Missy Elliott expand her style but at the same time keep close to her old skool hip hop roots. If you like hard rap, then this may not be for you, indeed Missy gives repect to, but points out that, gangsta rap is a negative wave in hip hop. This album is a refreshing reminder that hip hop is about the love and fun of music, a culture, a style and art form, which includes rap but is not restricted to it, and above all does not soley embrace the negativity of loaded guns, pimps and drugs. This is where Missy Elliott is a breath of fresh air. Being old skool myself, Missy argues that you can still be legal and into hip hop. There are many strong lines and messages. For instance, Missy recognises inner strength over gangland physical strength, evidenced when she refers to the will power when a single mother has to put back the hip hop jeans she would love to buy.
There is the usual humour too, none more so than on the track Toyz where Missy represents the ladies and how they can pleasure themselves... by themselves. This is a Madonna like message in its forthright attitude of women taking charge of their own sexuality.
The beats are good, some have to grow on you a little although I found when I played them loud they all sounded phat (this is hip hop after all.) Timbaland and Missy Elliott set the standards high for others to follow, and that means they have to be experimental at times which has its risks, ie. does a beat work or is it forced? I'd say they've just about cracked it, but this is Missy moving forward and it doesn't capture similar beats to her previous albums (nor would you expect it to) but it does carry Missy Elliott's unique style.
There are many false claimants to the title of Queen of Hip Hop, but there is really only one...get this album and bow down to her. Respect.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Fabulous album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Same as the Lil' Kim CD, had marks on the disc, to me it looked like it was already played. The packaging was the worst, because it came with the Lil' Kim CD, 2 CD's in cardboard packaging without padding, not even bubble wrap. Its along way from the U.K. to Australia, the only good thing i can say about both CD's is, both played and sounded good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
This is one of the best albums i own, Missy has really focused on how she really feels in this world, from the "Intro/Baby Girl Interlude" she collaborates with the soulful voice of Mary J. Blige, its a moving and peacful intro to a big Hip-Hop album, the following song "Pass That Dutch" is great i love the way that Missy isn't afraid to say what she wants to, and this is reflected in the whole album, for example "Toyz" , "Let Me Fix My Weave", "Let It Bump" and "Wake Up" the guest apperances on this album help push the overall greatness of this album even higher.
Best Missy Elliott album!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
a lot of people on here are slating this album, although i think that this is probably one of missy elliots bests albums. most of the songs on here are upbeat and feel good and make you want to shake your booty. the best song on here in my opion is don't be cruel featuring monica and beanie man, beanie mans rap is the bomb. other favs of mine are the single pass that dutch and im really hot. there are also some funny songs here such as toyz which is about female sex toys and the infectious let me fix my weave.
although i would probably say that if you are a true hip hop fan then you probably won't like this album much as missy seems to have lost a lot of her her hard hitting lyrics and dark beats which made her famous in the early days of supadupafly and da real world. she is also collaberates with more commercialised rappers on this album like nelly, and there are fewer apperances by more true hip hop stars like red man and method who featured on previous album cuts.
all in all though if you take this album as it is missy isn't trying to make any points on this album, she's just having fun (except on wake up) hence the title this is not a test, which is why some fans may be dissapointed as this wasn't the case on most of her last albums.
so in my opinion if you liked her last single pass that dutch, and previous uptempos like get ur freak on and for my people then should enjoy this album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
I've always been a Missy fan but this has to be her worst record yet. Critics are loving it but a lot of fans seem to be hating it.
In my opinion Missy's best work have been 'Supa Dupa Fly' and 'Da Real World', her first two albums. Timbaland was on spot, the guests were on spot and Missy's sung R&B songs were either missing or of a much higher quality (like 'Hot Boyz' which is far superior to the terrible 'Toyz' on this disk).
The problem is that, while I respect Missy's innovation, it has always been Timbaland who is the real creative force behind her music and on this album he just doesn't perform like he does previously. Most of the beats sound pretty samey and Missy can't save a poor Timbaland beat yet Timbaland can save a poor Missy rhyme.
The guests are also pretty poor- Fabolous and Nelly, who are quite possible two of the worst rappers ever, are pointless. Jay Z's spot is good but Mary J Blige's talents are wasted on the intros and outros. On previous CDs we've hade Method Man, Redman and Aaliyah as an example of the previous higher quality.
Again the CD is blighted by useless intros and skits (I dont know why the hip hop community are so obsessed by skits).
As mentioned earlier the worst songs are the ones that Missy sings. Its not that she does R&B songs, thats cool, but that they're always slow and poorly produced songs. If she can write and produce a song like 'So Gone' for Monica then I dont know why she can't afford the same quality on her own CD.
There are some good songs though, such as 'Wake Up', 'Pass That Dutch' and 'Dont Be Cruel' but nothing here matches songs like 'She's a B***h' from 'Da Real World' + 'Hit Em Wit Da Hee'.
In conclusion, I've read lot in the press about how Missy is the premier female in hip hop which creatively wise may be true, but to say that she is better both lyrically and delivery wise than say MC Lyte or Rah Digga would be stupid.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Very fast delivery, fantastic condition, no issues, extremely satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
I dont usually like Missy, but i bought this and i like it, really good music, some songs are kinda anoying, but all in all very good album, worth buying if you like hiphop, rap.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2003
this is probably the most annoying album in the history of music. sorry to missy fans, who'll probably love it, but i cant stand these tracks, too repetive and just...annoying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)